Related to: 'The House of Death (Telamon Triology and Book 1)'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

1311. Murder and mayhem prowl the highways and coffin paths of Medieval England... Hugh Corbett returns in the twentieth gripping mystery in Paul Doherty's ever-popular series. If you love the historical mysteries of C. J. Sansom, E. M. Powell and Bernard Cornwell you will love this.Praise for Paul Doherty's dark and suspenseful novels:'His fascination for history comes off the page' Daily Express'An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite' Northern Echo'Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric' Historical Novels Review'Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history . . . evocative and lyrical descriptions' New Statesmen

Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 18)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

An investigation into the mysterious woman known as Jeanne of Arc...The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty's gripping mystery, The Serpent Amongst the Lilies. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.At the behest of his master, Bishop Henry Beaufort, former criminal Matthew Jankyn is set among the followers of Jeanne d'Arc (the lilies). Charged with discovering whether Jeanne is really a saint, Jankyn must work out how best to ensure that the French war against the British can be foiled. But in spite of his lawless background, Jankyn comes to like Jeanne and to resent being pitted against her. But does Jeanne somehow know more about Jankyn's intentions than she is letting on, and what secrets is she keeping from him?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best''[You] lose yourself in the story''Five stars'

Headline

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

The search for hidden treasure brings Rodger Shallot face to face with murder...In Paul Doherty's The Grail Murder, Richard Shallot's third journal, he must pit his wits against the terrifying and mysterious Templars. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C.J. Sansom.In 1522 the rogue Roger Shallot and his sober-sided master Benjamin Daunbey are sent for by Cardinal Wolsey. Stafford, Duke of Buckingham, has been arrested for treason and Benjamin and Roger are made to witness his bloody execution. The true reason for Buckingham's downfall soon becomes apparent: he was searching at Templecombe Manor and Glastonbury Abbey in Somerset for two precious relics - the Holy Grail and Excalibur, the sword of King Arthur.Benjamin and Shallot are ordered to Templecombe, accompanied by the leaders of King Henry VIII's dreaded secret service, the Agentes in Rebus, to find these relics for the King. They must pit their wits against the Templars, a secret organisation plotting against the Tudors, of which Buckingham may have been a part and who may still have a member of their society close to the crown.The difficulties that wily Shallot - running true to his boast of possessing the fastest legs and quickest wits in Christendom - has to face soon make their presence felt: a duel, blackmail, the curses of a witch, the grisly hand of glory, decapitated heads, mysterious fires - and silent murder in the eerie Templar chapel.What readers are saying about The Grail Murders: 'This book had it all, locked room murders, a mysterious country manor house, an abbey, Templar conspiracy and Arthurian folklore - excellent!''Fascinating... historical mysteries brought to life with lots of accurate historical facts''Excellent story. Always enjoyed the Shallot stories, he is a lovable rogue'

Headline

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Rodger embarks on a mission to Florence, in search of an elusive assassin...In his fourth journal, A Brood of Vipers, Roger Shallot encounters treacherous conspiracies and terrible murders as he journeys from Tudor London to Florence. Paul Doherty's Tudor mysteries are perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom.Spring 1523. Benjamin Daunbey and his rapscallion servant, Roger Shallot, are summoned to London. A Florentine envoy, Lord Francesco Abrizzi, has been murdered and King Henry is determined to unmask the perpetrators of this outrage. In London, Shallot experiences King Henry's rage, the insults of the Abrizzis and a murderous attack. Shallot, a born coward, wants to crawl away and hide, but the King and Wolsey insist that he and Benjamin go to Florence, find Abrizzi's assassin, deliver a secret message, and bring back a Florentine painter. It sounds simple enough - but the reality is murderously different.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty weaves a tangled web of murder and intrigue''These novels vividly bring the dirt, squalor and adventure of Henry VIII's reign to life''Excellent story. Always enjoyed the Shallot stories, he is a lovable rouge'

Headline

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

The monk and scholar Roger Bacon claimed to have seen many marvels of nature and science and concealed these in a book written in an unbreakable code. Sir Hugh Corbett has been instructed to organise agents in Paris to steal this Book of Secrets. They do so but pay a violent price and the French King Philip IV now wishes a meeting between the scholars of England and France to discuss breaking the code. Edward I has no choice but to allow the meeting to take place at Corfe Castle, which becomes a place of murder and mayhem. Young women from the castle are being slain whilst horrific things are witnessed in the nearby forest. The situation becomes more serious when two of the French scholars die in sinister circumstances. Corbett and Ranulf-atte-Newgate have to thread this maze of malevolent murder whilst trying to decipher the great secrets of one of England's most outstanding scholars.

Headline

The House of Shadows

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In the late autumn of 1380, Brother Athelstan is busy enough. He and his parish council are preparing for the annual Christmas mystery play when a series of brutal murders occur at a Southwark tavern. Two young whores are found slain but their deaths are only the beginning of a series of gruesome killings which occur around the parish of St Erconwald's. A whole host of mysterious characters assemble to this pageant of murder: the Misericord, master thief and cunning man; the Judas man, a bounty hunter who tracks down outlaws and wolfheads; and finally the Knights of the Golden Falcon who assemble to celebrate their annual reunion. Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranstone have to resolve not only these grisly deaths but also their source - the Great Robbery of the Lombard treasure which occurred in Southwark some twenty years earlier...

Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

By Murder's Bright Light

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In 1521, England is at peace under the magnificent Cardinal Wolsey, who rules the country while Henry VIII spends his time in masques, banquets and hunting, whether it be the fleet-footed deer or the even more delicious quarry of the silken-garbed ladies of the court.But Richard Falconer, chief secretary of the English embassy in Paris, has been found mysteriously murdered. Wolsey believes that Falconer's death is connected with the disturbing news that there is a spy in the English court, or in its embassy in Paris, passing information to King Francis I of France. He summons his nephew, Benjamin Daunbey, and the wayward Roger Shallot to investigate. The only clue is the spy's code name, 'Raphael'.King Henry has secret instructions of his own before the pair journey to Paris: to retrieve a precious ring, the subject of a wager, and a certain book that the King does not want to fall into enemy hands. They are not to return to England without them.This novel was previously published under the pseudonym Michael Clynes.