Related to: 'Gallery Girl'

Author

Wendy Holden

Wendy Holden is a number one bestselling author. Her first novel Simply Divine, a comedy about a celebrity socialite, was an instant success and was inspired by her work as an editor at The Sunday Times and as deputy editor of society glossy, Tatler. She has written ten top-ten bestsellers for Headline as well as an enormous range of journalism for publications including the Daily Mail, YOU Magazine, the Daily Telegraph, My Weekly, the Sunday Express and Country Life. She writes regular travel pieces and is one of the Daily Mail's main book reviewers. She was also a judge for the 2013 Costa Novel and Costa Book of the Year awards. Wendy was born in Yorkshire, studied English at Cambridge and worked as a journalist on Harpers & Queen, The Sunday Telegraph, The Sunday Times, Mail on Sunday and Tatler before becoming a full-time writer. After many years in London she now lives in the Derbyshire countryside with her political consultant husband and two young children.

Headline Review

Honeymoon Suite

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The queen of the Victorian mystery, New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the 32nd novel in the Inspector Pitt series MURDER ON THE SERPENTINE. Pitt is on a secret mission for the Queen, maybe his last...London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace. In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince's friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine. The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth. Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire. . .

Headline Review

Wild and Free

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Wild and Free by Sunday Times bestselling author Wendy Holden sees the author of Bad Heir Day and The Wives of Bath at the top of her game. Fun for fans of Jane Costello and Carole Matthews.'Super-sharp ... This hugely entertaining novel is chick lit at its best!' CloserWild & Free is the festival du jour. Everyone piles through its gates - and Cupid lies in wait to sprinkle a little midsummer madness on them all.Teacher Ginnie is desperate to forget her crush on headmaster Mark, and hopes glamping might do the trick. But Mark is also heading for Wild & Free to reform his college band ... desperate not to be seen by anyone he knows. Mark's bandmate James dreams of a festival blow-out with his son, Guy ... until his wife Victoria's ambition kills the dream. Now she and Guy are en route to Wild & Free instead but when Guy meets Shanna-Mae and falls for her earthy charms, Victoria is determined to snap Cupid's arrow.Will the magic of the festival send them wild? Or set them free to find peace and love?

Headline

Farriers' Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A fresh case rakes up the past, with shocking revelations... With resentment at every turn, Inspector Pitt tries to untangle one of his most convoluted cases to date in Anne Perry's gripping mystery, Farriers' Lane. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context' - Publishers Weekly The distinguished Justice Stafford's shocking death from opium poisoning resurrects one of the most sensational cases ever to inflame England: the murder five years before of Kingsley Blaine, whose body was found crucified in Farriers' Lane. Amid the public hysteria for revenge, the police had arrested a Jewish actor who was soon condemned to hang. Police Inspector Thomas Pitt, investigating Stafford's death, is drawn into the Farriers' Lane murder as well, for it appears that Stafford may have been about to reopen the case. Pitt receives curiously little help from his colleagues on the force, but his wife, Charlotte, gleans from her social engagements startling insights into both cases. And slowly both Thomas and Charlotte begin to reach for the same sinister and deeply dangerous truth. What readers are saying about Farriers' Lane: 'Lovers of a good 'whodunit' will not be disappointed with the twists and turns of the plot, neither will readers who like to bond with their literary heroes as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt are a very likeable duo who complement each other perfectly''The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets''Every book is enthralling'

Headline Review

Gifted and Talented

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Headline

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Loyal, honest and, above all, principled. There is no finer detective in Victorian London than Thomas Pitt.It is 1896, and Thomas Pitt is in charge of Special Branch. He is beginning to understand the power he now commands, but is still ill at ease at the glittering events he and his wife Charlotte must attend. During a lavish party at the Spanish Embassy, a policeman breaks into Pitt's conversation with investor Rawdon Quixwood to break the terrible news that Quixwood's wife, Catherine, has been viciously assaulted at their home, and left for dead. Worse still, it appears that the assailant was someone she had trusted as she opened the door to the attacker herself.At the same party, Charlotte sees Angeles Castelbranco, an ambassador's daughter, flinch in fear at the teasing of some young men. A few days later, Angeles flees from the same group and, in her terror, falls from a window - what could have caused her to take that fatal step?Pitt and his friend Victor Narraway vow to uncover the unspoken truth behind these two women's deaths. But as they investigate, deception and violence get ever nearer and danger is only ever one step away...

Headline Review

Marrying Up

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Azur Like It

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Kate, a journalist in a small northern town, is fed up with covering black pudding championships for the Slackmucklethwaite Mercury and living with Mum, Dad and Gran in a semi called Wits End. When evil tycoon Peter Hardstone takes over the paper, slashes budgets and sacks staff, Kate's career hits an all-time low. Gloom turns to glamour once Hardstone's sexy son arrives to work on the Mercury. And when Kate's sent with him to cover the glittering Cannes Film Festival, she can't believe her luck. But it's not all fun and games: behind the glitz and sunshine lies a dark mystery that is Kate's most challenging newspaper assignment yet.

Headline Review

Beautiful People

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Pastures Nouveaux

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Cash-strapped Rosie and her boyfriend Mark are city folk longing for a country cottage. Rampantly nouveaux-riches Samantha and Guy are also searching for rustic bliss - a mansion complete with mile-long drive and hot and cold running gardeners. The village of Eight Mile Bottom seems quiet enough, despite a nosy postman, a reclusive rock star, a glamorous Bond Girl and a ghost with a knife in its back. But there are unexpected thrills in the hills. The local siren seduces Guy while mysterious millionaire makes Rosie an offer she can't refuse. But should she?

Headline Review

Bad Heir Day

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Simply Divine

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

The School for Husbands

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Sophie's not happy with her husband. Mark works late, never phones and leaves all the housework and childcare to her. She's also sure he's up to something with his sexy publishing colleague. Things come to a head and she moves back to her parents. Her mother never liked Mark anyway. Desperate to save his marriage, Mark enrols at the 'School for Husbands', a residential college which transforms pathetic partners into husbands from heaven. Classes include love skills, sparkling conversation and the finer points of chocolate. But will this be enough to reunite him with Sophie? Especially now a rich old flame is after her...

Headline Review

Filthy Rich

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Fame Fatale

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

The Wives of Bath

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

John Lescroart

John Lescroart is the author of over twenty-five novels (and numerous New York Times bestsellers), including The 13th Juror, Damage, The Hunter, and The Ophelia Cut. His books have sold more than 10 million copies and have been translated into twenty languages in seventy-five countries. He lives in Northern California.

Michael Jecks

Michael Jecks gave up a career in the computer industry to concentrate on writing and the study of medieval history, especially that of Devon and Cornwall. He lives with his family in northern Dartmoor.