Related to: 'Young Wives' Tales'

Author

Adele Parks

Adele Parks worked in advertising until she published her first novel, PLAYING AWAY, in 2000, which was the debut bestseller of that year. All of Adele's novels have been top ten bestsellers and her work has been translated into twenty-five different languages. Adele has spent her adult life in Italy, Botswana and London until 2005 when she moved to Guildford, where she now lives with her husband and son. Adele believes reading is a basic human right, so she works closely with the Reading Agency as an Ambassador of the Six Book Challenge, a programme designed to encourage adult literacy. In 2011 she was a judge for the Costa Book Awards.

Headline Review

The Image of You

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Love Is A Journey: A Short Story Collection

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

The Stranger In My Home: I thought she was my daughter. I was wrong.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Love Is Complicated: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

New Beginnings: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Adele Parks, the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE STATE WE'RE IN and WHATEVER IT TAKES, draws together some of her most popular short stories in a collection that will delight existing and new fans alike, and appeal to readers of Lisa Jewell and Jojo Moyes.When your love life throws you a curve ball, sometimes you just have to pick yourself up and start over. Adele Parks, with her trademark, up-front, tell-it-as-it-is style, gets right to the heart of the dilemmas real women - and men - face in their lives.NEW BEGINNINGS is the third of four deliciously insightful e-short story collections about the changing face of love - and what happens after 'happily ever after'. ***Includes a preview of Adele's emotionally powerful and dramatic new contemporary novel.***

Headline Review

If You Go Away

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Glamorous debutantes, heartbreak and discovering just what is worth fighting for in the new historical novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks.1914. Vivian, a young, impassioned debutante is hurried into a pedestrian marriage to cover a scandal. War breaks out on her wedding day - domestically and across Europe. Quick to escape the disappointment of matrimony, her traditionalist husband immediately enlists and Vivian has no alternative than to take up the management and running of his estate - after all, everyone is required to do their bit. Even pretty, inadequately-educated young wives.Howard, a brilliant young playwright rushes to the front to see for himself the best and the worst of humanity; he cannot imagine what the horror might be. In March 1916, when conscription becomes law, it is no longer enough for him to report on the War, it's a legal requirement that he joins the ranks. Howard refuses, becoming one of the most notorious conscientious objectors of the time. Disarmingly handsome, famous, articulate and informed, he's a threat to the government. Narrowly escaping a death sentence by agreeing to take essential work on Vivian's farm, it's only then Howard understands what is worth fighting for.

Headline Review

Happy Endings: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Finding The One: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Adele Parks, the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE STATE WE'RE IN and WHATEVER IT TAKES, draws together some of her most popular short stories in a collection that will delight existing and new fans alike, and appeal to readers of Lisa Jewell and Jojo Moyes.When it comes to falling in love and finding the elusive 'one', Adele Parks, with her trademark, up-front, tell-it-as-it-is style, gets right to the heart of the dilemmas real women - and men - face in their lives.FINDING THE ONE is the first of four deliciously insightful e-short story collections about the changing face of love - and sometimes finding it in the most unexpected of places.***Includes a preview of Adele's emotional, passionate and sweeping historical novel IF YOU GO AWAY.***

Headline Review

Spare Brides

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

As featured on Radio 2 Summer reads.The 1920s: a time of hope, promise - and parties. But not all the men came home, after The War.Meet the spare brides.Young, gorgeous - and unexpectedly alone.Ava relishes the freedom of being single.Sarah fears no one can replace her hero husband.Beatrice finds it hard to shine, next to her dazzling friends.And Lydia is married, rich, privileged: so isn't she one of the lucky ones?Then a chance encounter changes everything.Angry, damaged and dangerously attractive, Edgar Trent is an irresistable temptation.And the old rules no longer apply...

Headline Review

The State We're In

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Whatever It Takes

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

How far would you go for the people you love?Whatever It Takes is an emotionally powerful and unputdownable novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home.For your husband... For Londoner Eloise Hamilton, there can be no greater sacrifice than uprooting to Dartmouth, leaving her perfect world so that her husband Mark can live in his. Good marriages need compromises, don't they?For your best friend... Eloise's best friend Sara is desperate to have a baby. She's tried everything - without success. So Eloise comes up with an extreme plan to help her. Because isn't that what best friends do?For your family... Mark's mother Margaret feels like she's losing her mind. But when the true extent of her problem is revealed and a life-changing secret emerges, Eloise suddenly finds her world imploding as she struggles to hold everything together for the people she loves. Someone is bound to be overlooked, and the damage might be irreparable...What if love's not enough?Includes a preview of The Stranger In My Home, out now.

Headline Review

Larger than Life

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home, perfectly balances humour and heartbreak in Larger Than Life, a gripping novel of finding out what it truly means to find the love of your life...Georgina fell in love with Hugh the moment she first saw him, aged just eighteen, and she's never loved another man. Unfortunately, for all that time he's been someone else's husband and father... After years of waiting on the side-lines, Georgina finally gets him when his marriage breaks down. But her dream come true turns into a nightmare when she falls pregnant and Hugh makes it clear he's been there, done that and doesn't want to do it all again. She has to believe Hugh has been worth the wait but Georgina can't help but ask herself, is this baby bigger than the biggest love of her life?*Includes bonus material*

Headline Review

Playing Away

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

The unforgettable debut novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home. Playing Away became an instant bestseller, is irresistible, unputdownable and the nearest thing you'll get to an affair without actually having one...Connie has been married for a year to her gentle, loving husband Luke. She thought she couldn't be happier. But she's just met John Harding. Imagine the sexiest man you can think of. He's a walking stag weekend. He's a funny, disrespectful, fast, confident, irreverent pub crawl. He is also completely unscrupulous. He is about to destroy Connie's peace of mind, but she can't resist. She's playing with fire. And playing against the rules...*Includes bonus material*

Headline Review

Game Over

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Game Over is a brilliantly perceptive novel of the game of love and not looking for Mr Right from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home.Cas Perry doesn't want a relationship. When her father walked out on her and her mother she decided relationships, love and marriage simply weren't worth the heartache. Cas, immoral most of the time and amoral when it comes to business, ruthlessly manipulates everyone she comes into contact with. Until she meets Darren. He believes in love, marriage, fidelity and constancy, so can he believe in Cas? Is it possible the world is a better place than she imagined? And if it is, after a lifetime of playing games, is this discovery too late?*Includes bonus material*

Headline Review

About Last Night

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Husbands

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Happy Families

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Lisa is forty-two, divorced and a mum of three. For the past year, she has been going out with Mark, who is five years younger than her. Lisa really likes him but she worries that one day he will leave - just like her ex-husband did. On top of everything else, Lisa feels really tired and moody, and has put on weight. She thinks it's the menopause - but could there be another reason for how she's feeling? Lisa's life is about to change in a big way but does she want Mark by her side? Does he even want to be there? With the help of her family and friends, Lisa starts to believe that a second chance of love and happiness might just be possible...

Headline Review

The Other Woman's Shoes

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

The Other Woman's Shoes is a gripping novel of two very different sisters from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home, which asks: is there such a thing as a perfect life or the perfect love?The Evergreen sisters have always been opposites with little in common. Martha is married and has the perfect home, family and life. Eliza rents a drab one-bedroom flat, which she shares with her sexy but hapless boyfriend. Until, one day, Eliza walks out on him, the very same day that Martha's husband walks out on her. Suddenly the Evergreen sisters are united by separation. Eliza is free to pursue the relationships she's always wanted; one that offers stability and security. Martha falls into a relationship that she could never have imagined; it's wild and wicked. Can they find happiness dashing down these new routes or does chasing love only get more complicated when you're running in another woman's shoes?Features a preview of Adele's stunning, emotionally powerful contemporary novel, The State We're In and her sweeping, romantic historical, Spare Brides.

Headline Review

Still Thinking of You

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Still Thinking Of You is an unputdownable novel of the ties of old friendships, the passion of new love and whether honesty is always the best policy, from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home.Tash and Rich are wild about each other; their relationship is honest, fresh and magical, so they dash towards a romantic elopement in the French Alps. However, five of Rich's old university friends crash the wedding holiday and they bring with them a whole load of ancient baggage. Can Tash hold on to Rich when she's challenged by years of complicated yet binding history and a dense web of dark secrets and intrigues? And, as some of those secrets come to light, she has to ask herself does she even want to?

Headline Review

Men I've Loved Before

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks