Related to: 'The Shifting Tide (William Monk Mystery and Book 14)'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Death in Focus (Elena Standish Book 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry brings us an exciting new thriller of espionage and murder set across Europe in the 1930s. The world is on the brink of war and no one is to be trusted as young photographer Elena Standish becomes embroiled in a terrifying game of cat and mouse.

Headline

Triple Jeopardy (Daniel Pitt Mystery 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The killer's hallmark is clear; can Monk now stop a community being targeted? The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the twenty-third novel in the William Monk series An Echo of Murder. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction... truly remarkable' - New York Times London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence... What readers are saying about the William Monk Mysteries: 'Perry is an agile word painter - so perfectly describing the sights and sounds of Victorian London from the dark Limehouse area to the posh West End that one feels transported to a different time and place''The reader becomes immersed in the tension' 'The characters are believable, the storyline ingenious and the reader [is kept] guessing right to the end'

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A Christmas Message is Anne Perry's 14th novella in her festive series.Christmas 1900. Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt's former boss and his new wife Vespasia are travelling by train from Jaffa to Jerusalem. Although enjoying their time together and the interesting people they meet, Vespasia soon becomes concerned that someone is watching their every move.When one of their new acquaintances is found murdered, the only clue is a mysterious piece of parchment written in a foreign tongue, and a message imploring Narraway to continue the stranger's quest. Sensing its importance, Narraway and Vespasia decide to fulfil their dead friend's wish.Continuing to Jerusalem with the parchment in hand, they quickly find themselves embroiled in danger. With Vespasia's fears suddenly realised and a watcher on their trail, will Narraway and Vespasia's fates follow that of their friend or can they make it to Jerusalem unscathed?A Christmas Message is the tantalising new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Journey (Christmas Novella 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Visitor (Christmas Novella 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A suspicious death leads Pitt to the doorstep of one of London's most respectable households... Bedford Square is the nineteenth novel in bestselling author Anne Perry's highly acclaimed mystery series featuring Thomas Pitt, and sees the detective investigating a murder steeped in class prejudice. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.'Ms Perry fashions a Victorian story with the sophisticated characterisation and psychological suspense that are everyday tools of the contemporary writer... the result is first rate' - New York Times Book Review When a man is found murdered on the doorstep of a respectable house in Bedford Square, Victorian England's finest and most controversial policeman, Thomas Pitt, is called immediately to the scene. The only clue to the victim's identity is a silver snuff box found on the body, curiously at odds with the man's dishevelled appearance. Pitt soon discovers that the box, and the house where the body was found, belong to General Balantyne, a man Pitt knows to be a pillar of the community. He is dismayed to learn that Balantyne can barely recall the evening, let alone account for his movements... What readers are saying about Bedford Square: 'I thoroughly enjoyed Perry's ability to show me around the streets of Victorian London, a very realistic journey that added a lot of spice to the adventure''[Anne Perry's] books are always gripping and beautifully written''Five stars'

Headline

Come Armageddon

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

William and Hester become wrapped up in two separate cases - but are they as unconnected as they first seem? Staggering revelations and a shocking murder propel the Monks into fresh dangers in Anne Perry's gripping mystery Death of a Stranger. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.'Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood' - San Francisco Chronicle Hester Monk's voluntary work in Coldbath Square is increasingly demanding. Every night she tends to a stream of women of the streets who have been injured or become ill as a result of their trade. But the injuries are becoming more serious, and now a body has been discovered in one of the area's brothels. The dead man is none other than the wealthy and respectable Nolan Baltimore, head of Baltimore and Sons, a successful railway company. With calls for the police to clean up the streets, Hester decides she must intervene to protect these women who stand to lose everything. Meanwhile her husband, William Monk, has been approached by Katrina Harcus, who suspects that the company her fiancé works for may be guilty of fraud. That company is Baltimore and Sons. As Monk endeavours to prevent a serious crime, possibly even a tragedy, taking place, he faces some staggering revelations. And with the link between the two cases becoming ever clearer, Monk finds that the time has come to confront his own demons - even if it means losing all that he now holds dear... What readers are saying about Death of a Stranger: 'Anne Perry's 13th addition to the Monk series is fast paced, exciting and as dark as you'd expect''I cannot fault this latest offering from the "Queen of Crime"... I literally couldn't put it down!''A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London'

Headline Review

Shoulder the Sky (World War I Series, Novel 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

In April 1915 Joseph Reavley is serving as chaplain on the Front Line at Ypres. The war that should have been 'over by Christmas' has already decimated the British Expeditionary Force. To Joseph's sector comes an ambitious young war correspondent determined to expose the horrors of trench life. But before he can dispatch his piece, he is found dead in no-man's-land. Still seeking the man behind his parents' murder, and to protect his sister Judith from the pain of an impossible romance, Joseph must find the truth. His search takes him to London and the beaches of Gallipoli, and at last to face a desperate moral judgement which challenges every belief he holds.

Headline

Seven Dials (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Southampton Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 22)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Despite Thomas Pitt's success in the Whitechapel case, the secretive Inner Circle prevent his returning to Bow Street police as Superintendent. Pitt's next task for Special Branch is to investigate Charles Voisy - the corrupt Inner Circle man Pitt defeated in court - who is standing for election as a Tory MP. Pitt must obtain information to stop Voisy's climb to political power. Then Pitt is ordered to Southampton Row, scene of the hideous murder of a spiritual medium. As the link between the spiritualist and political figures is revealed, the whispers of scandal grow louder. And with Charlotte in hiding for safety, Pitt must turn to his sister-in-law, Emily, to help him solve one of his most high-profile cases yet...

Headline

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The One Thing More

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Feature

Tathea

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Whited Sepulchres (William Monk Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Young Killian Melville is arguably the most brilliant architect of the age; passionate about his art, he is liked by everyone. So when he visits Sir Oliver Rathbone, in need of a lawyer to represent him over his alleged 'breach of promise' to marry the daughter of his patron, Rathbone agrees despite his misgvings. The case is not an easy one. Zillah is beautiful and even-tempered, heiress to a fortune and a good friend. What more could any man want? And why would Melville risk losing the professional reputation he has worked all his life to build? Frustrated by his client's refusal to divulge any further information, and convined he is keeping something from him, Rathbone, his own professional integrity at stake, decides to ask his close friend Hester Latterly for an objective opinion about the case. She, meanwhile, has contacted William Monk to investigate a mysterious family matter from twenty years ago. Little do they realise that the three of them are about to tackle the most baffling and complex case with which they have ever been faced...