Related to: 'The Pride of Park Street'

Book Chick City interviews Jaci Burton

Jaci Burton talks with Book Chick City about writing and her latest novel, Hope Ignites.

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressWhen they're not working in a West London munitions factory, Liz Beck and her best friend Marg find time for fun and laughter at the local ice rink. Then a couple of handsome American servicemen sweep them off their feet and Marg's dream of becoming a GI bride looks like it might come true.Liz's sister Dora is jealous of the romance that blossoms between Victor and Liz but nothing can spoil Liz's happiness. Then tragedy strikes and Liz makes a discovery that causes a rift in her family. With almost nothing left to lose, she finds love and support where she least expects it and, as the war comes to an end, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...

Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When tragedy strikes two childhood sweethearts, they must look to their hearts to find true happiness... A dramatic story of bitter rivalry and forbidden love, Pam Evans' London saga, Lamplight on the Thames, is sure to appeal to fans of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Kate Thompson.Since the end of the war, when Bob Brown had taken over the car workshop in London, Frank Bennett had been trying to get his hands on it. An East-Ender made good, Frank was determined to get the prime site - whatever the cost.As children, Bob's daughter Bella and Frank's son Dezi became unlikely friends, though both families disapproved. Years later, their love blossomed, and it seemed that nothing, not even the feud between their fathers, could prevent their marriage. Until Bob's tragic death and his dying request to Bella... What Amazon readers are saying about Lamplight on the Thames: 'Loved this book. It was the first time I had read anything by Pam Evans but won't be the last. A super story, couldn't put it down''Another great book by Pamela Evans, I really enjoyed it'

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Set in London's East End in the 1900s, DIAMONDS IN DANBY WALK is Pam Evans' dramatic and heartrending family saga sure to appeal to fans of Dilly Court and Annie Murray.If Ralph Jackson had not been selfishly intent on an afternoon's stolen pleasure with his East End mistress Clara that day in 1900, a great many lives would have been different - most notably that of Amy Atkins, Clara's skinny young niece. Her penniless father George wants a better start for her than the mean streets of Bethnal Green, and if he has to resort to a spot of blackmail to get it, so be it.For fear of his philandering ways coming to light, Ralph offers Amy a job at his posh West London jeweller's. With her quick wits and eye for business she attracts the attention of Ralph's handsome son Clifford. But when one thing inevitably leads to another, weak-willed Clifford is quite happy to leave Amy holding the baby. He has reckoned without the powerful influence Amy's father still exerts over Ralph. An amazed Amy finds herself Mrs Clifford Jackson, but even love and gratitude do not blind her to her husband's weaknesses, and when tragedy strikes she is faced with some difficult choices . . .

Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Two families face the aftermath of war, and the promise of new love. Pam Evans' family saga, The Apple of Her Eye, brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds love and purpose. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' - Bolton NewsIt is 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then tragedy strikes when the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit. April and her brother do all they can to help their grieving mother and, by tending her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables.Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is facing the fact that her husband may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and April's supply of home-grown vegetables couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye... What readers are saying about The Apple of Her Eye: 'An excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed. If you enjoy books filled with personalities, and story-lines which not only entertain but take you on a journey back in time when history was being made, this certainly is the book for you''Incredibly heartwarming story, I loved it all the way through. Pamela Evans you have done it again'

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

It's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all.

Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Under an Amber Sky

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A heartrending London wartime saga from much-loved author Pamela Evans.For the Porters and the Mills, family and friendship are the glue that binds everything together. So when the Porters' home is destroyed in the Blitz and only seventeen-year-old Nell and her little sister Pansy survive, all their lives are shattered. Peg Mills is determined to look after her best friend's daughters. And, in time, the girls begin to thrive - Pansy, evacuated to the countryside and Peg's loving mother, and Nell in her new job at the local newspaper. But trouble is on its way. Nell discovers her handsome suitor Gus Granger is hiding a dangerous secret. And, just when she needs him the most, her closest confidant Ed Mills is declared missing in action. Nell suddenly realises that Ed means much more to her than just a friend. But will she ever see him again to tell him her true feelings?

Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Through the good times and bad, the Sparrow family has always stuck together. But as the Blitz ravages London in 1940, each of the Sparrows has their own battle to fight. Nancy finds herself volunteering as a porter at busy Paddington station - a world away from the smart West End dress shop where she used to work. Young Mickey is sent to the front line, while little Leslie suffers as an evacuee. Nancy must summon all her strength to support her loved ones, but they are unaware the woman they rely on hides a painful secret...

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Close to Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

In 1957, Ellie and Tom Hall are happily married, with a home of their own in Shepherd's Bush and a beautiful baby daughter. Ellie feels truly blessed and has faith in their future - a future which is cruelly snatched away when a terrible car accident leaves Tom brain-damaged and institutionalised. Months later, Ellie is slowly learning to live without him and focuses on her thriving knitwear business.Convicted for a murder he has always denied committing, when Ray Brent is released from prison he is ostracised by the community as he tries to rebuild his life. But he finds a loyal supporter in Ellie when she is witness to a vicious attack on him. Something about him makes her believe in his innocence and the two soon become friends. But it's only a matter of time before friendship becomes an impossible love...

Headline

Where We Belong

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Song in your Heart

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When Gill and Arnie Briscoe marry in haste in the summer of 1957, rumours fly round the close knit community of Maisie Road, Fulham. But the couple are too in love to care what other people think and when their son is born their happiness seems complete. Arnie is given the opportunity to become a professional footballer, but fame comes at a price and a terrible accident puts an end to his sporting career. With their marriage on the rocks and little money coming in, it is up to Gill to keep the family together, so she teaches piano lessons to the locals as a way of earning a living. Over the years the Briscoes suffer further tragedy and reluctantly Gill and Arnie decide they must go their separate ways. But no matter what comes between them there is a song in their hearts which refuses to die...

Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Lizzie Smith has practically become part of the Carter family, and it is only fitting that she should eventually marry Stan, one of the Carter boys. But, as much as she loves Stan, Lizzie senses a darker side to him that his mother cannot see. It isn't long before his bitterness causes Lizzie to question her relationship, and ultimately leads to tragedy...

Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans