Related to: 'Before The Storm'

Author

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of five novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, and THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Headline

The Judith Lennox Wartime Collection

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller.But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambition, lies a cruel and ruthless man. And when dashing politician Gillis Sinclair comes to stay at Marsh Court, Juliet is drawn to his irresistible charm.So begins a passionate affair that will have consequences far beyond anything Juliet imagines. For Gillis Sinclair is hiding a dark secret and, as the next generation of Wintertons grows up, Juliet fears that they, too, will be tainted by the past...An epic tale of love and loss, passion and betrayal, that moves through the turbulence of war to 1960s' London.

Headline Review

Footprints on the Sand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Shadow Child

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Dark-Eyed Girls

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Written on Glass

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Middlemere

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies... Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy's life for ever... What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Ideal escapism''[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings''Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned'

Headline Review

All My Sisters

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Till the Day Goes Down

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

Turbulence and passion drive an unforgettable historical epic... 16th century Europe is the setting for Judith Lennox's thrillingly epic novel Till the Day Goes Down. Perfect for fans of Rosanna Ley and Kate Morton.As England prepares for the threat of invasion, Catholic forces in France, Scotland and Spain plan the 'Enterprise of England', weaving a cat's-cradle of intrigue around the imprisoned Mary, Queen of Scots, to bring her to the throne. In London, Sir Frances Walsingham, Elizabeth I's Secretary of State and master of espionage, pits his intellect against the forces that threaten England.The Anglo-Scots border, too, is a battleground, an anarchic land whose people acknowledge no allegiance but to their family name. But Luke Ridley, illegitimate son of a gypsy, has no allegiances: he must earn his living in whatever way he can. He is caught up in treacheries both of his own and of Sir Francis Walsingham's making.Into the dangerous melting-pot of Northumberland arrive Christie and Arbel Forster. Fragile, amoral Arbel is a catalyst for all the simmering tensions of the borders; Christie has her own obsession: to rediscover the family she lost years before in the terror of the French Wars of Religion. The blood-feud between the Forsters and the Ridleys has been in abeyance; now it begins to smoulder again, its embers rekindled by the passions and betrayals of the past. What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive''Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion''Five stars'

Headline Review

The Glittering Strand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Italian Garden

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

Striking out on her own path of independence, what will she leave in her wake? Set amid the wealth and beauty of sixteenth-century Europe, Judith Lennox's novel, The Italian Garden, transports her readers to a tempestuous world of love and betrayal. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Dinah Jefferies.The du Chantonnay estate of Marigny on the Loire consumes the desires of two powerful men - bitter, worldly-wise Guillaume du Chantonnay, and ruthless Hamon de Bohun - who will stop at nothing to possess it. Toby Crow, a young soldier of fortune, is also drawn to Marigny, for his mysterious origins are somehow bound up with the chateau.Italy's most priceless beauty, exotic Joanna Zulian, would crown Marigny's perfection. But Joanna, bred a vagabond and newly escaped from a stifling marriage to the artist Gaetano, vows never again to be possessed by any man, nor obey any laws but her own. With the help of the adoring English doctor Martin and a reluctant Toby, Joanna forges her own path through war-ravaged Europe.And when Joanna comes at last to Marigny, it is to weave the whole intricate tale of the de Bohuns, the du Chantonnays, and her own colourful life into the Italian garden she designs. It will be her own legacy, a legacy fraught with danger... What readers are saying about The Italian Garden: 'I loved the time period, the colourful background of Venice... the development of the characters and the twists in the plot. Great writing''Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion''Thoroughly absorbing read, was gripped throughout'

Headline Review

The Secret Years

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Winter House

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Some Old Lover's Ghost

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

History can repeat itself... Spanning the twentieth century, Some Old Lover's Ghost is a haunting and incredibly poignant love story from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Lucinda Riley.Rebecca, bruised from an unhappy love affair, is flattered to be asked to write the life story of distinguished Dame Tilda Franklin. Tilda was born in 1914 and grew up in a remote Fenland village, the illegitimate daughter of the local squire and a maid in the Big House. It was Tilda's misfortune to fall in love with handsome, devil-may-care Daragh Canavan, and to be betrayed by him.As Rebecca delves deeper into Tilda's life, and as the events of the past send ghostly echoes to the present, parallels with her own experience begin to emerge. And as she is drawn into a family history of loves and tragedies almost too painful to write about, her involvement with the family becomes more overwhelming than she could ever have imagined. What readers are saying about Some Old Lover's Ghost: 'Wonderful book, couldn't put it down and beautifully written''A warm believable story''Five stars'

Headline Review

Reynardine

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

His only thought is for revenge... Inspired by the murder of Sir Thomas Overbury in 1615, Judith Lennox's magnificent novel tells the story of Reynardine, the mysterious highwayman. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.Seventeenth-century London: corrupt, decadent and dangerous; a playground for the ambitious in search of power, wealth and position. Richard Galliers, returning from three years in exile, wants none of it. His only thought is for revenge.Mall Conway, the beautiful and headstrong daughter of a Cambridgeshire gentleman is bored; bored with country life and with the restrictions of society. But her peaceful existence is shattered all too soon when Galliers inadvertently involves her in his determination to bring down a deadly enemy...Galliers' relentless quest takes him from the squalor of taverns and brothels and the tawdry glitter of playhouses to the decadent allure of Jacobean London's great houses. And to the bleak wastes of the East Anglian Fens, where Reynardine, the mysterious highwayman, reigns, the terror of all weary travellers. What readers are saying about Reynardine: 'A super novel and one of Judith Lennox's best if you want excitement, mystery and romance''She writes so beautifully and nostalgically... Judith Lennox is truly a great writer''Five stars'

Headline Review

One Last Dance

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

The world is changing, but can a family change with it? Spanning the twentieth century, One Last Dance is a story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness from acclaimed writer Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.'I have fallen completely in love with Judith Lennox's writing - she's a fantastic storyteller!' Jill Mansell 'Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book' - New Books MagazineAs the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme's elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her.But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin's heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest. What readers are saying about One Last Dance: 'A book you can lose yourself in''This is a gentle, nostalgic story with enough action to keep the reader engaged with fantastic descriptions of both time and place that add to the richness of this read''A story of sibling rivalry, jealousy and betrayal, of families and the ties that bind, of forgiveness and mostly of love; One Last Dance is a wonderfully nostalgic and romantic read'

Headline Review

The Turning Point

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

A gripping novel of passion, intrigue and ambition, set against the backdrop of 1950s Britain in the popular tradition of Kate Morton.Cambridge, 1952. When Ellen Kingsley embarks upon an exciting career in scientific research she soon finds herself caught in a bitter world of rivalry and ambition. Resisting the advances of charismatic Mark Pharaoh, who will stop at nothing in his pursuit of success, she moves to London and falls in love with dashing Alec Hunter. Then a chance encounter introduces Pharaoh to Ellen's old school friend, the captivating India Mayhew, and they embark upon a passionate love affair that leaves destruction in its wake. And amid a web of deceit and desire, long-held secrets will be revealed with far-reaching consequences...

Headline Review

Catching the Tide

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Catching the Tide

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Heart of the Night

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox