Related to: 'Marrying Up'

Author

Wendy Holden

Wendy Holden is a number one bestselling author. Her first novel Simply Divine, a comedy about a celebrity socialite, was an instant success and was inspired by her work as an editor at The Sunday Times and as deputy editor of society glossy, Tatler. She has written ten top-ten bestsellers for Headline as well as an enormous range of journalism for publications including the Daily Mail, YOU Magazine, the Daily Telegraph, My Weekly, the Sunday Express and Country Life. She writes regular travel pieces and is one of the Daily Mail's main book reviewers. She was also a judge for the 2013 Costa Novel and Costa Book of the Year awards. Wendy was born in Yorkshire, studied English at Cambridge and worked as a journalist on Harpers & Queen, The Sunday Telegraph, The Sunday Times, Mail on Sunday and Tatler before becoming a full-time writer. After many years in London she now lives in the Derbyshire countryside with her political consultant husband and two young children.

Headline Review

Honeymoon Suite

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Wendy Holden, the number one bestselling queen of romantic comedy, returns with a warm tale that is sure to charm her many fans and delight those who can't get enough of Kathy Lette and Jane Green.'An author guaranteed to lift your spirits' GraziaWhen Nell is marooned at the altar, her feisty best friend Rachel says she'll come with her on honeymoon instead. Why waste a week in a posh country hotel?So the duo, plus Rachel's Agatha Christie-obsessed small daughter Juno, head for the hills and idyllic Edenville, on the edge of the beautiful Pemberton estate. Awaiting them is a cast of colourful characters from Jason the harassed hotel manager to the ruthless Angela, Director of HR. Not to mention the handsome Dylan, a bestselling writer on the run from his past. Nell doesn't want to go back to London, so when a job on the estate comes up, she's happy to stay. Even if it is arranging weddings in the Big House! As she becomes entangled in the lives of the locals - and they weave their way into her heart - she realises there might be a way to reach the rainbow's end after all.

Headline Review

Wild and Free

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Gifted and Talented

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

It's the new university term among the dreaming spires. The start of a whole new life.Meet Isabel, beautiful, clever, shy - and leaving home for the first time.Meet Olly, recently graduated, idealistic and a little hopeless, a man whose heart leads his brain and for whom opportunity just hasn't come knocking - yet.Meet Amber, the It girl who is soon partying with the fast set - and no-one is faster than Jasper de Borchy, glamorous leader of the notorious Bullinger club.Meet the grown-ups: Diana, recently divorced mother-of-one, newly arrived in town to take up a post as college gardener - and Richard, the new college head, a widower, a scientist, and as lonely as some of the specimens he captures in his science lab. The rich, the poor, the shy, the extrovert, the givers, the takers. Meet the Gifted and Talented.

Headline Review

Gallery Girl

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

A hilarious tale from Sunday Times Number 1 bestselling author Wendy Holden.Alice loves art, but her gallery-owner boss Angelica is interested only in money. Alice also loves her boyfriend, but he's interested only in his career. Bad boy billionaire artist Zeb is interested in Alice, but then he's mainly interested in sex. Meanwhile, shy-but-brilliant painter Dan scrapes a living holding village-hall drawing classes. When bored rock wife Siobhan joins one, things get colourful.Will life for any of them be picture perfect? Or will they all make exhibitions of themselves?

Headline Review

Beautiful People

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Filthy Rich

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

'A modern day Jilly Cooper' Glamour. Another fabulous novel from bestselling author WENDY HOLDEN. For fans of MARRYING UP.When Mary meets Monty, heir to a stately pile, happiness seems assured. But as the mansion crumbles, passion wanes along with the heating.Banker's wife Beth swaps Notting Hill for weekends at a bijou cottage. They only offered a smidgeon over the asking price. So why don't the locals like them?Eco-harridan Morag is the terror of the village, with her objections to everyone and everything.Über-WAG Alexandra needs a footballer's mansion and fast. There must be a Hello!-tastic country pile with spa, champagne bar and parking for six SUVs somewhere?Ambitions clash when the village launches an allotment project and no one escapes the bitter struggle over sex, power and money which threatens to blight more than everyone's carrots.

Headline Review

The School for Husbands

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Sophie's marriage was perfect, but now it's all gone wrong. Mark works late; she's left with the baby, domestic drudgery, her own career to keep on the go and the growing feeling that Mark is having an affair. When he fails to come home one night it's the last straw. Sophie wants a divorce. But Mark doesn't. He hasn't been unfaithful, just thoughtless. Desperate not to lose his family, he signs up to the 'School for Husbands', which transforms hopeless spouses into perfect marriage partners. But will its intensive and unusual tuition be enough to get him back with Sophie? Especially now an eligible millionaire is after her...

Headline Review

Simply Divine

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

'A modern day Jilly Cooper' Glamour. A witty, well-observed tale from bestseller WENDY HOLDEN, author of MARRYING UP and FAME FATALE.Champagne D'Vyne is a celebrity socialite with a charmed life - and a mania for men, money and fame. Jane is a journalist with an ordinary life - love stress, work stress and a spare tyre that won't go away. As their contrasting worlds become bizarrely intertwined, Jane realises that the blonde, busty and blatantly ambitious Champagne will let nothing come between her and what she wants. Least of all Jane.

Headline Review

Fame Fatale

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

A sparklingly witty novel from the bestselling author WENDY HOLDEN. For fans of GALLERY GIRL and BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE.Ruthless, beautiful Belinda wants a rich and famous man. Her problem is that interviewing Z-list celebs offers zero opportunity for megastar-bagging. Gentle Grace, meanwhile, only wants a quiet life. Her problems include an egomaniac boyfriend, a meddling mother and a publishing job with the authors from hell.Belinda finally makes the A-list, while Grace finds fame thrust upon her in the shape of a handsome film star. As the girls' lives and careers spectacularly collide, their real problems begin...

Headline Review

Pastures Nouveaux

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Cash-strapped Rosie and her boyfriend Mark are city folk longing for a country cottage. Rampantly nouveaux-riches Samantha and Guy are also searching for rustic bliss - a mansion complete with mile-long drive and hot and cold running gardeners. The village of Eight Mile Bottom seems quiet enough, despite a nosy postman, a reclusive rock star, a glamorous Bond Girl and a ghost with a knife in its back. But there are unexpected thrills in the hills. The local siren seduces Guy while mysterious millionaire makes Rosie an offer she can't refuse. But should she?

Headline Review

Bad Heir Day

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Anna's boyfriend Seb is impossibly handsome, impossibly rich and generally just impossible. When eventually he dumps her, she vows to give up men and throw herself into her career. Which is how she ends up working for Cassandra. The social climber from hell, Cassandra has a huge house in Kensington, a philandering rock star husband and the spawn of Satan for a son. So when desperate-to-escape Anna meets dashing Jamie, charming heir to a castle in Scotland, she can't believe her luck. And she probably shouldn't...

Headline Review

Azur Like It

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Kate, a journalist in a small northern town, is fed up with covering black pudding championships for the Slackmucklethwaite Mercury and living with Mum, Dad and Gran in a semi called Wits End. When evil tycoon Peter Hardstone takes over the paper, slashes budgets and sacks staff, Kate's career hits an all-time low. Gloom turns to glamour once Hardstone's sexy son arrives to work on the Mercury. And when Kate's sent with him to cover the glittering Cannes Film Festival, she can't believe her luck. But it's not all fun and games: behind the glitz and sunshine lies a dark mystery that is Kate's most challenging newspaper assignment yet.

Headline Review

The Wives of Bath

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Christina Schwarz

Christina Schwarz's novels include the Oprah Book Club selection Drowning Ruth, which was an international bestseller. Born and raised in rural Wisconsin, USA, she lives in southern California.

Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Emma Cooper

Emma Cooper is a Teaching Assistant who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. Her spare time consists of writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-three years, who still makes her smile every day.

Guy Gunaratne

Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.