Related to: 'Storm Rider'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

Deadly Finish

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

A day at the races ends in murder...Deadly Finish is another brilliant racing thriller from 'the natural successor to Dick Francis' (Irish Times), John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'The book moves at a relaxed pace but the tension continues to mount until the surprising conclusion. Good characters, good plot and well worth reading' - West Australian It's summer, Royal Ascot, and life is good for young trainer Simon Waterford. He has inherited his father's top-class yard, his brilliant two-year-old has just won the Coventry Stakes and he is soon to marry his beautiful half-Brazilian girlfriend. But Mariana has a secret which would wreck her hopes of marriage - and which Simon's uncle Geoff has found out. And he has threatened to tell Simon. On their way back from the races, two rough-looking young men pass lewd comments about Mariana. There's not much of a brawl - it's over too quickly and is hardly even-handed - but it leaves Mariana in a sea of blood tending to Simon's wounded face, while Geoff lies dead on the floor. It's a tragedy, of course, but Mariana can't help but feel relieved. Her secret is safe, for now...What readers are saying about Deadly Finish:'John Francome's weaving of the various plot-lines was superb''Another first class book from Francome''Believable characters and great storyline had me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end'

Headline

Outsider

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Back Hander

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Break Neck

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Cover Up

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

A thoroughbred thriller that keeps your heart racing to the finish...Cover Up is a gripping racing thriller from ex-jockey and racing broadcaster John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown and Dick Francis' classic crime novels.'Jealousy, blackmail and teenage emotions are well-stirred into this exciting mix. In a word - readable' - Herald Sun (Australia) What's the worst way to die? At the end of a rope driven by your own shame and despair? Or savaged in the jaws of a black-hearted stallion who has hated you for years? If only the bankrupt gambler and the stable girl were alive to give us the answer...For a jockey they say there's no thrill like riding a big winner but Rob Harding has found something better - that's breeding one. His two-year-old colt Goldeneye is the product of Rob's own stud farm and, as the horse takes the July Stakes at Newmarket in some style, it seems he can lift Rob's failing business out of the mire. But no amount of prize money can deflect the tragedy that's waiting round the corner.Rob's head girl Ivana, a horse-mad beauty from the Czech Republic, would also revel in Goldeneye's triumph except for the terrifying reappearance of her sadistic ex-lover Milos. She's run a long way to escape from him - but it looks like she hasn't run far enough...What readers are saying about Cover Up:'A great book with many twists and turns''The pace of the plot stops you from putting it down''Just brilliant'

Headline

Dark Horse

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Dead Weight

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

There is no hiding place for a jump jockey when his courage deserts him...Dead Weight is a gripping racing thriller addressing the mental challenges faced by jump jockeys, from ex-jockey and racing broadcaster John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Dick Francis and Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown. 'Authentic, thrilling and compulsive' - Bookseller After a crashing fall, champion rider Phil Nicholas returns to racing, but though his body has healed, his mind has not. Flashbacks of his accident invade his dreams, rob him of his sleep - and freeze him in the saddle. While Phil is battling to overcome his fear, his weighing-room colleague Adrian Moore is viciously attacked after losing a race he should have won. It's the start of a vendetta by someone determined to hurt those who break the rules of racing. If Phil wants to save the sport - and the woman he loves - it's time for him to recover his nerve...What readers are saying about Dead Weight:'Great characters and tons of nail-biting racecourse action, sex and jokes''A thrill on every page''Just like reading a Dick Francis novel. Great read from beginning to end'

Headline

False Start

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Final Breath

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Free Fall

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

The need to win can push some people over the edge...John Francome explores greed and expectation in his electrifying racing thriller Free Fall. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'Curiosity and clever writing will compel you to keep reading this tough and torrid tale... a fun read' - Horse & Hound Jockey Pat Vincent has ambitions to win the best races and become a wealthy sporting hero. But Pat knows his dreams will never be fulfilled so he's devised a brilliant new scam which, if discovered, would see him warned off for life. But first it's guaranteed to make him rich.Pat's girlfriend Zoe is starting her second full season as an apprentice jockey. A talented rider, she has a chance of becoming champion apprentice, if she's not side tracked by the disasters of her sister Harriet's unhappy marriage...Along the crumbling cliffs in Somerset a man walks his dog. Every day Andy Burns - Pat's partner-in-crime, Harriet's tortured husband - wrestles with the demons that haunt his life. But Andy would be better off keeping his thoughts on the ground - it's a long way down to the beach below. What readers are saying about Free Fall:'So many twists and turns the reader isn't sure which way the storyline will go''Brilliant!''He [Francome] gets better and better'

Headline

Inside Track

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Lifeline

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

This is one race you can't afford to lose...Lifeline is another dark racing thriller from 'the natural successor to Dick Francis' (Irish Times), John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'Chasing the winning post is not only the aim of the jockey, it becomes compelling for the reader as Francome delves deeply into the murky side of racing' - Oxford Times Unlike some jockeys, Tony Byrne has never taken a bung and never ridden a dishonest race. All the same, his career is heading for the rocks, dragged down by weight problems and woman trouble - and too many slow horses. In comparison, Freddy Montague has never been fussy about sticking to the rules, either on the racetrack or in bed with another man's wife. And if there's money on offer to fix races, Freddy's guaranteed to be first on the gravy train. Unfortunately for both men, the guarantees run out once Freddy's train comes off the rails. That's when the gravy turns to blood...What readers are saying about Lifeline:'The style is quick and absorbing, with many twists and turns both on and off the racecourse''Fast and furious intrigue and murder''I have never been a fan of horseracing but this book brought to life the thrill of the chase for me'

Headline

Rough Ride

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Safe Bet

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

Would you risk it all to get the truth?The sudden death of a jockey-in-decline leaves his best friend with some very serious questions in Safe Bet, John Francome's compelling racing thriller. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown. 'Francome provides a vivid panorama of the racing world... and handles the story's twist deftly' - The Times Only when it's too late does Mike Powell realise that he's wasted his talents as a jockey and spoilt his marriage. His riding career is in decline; his beautiful wife, Tessa, has left him. And, to cap it all, he's almost bankrupt, having tried to build a future by pinhooking. Then, on the way to the Sports Personality of the Year Awards, Mike is killed in a car crash.When his old friend Jed Harvard discovers that Mike's estate has been left to an American called George Parker - a man he's never heard of before - his suspicions are aroused. While tracking down George, Jed discovers that Mike's business deals have left a number of bitter enemies, and he realises that all is not what it seems...What readers are saying about Safe Bet:'Another cracker from the man who has taken his skills from the saddle straight to his writing desk''Excellent as always''[John Francome is] carrying on the excellent suspenseful Dick Francis style'

Headline

Stalking Horse

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Stone Cold

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Stud Poker

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Tip Off

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

High stakes and low lives - racing's a dangerous game Ex-National Hunt Champion Jockey John Francome presents Tip Off, a deadly racing thriller about money-fuelled murder. A must-read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'Francome can spin a darn good yarn' - Racing Post It's every punter's dream to beat the bookmakers and Toby Brown is doing it regularly. The son of a top trainer, Toby has a telephone tipping service that is slowly bringing the old enemy to its knees. A plea from the bookmakers prompts a Jockey Club investigation which uncovers a plot of murder and jealousy where the stakes being played for mean more than just money - and where one horse, Better By Far, lives up to its name.What readers are saying about Tip Off: 'Couldn't put it down, apart from having to recharge the Kindle!''Francome seems to know how to grab and hold your attention''His [John Francome's] writing style flows brilliantly and is a joy to read'

Headline

High Flyer

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Headline

Dead Ringer

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

When twelve-year-old David Tredington vanished, his father, one of England’s top breeders, vowed never to give up the search for his son. Now, fifteen years later, David has been found alive and well in County Mayo. When the charismatic young man returns to the family’s Devonshire estate, he receives a mixed welcome. His elder sister, Lucy, distrusts him from the start. Jason, David’s brother-in-law and David’s cousin, George, are even less pleased to see another heir to the Tredington fortune. But David’s natural skills as a jockey soon attract favourable attention in the steeple-chasing world. Then a terrifying accident leads to an innocent stable lad’s death, and David suspects that his own life is in danger. Someone knows the truth about his past and wants him to disappear all over again. David must find out who and why before it’s too late…