Related to: 'On Her Own Two Feet'

Author

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of five novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, and THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When tragedy strikes two childhood sweethearts, they must look to their hearts to find true happiness... A dramatic story of bitter rivalry and forbidden love, Pam Evans' London saga, Lamplight on the Thames, is sure to appeal to fans of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Kate Thompson.Since the end of the war, when Bob Brown had taken over the car workshop in London, Frank Bennett had been trying to get his hands on it. An East-Ender made good, Frank was determined to get the prime site - whatever the cost.As children, Bob's daughter Bella and Frank's son Dezi became unlikely friends, though both families disapproved. Years later, their love blossomed, and it seemed that nothing, not even the feud between their fathers, could prevent their marriage. Until Bob's tragic death and his dying request to Bella... What Amazon readers are saying about Lamplight on the Thames: 'Loved this book. It was the first time I had read anything by Pam Evans but won't be the last. A super story, couldn't put it down''Another great book by Pamela Evans, I really enjoyed it'

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A loving family. A deadly illness. A country on the brink of war. Pam Evans, much-loved author of In the Dark Streets Shining, brings us an enthralling and heart-wrenching saga about the enduring power of love, courage and friendship during the dark days of war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp. 'A superb and heartwarming read' - Irish IndependentIt's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all. What readers are saying about A Distant Dream: 'Where would the book world be without Pamela Evans books to brighten our day! I can't praise this book enough and am eagerly awaiting the next one from this author' 'Not just a wonderful story, but wonderful characters... you feel as though you have made new friends. I always thoroughly enjoy Pamela Evans books and think this one has to be one of her best'

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young dancer strives to make ends meet, but never gives up on her dreams. An inspiring family saga, Pam Evans' compelling tale, The Pride of Park Street, is sure to stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'A gorgeous story...This book touched me very, very much...beautifully written...exciting reading. It's lovely' - North Wales ChronicleWhen Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, it's not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning... What readers are saying about The Pride of Park Street: 'Pamela Evans is amazing. I love her warm stories and this one does not disappoint, I feel like I'm transported back to the olden days in these stories. I just love them and recommend them to everyone. Well deserved five stars!' 'Sheer nostalgia'

Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young widow's actions in war-torn London ensure her life is never the same again... In the Dark Streets Shining is a gripping and touching wartime saga by much-loved writer Pam Evans, which vividly captures the heartbreak and courage of those battling to survive in Blitz-torn London. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Rosie Goodwin. When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep looking for his son, and everything changes... What readers are saying about In the Dark Streets Shining: 'This book brings the blitz and the devastation in war torn London to the reader through the lives of one family. A great read''A book that will make you laugh out loud and weep buckets. Beautifully written, the harshness of war coupled with the stoicism of those living on rations, endless air raids, losing loved ones and a frightened little boy who tugs at everyone's heart strings. You won't put it down until the last word has left the final page''Never dark and always shining!'

Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

While the war brings out the best in most, it brings out the worst in others, as a young mother soon discovers... A gripping saga of life for those left behind during the war, Pam Evans' When the Boys Come Home is a heart-breaking story of love, family and tragedy that won't fail to enthral. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp.As German bombs wreak havoc on West London, for Morgan's Dairy it's business as usual. But when owner Dai Morgan is killed in an air raid, his daughter Megan is determined to continue in her father's footsteps and she braves the ravaged streets alone to do his milk round by horse and cart. Megan finds comfort in the knowledge that her twin girls are tucked away in a Welsh village, but she worries about her husband, Will, abroad with his platoon. And when Will's best friend, Doug Reynolds, returns, wounded and disfigured, she doesn't hesitate to take the poor man in. However, Doug is not the man she thinks he is. And when the boys come home, Megan has battle scars she can't allow Will to see... What readers are saying about When the Boys Come Home: 'Please, buy or read this "feel good" novel. I am a fan of Pamela Evans anyway, but this one manages to grip the imagination, is hard to put down and keeps the reader up to and including the last page. Heartily recommended!''Five stars'

Headline

Under an Amber Sky

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Tideway Girls

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Town Belles

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Teenage sisters Faith and Zoe Hodge want very different things from life. Faith longs for a career and dreams of the day when she will run her own hairdressing salon in London's West End. Zoe, on the other hand, is much more homely - marriage, babies and a semi-detached house in Ealing are what she aspires to. But their dreams are shattered when the Coronation Day celebrations of 1953 end in disaster...As time goes by the sisters find themselves growing further apart. Faith, still scarred by the past, cannot commit herself to a relationship, and Zoe, caught up in her own dramas, resents the bond that has developed between Faith and her daughter Sally. It takes another twist of fate many years later for them to be reunited and to learn that love and understanding can be shared in many different ways...

Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

The Brightwells live in Moss Street in a shabby area of London's Shepherd's Bush. Maggie Brightwell's father was killed in the Blitz by a bomb that also injured her brother Tom. Yet Maggie is a lively, warm-hearted girl. She works as a typist in central London and becomes good friends with Chloe Anderson, the spoilt daughter of her rich boss. When her boss begins to take a more than paternal interest in Maggie, she is horrified and quickly changes jobs, becoming an assistant in a run-down flower shop in Moss Street. She soon falls for the happy-go-lucky owner Jack Radford and they marry. But their happiness is threatened by a developing relationship between Maggie and her best friend Chloe's new charismatic husband. Maggie is determined not to hurt those closest to her and provide a better life for her family, but can she resist temptation?