Related to: 'The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries and Book 3)'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

1311. Murder and mayhem prowl the highways and coffin paths of Medieval England... Hugh Corbett returns in the twentieth gripping mystery in Paul Doherty's ever-popular series. If you love the historical mysteries of C. J. Sansom, E. M. Powell and Bernard Cornwell you will love this.Praise for Paul Doherty's dark and suspenseful novels:'His fascination for history comes off the page' Daily Express'An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite' Northern Echo'Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric' Historical Novels Review'Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history . . . evocative and lyrical descriptions' New Statesmen

Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

England, 1311. In the dark of the North the devil lies in wait... Paul Doherty's most popular series character returns in the gripping nineteenth mystery in the Hugh Corbett series.If you love the historical mysteries of C. J. Sansom, E. M. Powell and Bernard Cornwell you will love this.1296: King Edward I has led his army to Scotland, determined to take the country under his crown. But the fierce Scots have no intention of submitting to their oppressor and violent and bloody war breaks out. 1311: Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal, finds himself back in Scotland and is revisited by the horrors he witnessed there fifteen years ago. An anonymous letter was delivered to the new king. It promised information about a fatal incident that could allow England to finally bow out of the war with the Scots. Tasked with finding out the truth about the murder, Corbett is forced to take risks he would rather avoid and put his faith in the words of strangers. But with an unknown traitor lurking in the shadows and danger around every corner, will Corbett be able to unravel the complex web of plots in time?What readers are saying about DEVIL'S WOLF:'Doherty evokes the Medieval world brilliantly...tense and suspenseful, the mystery keeps you guessing until near the end...an excellent and enjoyable read' Amazon reader, 5 stars'[A] well written rendition of our historical past...A joy to read' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Another well told story from a master storyteller...If you like historical adventures you will enjoy this vivid, well paced tale!' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Vivid and lively. Another Hugh Corbett, please!' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Headline

Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 18)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Paul Doherty's most popular series character returns. It is the Summer of 1311 and Hugh Corbett is about to take up a life of danger again in the eighteenth novel in his series, DARK SERPENT, the follow up to THE MYSTERIUM. If you love historical mysteries from Robin Hobb, Susanna Gregory, Michael Jecks, Peter Tremayne and Bernard Knight you will love this.After his recent unveiling of a devious assassin, Sir Hugh Corbett has returned to service as the Keeper of the Secret Seal, begrudgingly admitting that his appetite for adventure has once again been whetted. Summoned to meet the King to be congratulated on their work together, Corbett and Ranulf learn of the death of Corbett's close friend, Ralph Grandison. Ralph, a leper, has been found dead in a rowing boat, a dagger thrust through his chest. But this murder is not the first of its kind. Other patients of the hospital in which Ralph was staying have similarly slaughtered and it seems as though the lepers, all former knights of the Royal household, are being targeted. The discovery that Ralph was killed by no ordinary weapon, but a poison dagger that once belonged with the Crown Jewels before being famously stolen, leads Corbett down a complex path, where the risk of disease plays out against the backdrop of finding an assassin who will use any means necessary to kill. As Corbett puts himself in the path of extreme danger, will he survive to see another day?

Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

A powerful and passionate story of forbidden love set in Medieval England...Immersed in the colours and drama of medieval life, Paul Doherty's richly evocative novel, The Love Knot, combines fact and fiction to tell one of history's greatest but most secret love affairs. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy. Spring, 1297. Recently widowed Joanna of Acre, loving daughter of Edward I, is pleased at her father's unexpected visit. But Edward has heard a rumour of an inappropriate friendship between Joanna, still officially in widow's weeds, and penniless commoner Ralph Monthermer. Edward, believing he has proof of a clandestine affair, immures Joanna in a nunnery and imprisons Ralph within Bristol Castle. Henry Trokelowe, Edward's clerk, stops him killing Ralph, who is allowed to live while the cold, almost passionless Henry investigates. Ralph and Joanna's only chance of survival now lies in Henry's hands, but how can a confirmed bachelor even begin to understand the all-consuming passion binding them?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books''Fascinating''Five stars'

Headline

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

A campaign of murder, as Alexander nears his greatest challenge...Paul Doherty writes the third instalment featuring Alexander the Great and Telamon in The Gates of Hell, a gripping mystery of murder and adventure. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.'The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great' - Yorkshire Evening Post It is 334 BC, and Alexander and his troops have crossed into Asia. Marching south he has conquered all in his path, but he and his enemies all know that the great prize is the city of Halicarnassus, strategically important and with fortifications to make any attacker despair. Alexander's court is set up close to the city, and his physician and old friend Telamon is there.Even as Alexander prepares for one of the most dramatic confrontations in the ancient world, a series of brutal killings begins, proving that the Persians have infiltrated the court. With his lord facing the fight of his life, Telamon must go through 'the Gates of Hell' to find the traitors.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'With vivid sense imagery and a keen eye for detail, Doherty brings colour and drama''Paul Doherty grasps the atmosphere, the spirit of the times, and the aura of royal intrigue of 334 BC''Five stars'

Headline

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

September 314 AD and once more death strikes the sprawling streets of Imperial Rome. When two prostitutes are found murdered - their bodies ripped open and their right eyes gouged out - it's feared a notorious killer, the Nefandus, has returned. Rumoured to be an imperial officer, he once waged bloody murder amongst Rome's prostitutes but vanished before his identity could be discovered. Has he reappeared, or is someone working in his guise? Desperate to retain order, the Empress Helena turns to her most trusted agent, Claudia. Helena commands her to discover the truth behind the Nefandus, before Rome descends further into chaos and confusion.

Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It's 1308 and England hovers on the brink of civil war. Edward II, his wife Isabella and the royal favourite Peter Gaveston Earl of Cornwall, have been forced to retreat to the King's folly. Just an arrowshot away lie the Great Lords and Philip IV of France, who are demanding that the Earl of Cornwall be charged with high treason.Edward is trapped, and worse, he has learnt that Philip has the 'Poison Maiden' on his side, a formidable spy who did untold damage during his father's reign. As Edward tries in vain to unmask the identity of the spy, Mathilde, handmaiden to the Queen, also attempts to identify the source of this threat. Soon the crisis spills over into violence. The Lords attempt to take Gaveston by force and the King and his Court, including Mathilde, are forced to flee. As the enemy closes in, Mathilde finds herself embroiled in a life and death struggle for the English crown.

Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The House of Shadows

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In the late autumn of 1380, Brother Athelstan is busy enough. He and his parish council are preparing for the annual Christmas mystery play when a series of brutal murders occur at a Southwark tavern. Two young whores are found slain but their deaths are only the beginning of a series of gruesome killings which occur around the parish of St Erconwald's. A whole host of mysterious characters assemble to this pageant of murder: the Misericord, master thief and cunning man; the Judas man, a bounty hunter who tracks down outlaws and wolfheads; and finally the Knights of the Golden Falcon who assemble to celebrate their annual reunion. Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranstone have to resolve not only these grisly deaths but also their source - the Great Robbery of the Lombard treasure which occurred in Southwark some twenty years earlier...

Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

By Murder's Bright Light

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty