Related to: 'Whispers'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

A Rose Among Thorns

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Will she ever find the happiness she deserves? In A Rose Among Thorns, Rosie Goodwin weaves a captivating historical saga of a troubled family and the power of love and friendship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp.Despite losing her mother at a young age, Sassy has grown up surrounded by love: although poor, she is happy. So Sassy is devastated when her father marries wealthy widow Elizabeth Bonner. Social climber Elizabeth despairs of a step-daughter who is more at ease with servants than those above stairs, and is jealous of Sassy's growing beauty which threatens to outshine her own daughter.Unwelcome and out of place in this unfamiliar world, Sassy often escapes to her old home on Tuttle Hill and the company of her childhood friends, brothers Thomas and Jack Mallabone. But the trio's bond is threatened by the consequences of her blind adoration for wayward Thomas, much to the dismay of Jack, who has long worshipped Sassy in secret...What readers are saying about A Rose Among Thorns:'With skillful application of the craft at which she excels, Rosie has produced yet another certain winner. An absorbing tale depicting with great accuracy the nostalgia of bygone times, it evokes warmth, laughter and tears linked by a storyline that defies you to put it down... A wonderful story from a supremely gifted writer''A natural born storyteller... the trouble I have is the stories are never long enough. This novel had me captivated from start to finish'

Headline

The Boy from Nowhere

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Empty Cradle

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Misfit

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

Whispers

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Ribbon Weaver

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

A baby rescued from the snow. A wealthy family's tragic secret. A girl determined to make her mark. A heart-warming saga of love, ambition and jealousy. The ebook No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin, weaves her magic yet again in The Ribbon Weaver. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries. 'Tremendously uplifting and life-affirming. A feel-good read that tugs on the heart strings' - Historical Novels ReviewOne winter's night, Molly Ernshaw rescues a newborn baby from the snow and changes two families for ever. The tiny girl grows into a beautiful and gifted young woman. Although devoted to Molly, Amy has far-reaching ambitions - encouraged by her neighbour's son, Toby, she longs to move beyond ribbon-weaving to designing the hats and clothes the ribbons adorn. Her talent is recognised by Samuel Forrester, the influential owner of famous hat factories and shops. But Samuel is a haunted man with secrets in his past that torture him and his family. His son's wife, Eugenie, is deeply troubled, and when Amy's flair leads her to London and then Paris, Eugenie is consumed with jealousy. Amy's dreams seem to be coming true, but as more secrets are revealed and Amy is caught between two worlds, she must choose where her heart truly belongs.What readers are saying about The Ribbon Weaver:'Couldn't put this book down, Rosie Goodwin is a great writer. She brought together so many feelings that we all have. There's joy, heartache, and everyday life in the mid-1800s in this story... Definitely a 5 star rating''This is a great book and another superb story from Rosie Goodwin who is now by far my favourite writer. This is an inspiring story... and as usual there are the twists and turns that keep you turning those pages. The details and accounts of the era are excellent as are the descriptions of the characters and surroundings. Can't wait for my next Rosie Goodwin read!'

Headline

A Band of Steel

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

When the war forces a Jewish family to flee their home, they must find the strength to survive. A Band of Steel is a moving and compelling wartime saga from Rosie Goodwin, author of Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel and the Kindle No 1. bestselling saga No One's Girl. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Nadine Dorries.'A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade' - Northern EchoWhen Adina and her family are forced to flee Cologne to escape the vicious menace of Nazi Germany in 1938, leaving their luxurious lifestyle is painful. Harder still is finding herself a refugee in a foreign country. But Adina is a compassionate and determined girl and as they settle into a new life in the Midlands she finds the strength to survive. However, her brother and sister aren't so lucky and their family ties are stretched to breaking point. And then Adina runs the risk of losing her family forever when she is drawn towards the one man she should never fall in love with...What Amazon readers are saying about A Band of Steel: 'I was hooked from the very first page. The personalities of the main characters were very credible and the story flowed very well. It was easy to follow without being predictable and I couldn't wait for the next opportunity to pick up the book. Would thoroughly recommend - buy it now!' 'Fantastic book, couldn't put it down. Gripped by the characters, the story, the setting. I haven't read a book that entertained me so much in a long while and I would highly recommend'

Headline

Our Little Secret

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Lost Soul

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Lost Soul

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

Yesterday's Shadows

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

Crying Shame

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Claire Nightingale is haunted by the memory of childhood abuse and the painful choices she was forced to make. Longing to find peace, she knows she must first confront her demons. Moving to Solihull with her adopted daughter Nikki, she tries to make amends with the family she left behind. But Claire is not the only one hurting: Nikki is scarred by her own abusive past, and their relationship, once loving, becomes fraught with tension and resentment. Struggling to come to terms with their pain, it is not long before ghosts from the past bring a new threat that jeopardises the possibility of any future happiness... A heartbreaking tale of abuse, courage and, above all, the redemptive power of love.

Headline

The Sand Dancer

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

The Mallen Secret

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Rosie Goodwin's dramatic addition to Catherine Cookson's series.Each and every generation of the Mallen family has been beset by unhappiness and tragedy - it is said that they are cursed by the dramatic white streak in their jet-black hair. Now, the horror of World War One has finally come to an end and, as with so many other families, the Mallen family has been devastated by loss, injury, and memories that are almost too terrible to bear. But even as they struggle to rebuild their lives in the aftermath of war, secrets and lies from generations past will come to light - causing destruction of a different kind...

Headline

Forsaken

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Born on a Friday, Sophie Winters has always been a loving and giving child, who'd do anything for her family. Yet her father, Bill, has always seemed to resent her. For her mother's sake, Sophie learns to live with Bill's animosity - until the night he drunkenly forces himself upon her. Left pregnant and ashamed at seventeen, Sophie doesn't know where to turn. So when she meets the charming Ben Lewis and he offers her refuge at his mother's hotel, she accepts. At first it seems that Ben and his mother are quite the good Samaritans. But there is little goodness in the Lewises' hearts. As Sophie realises their dark intentions, a web of danger and deceit wraps itself around her. She knows if she is to survive, she will have to fight for all she's worth...

Headline

Tilly Trotter's Legacy

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Rosie Goodwin's heartwarming addition to Catherine Cookson's series.Tilly Trotter seems to have finally found lasting happiness in her engagement to Steve McGrath. But just as everything falls into place for Tilly it seems to be falling apart for her loved ones... Whilst her son, Willy, is refusing to acknowledge the existence of his newborn illegitimate child, her adopted daughter Josefina has slipped into a deep depression after tracking down her real family in America. Tilly is determined that with Steve by her side she can find a way to get her children through their troubles. But she hasn't counted on the malicious ways of her oldest enemy - Steve's mother, Mrs McGrath. A bitter and twisted old woman, she will stop at nothing to destroy Tilly's happiness. And Tilly knows that finding a way for her family to be free to live their lives in peace is going to take all her strength and courage ...

Headline

Moonlight and Ashes

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Despite being trapped in an abusive marriage, Maggie still feels blessed with her eight-year-old twins, Danny and Lizzie, and baby girl, Lucy. But when the Second World War begins it seems that herblessings may have run out.Although the war lets her escape her husband when he's sent to the front, she must also lose the twins, as they're evacuated to North Wales. Lizzie seems to be in the perfect family, while Danny is left with a man who seems to resent his presence. But appearances can be deceptive, and while Maggie struggles to survive the bombings at home, her children face danger of a different kind.

Headline

Dancing Till Midnight

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

No One's Girl

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Jane Reynolds' father dominates her life. Though she seems a devoted daughter, his cruelty has left her afraid to love. After his sudden death she becomes a virtual recluse, leaving her small farm only to sell the fruit and vegetables she grows. But everything changes on a dark, cold night when she finds a young runaway hiding near her cottage. Alice, too, is unloved and in pain, and as the pair become friends, Jane begins to wonder whether she could offer the girl the loving home she's never had. But dark secrets in both their pasts threaten everything Jane hopes for...

Headline

The Bad Apple

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Louise Hart has endured a great deal of pain from her callous husband Paul, but one cold December night in 1959 she can take no more. She and her son Davey escape their Coventry high-rise flat and flee to Tanglewood, the dilapidated ivy-clad mansion where her mother Dolly runs an animal sanctuary. Miserable and frightened, Louise longs to turn her back on the past, and create a happy new life for Davey. But Paul is in trouble with men more dangerous than himself. Unable to pay his debts, he blackmails Louise and those who love her, keeping a shadowy presence in their lives. Even the arrival of Charlie Fox, a stranger who becomes a true friend, cannot guarantee that the future will be safe...