Related to: 'The Mysterium (Hugh Corbett Mysteries and Book 17)'

Headline

Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Has a notorious murderer returned to the streets of Ancient Rome?In the fourth novel in Paul Doherty's acclaimed Ancient Roman series featuring Claudia, a killer stalks the streets of Rome. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.'An engrossing and informative read' - Publishers WeeklySeptember 314AD, and once more death strikes the sprawling streets of Imperial Rome. When two prostitutes are found murdered - their bodies ripped open and their right eyes gouged out - it is feared a notorious killer, the Nefandus, has returned. Rumoured to be an imperial officer, he once waged bloody murder amongst Rome's prostitutes but vanished before his identity could be discovered. Has he reappeared, or is someone working in his guise? Desperate to retain order, the Empress Helena turns to her most trusted agent, Claudia. Helena commands her to discover the truth behind the Nefandus, before Rome descends further into chaos and confusion.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read''The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books''A great read - I recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery'

Headline

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In Paul Doherty's new novel, Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Hall of Two Truths, is once again summoned to the Imperial Palaceo: Tekreth, Guardian of the Door of Sobeck, has fallen to his death from the roof of his stately mansion. According to all evidence, it was an accident but Pharaoh Queen Hatusu is not convinced. Increasingly worried about reports of mysterious disappearances along the Sobeck Road, the imperial highway stretching south, she believes that Tekreth's death could be part of a far greater problem. Amerotke, aware of the reports from the Sobeck Road, has also heard rumours about the Shemai, a cult devoted to death, based along its borders. Before Amerotke can start to consider either of these matters though, a gruesome mass murder occurs at the Necropolis. The funeral party for revered scribe, Ptulimis, has been poisoned and Amerotke must immediately investigate the abomination. As Amerotke probes further, he suspects that all these events may be connected and that dangerous forces are at work in Pharaoh Hatusu's realm. Will Amerotke be able to uncover the truth before Egypt is overrun by its sinister and dangerous underworld?

Headline

Nightshade (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 16)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poisoner of Ptah (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

At a peace treaty signing between Egypt and Libya in Thebes, three of Egypt's leading scribes die violently on the Temple forecourt, the victims of a vile poisoning. To add to the mounting unease, a prosperous merchant and his young wife are found drowned. Rumours soon sweep the imperial city. The Poisoner of Ptah has returned. It falls to Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Halls of Two Truths, to investigate these hideous crimes. This story sees the Judge pit his wits against a cunning opponent who seems intent on spreading his death-dealing powders. Amerotke enters the twilight world of glorious Thebes where life can be so rich and yet death so swift and brutal.

Headline

The Queen of the Night (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Assassins of Isis (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Somewhere deep in the desert, the location of Rahimere's tomb has long been kept a closely guarded secret. But now, the Sebaus - a sect taking its name from demons - has plundered and pillaged the sepulchre for its most powerful treasure.The fiery Pharaoh Queen Hatusu must fight to protect the tombs of her kin and tighten her grip on the collar of Egypt. But when Egypt's great military hero, General Suten, is bitten to death by a swarm of venomous vipers, it appears events have spiralled out of her control.Meanwhile, a dark shadow lies across the peaceful Temple of Isis; four of the temple handmaids have vanished without trace. Will Lord Amerotke, Pharaoh's Chief Judge, find that the perpetrators are in league with forces beyond his jurisdiction?

Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Slayers of Seth (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Anubis Slayings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Hatusu, the remarkable young widow of Pharaoh Tuthmosis II, has forced Egyptian society to acknowledge her as Pharaoh, and her success in battle is spreading Egypt's glory well beyond its frontiers. In the Temple of Anubis, Hatusu and the defeated King Tushratta of Mitanni are negotiating a peace treaty that will seal her greatest victory. But then two hideous murders in the temple and the theft of the Glory of Anubis threaten the tentative truce, and the respected judge Amerotke must find the perpetrators.

Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

After the death of her husband Pharoh Tuthmosis II, Hatusu has confounded her critics by winning a great battle against the Mitanni. Aided by her lover, Senenmut, she is determined that all sections of Egyptian society should accept her as the first Pharaoh-Queen of Egypt - an acceptance that needs the favour and support of the priests. When a spate of killings takes place in the Divine Temple of Horus, the naturally superstitious priests interpret this as a sign of the Gods' disapproval of Hatusu's rule of Egypt. The royal city turns once again to respected judge Amerotke to find the truth.

Headline

The Mask of Ra (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Song of a Dark Angel (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 8)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Murder Wears a Cowl (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Prince of Darkness (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It is 1301 and a fragile peace exists between Edward of England and Philip IV of France. In the fetid alleys and slums of London and Paris it is a different matter. Here the secret agents of both countries still fight their own, silent, deadly battles. The Prince of Wales wallows in luxury under the sinister influence of his favourite, Gaveston, who has secret political ambitions to dominate the young prince and the English crown. These scandals are threatened with exposure when Lady Belmont, the prince's former mistress, is found dead, her neck broken, at the foot of a nunnery's steps. Was it suicide? An accident? Or malicious murder? Edward turns to his master spy, Hugh Corbett, to solve the mystery. In doing so, Corbett must face the deadly rivalry of his French counterpart, the murderous rage of Gaveston and the silent threats of assassins. He must also contend with the lies and silken deceits of his own master.

Headline

Spy in Chancery (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Crown in Darkness (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

1286 and on a storm-ridden night King Alexander III of Scotland is riding across the Firth of Forth to meet his beautiful French bride Yolande. He never reaches his final destination as his horse mysteriously slips, sending them both crashing to their death on cruel rocks. The Scottish throne is left vacant of any real heir and immediately the great European princes and the powerful nobles of Alexander's kingdom start fighting for the glittering prize. The Chancellor of England, Burnell, ever mindful of the interest his king, Edward I, has in Scotland, sends his faithful clerk, Hugh Corbett, to report on the chaotic situation at the Scottish court. Concerned that a connection exists between the king's death and those now desirous of taking the Scottish throne, Corbett is drawn into a maelstrom of intrigue, conspiracy and danger.

Headline

Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty