Related to: 'The House of Death (Telamon Triology and Book 1)'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

1311. Murder and mayhem prowl the highways and coffin paths of Medieval England . . . Hugh Corbett returns in the twentieth gripping mystery in Paul Doherty's ever-popular series. If you love the historical mysteries of C. J. Sansom, E. M. Powell and Bernard Cornwell you will love this.It is four years since the death of King Edward I, but his reign of terror has cast long shadows over the kingdom. At Holyrood Abbey, sheltered in the depths of the Welsh march, the old king's former bodyguards protect his secret relics and watch over a mysterious prisoner who is kept in the abbey's dungeon. But their peaceful existence is shattered when Abbot Henry is poisoned. Summoned to Holyrood, Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal, finds the fortress in chaos. Brothers Anselm and Richard have been brutally slain by nails driven deep into their skulls. No one knows who could be behind the gruesome killings and the news attracts the attention of two unwanted guests: the sinister Marcher Lord Mortimer and King Philip of France's devious envoy De Craon. As more mysterious deaths occur, and a violent snow storm sweeps through the valley, Corbett must act quickly to identify the malevolent demon who has risen from hell to turn the abbey into a house of murder . . .Praise for Paul Doherty's dark and suspenseful novels:'His fascination for history comes off the page' Daily Express'An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite' Northern Echo'Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric' Historical Novels Review'Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history . . . evocative and lyrical descriptions' New Statesmen

Headline

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Annals of Ancient Rome

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Under a full moon, three warriors tell their tale of ghosts, mystery and death...The Annals of Ancient Rome features a new, exclusive short story from the master historian, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor. Includes tasters from Paul Doherty's other Roman titles including Murder Imperial, The Song of the Gladiator, The Queen of the Night and Murder's Immortal Mask.Under the full moon, a fire blazes to ward off the evil dead, and the spirits of four old warriors have come to tell their ghost story. It is a tale of battle, of death, and of Carinus the Thracian gladiator and his enemy, the Emperor Domitian, whose souls wander the streets of Rome... both for good and for evil.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'It's short, it's dark, it's gory''Five stars''Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment'

Headline

The Mysterium (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 17)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In Paul Doherty's brilliant new novel, will Hugh Corbett find the deadly assassin stalking London's streets?February 1304, and London is in crisis. A succession of brutal murders shocks the city as it comes to terms with the fall from power of Walter Evesham, Chief Justice in the Court of the King's Bench. Accused of bribery and corruption, Evesham has sought sanctuary to atone for his sins. When Evesham is discovered dead in his cell at the Abbey of Sion though, it appears that the Mysterium, a cunning killer brought to justice by Evesham, has returned to wreak havoc.Sir Hugh Corbett is ordered to investigate the murder. Has the Mysterium returned or is another killer imitating his brutal methods? As Corbett traces the ancient sins that hold the key to discovering the murderer's identity he must face his most cunning foe yet.

Headline

The Templar Magician (Templars, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In Paul Doherty's new novel, Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Hall of Two Truths, is once again summoned to the Imperial Palaceo: Tekreth, Guardian of the Door of Sobeck, has fallen to his death from the roof of his stately mansion. According to all evidence, it was an accident but Pharaoh Queen Hatusu is not convinced. Increasingly worried about reports of mysterious disappearances along the Sobeck Road, the imperial highway stretching south, she believes that Tekreth's death could be part of a far greater problem. Amerotke, aware of the reports from the Sobeck Road, has also heard rumours about the Shemai, a cult devoted to death, based along its borders. Before Amerotke can start to consider either of these matters though, a gruesome mass murder occurs at the Necropolis. The funeral party for revered scribe, Ptulimis, has been poisoned and Amerotke must immediately investigate the abomination. As Amerotke probes further, he suspects that all these events may be connected and that dangerous forces are at work in Pharaoh Hatusu's realm. Will Amerotke be able to uncover the truth before Egypt is overrun by its sinister and dangerous underworld?

Headline

Nightshade (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 16)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Templar (Templars, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

1095 and crusading fervour has swept Europe. Christ's fief of Jerusalem has been seized by the Infidels. The Frankish Knights of the West are to march east to liberate the Holy City. Hugh de Payens and Godefroi of St Omer, the soon-to-be founders of the Templar Order, and Hugh's younger sister, Eleanor, leave the security of their homes in Burgundy, France, with a plan to join Count Raymond of Toulouse's army, and march across the known world to Jerusalem. Follow the crusaders as they march through Europe into the glories of Byzantium and onto Syria and witness the hardships, bloodshed and trickery they encounter on their treacherous travels to the Holy Land.

Headline

The Year of the Cobra (Akhenaten Trilogy, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

The young Pharoah Tutankhamun is unwell, but there is no heir apparent. Egypt's enemies, the Hittites, are advancing through Canaan, and Ay - First Minister of Akenhaten, father of Nefertiti, brother of Queen Tiye - still plots, like the spider he is. The web is woven, the traps set...

Headline

The Season of the Hyaena (Akhenaten Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Mahu, former Chief of Police and Keeper of the Secrets of the Heart is sitting down to record his memories. He sees uneasy quiet reigning in the Royal Circle at Thebes, after the disappearance of the Pharaoh Akenhaten and the abandonment of his new, sun-worshipping religion. Members of different factions are barely held together by loyalty to the six-year-old Emperor, Tutankhamun. Then extraordinary news reaches the Council: Akenhaten has returned to Egypt.The words are greeted with dismay by all who hear them, for surely Akenhaten is dead? Mahu can certainly vouch that the woman claiming to be the Emperor's wife, Nefertiti, is a fraud. Whoever the man is who has appeared in the Delta, he must be investigated.

Headline

Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 13)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Treason of the Ghosts (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 12)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In the village of Melford, a local lord is executed for a spate of vicious murders. It's not until the killing begins again, and the dead lord's son alleges that a miscarriage of justice has taken place, that a serious investigation begins. Hugh Corbett realises that for the last five years a serial killer has terrorised the villagers and that when, not if, the next victim is chosen, he must be ready to act.

Headline

The Anubis Slayings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Hatusu, the remarkable young widow of Pharaoh Tuthmosis II, has forced Egyptian society to acknowledge her as Pharaoh, and her success in battle is spreading Egypt's glory well beyond its frontiers. In the Temple of Anubis, Hatusu and the defeated King Tushratta of Mitanni are negotiating a peace treaty that will seal her greatest victory. But then two hideous murders in the temple and the theft of the Glory of Anubis threaten the tentative truce, and the respected judge Amerotke must find the perpetrators.

Headline

Ghostly Murders (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

As Chaucer's pilgrims shelter in the ruins of a church, the poor Priest narrates his mysterious tale.Young Philip Trumpington, the new Scawsby parish priest, finds that the old church harbours shocking secrets. Years earlier, some Templars were massacred on the marshes, their attackers led by Romenal, a former Scawsby vicar. Philip discovers the old church is haunted by 'The Watchers' and the villagers are scarred by a terrible curse. An ancient evil must be resolved and reparation made. But the price will be great...

Headline

A Tournament of Murders (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Feature

An Ancient Evil (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

As the travellers gather in the Tabard Inn at the start of a pilgrimage to pray before the blessed bones of St Thomas à Becket in Canterbury, they agree eagerly to mine host Harry's suggestion of amusing themselves on each day of their journey with one tale and each evening with another - but the latter to be of mystery, terror and murder.The Knight begins that evening: his tale opens with the destruction of a sinister cult at its stronghold in the wilds of Oxfordshire by Sir Hugo Mortimer during the reign of William the Conqueror, and then moves to Oxford some two hundred years later where strange crimes and terrible murders are being committed. The authorities seem powerless but Lady Constance, Abbess of the Convent of St Anne's, believes the murders are connected with the legends of the cult and she petitions the King for help.As the murders continue unabated, special commissioner Sir Godfrey Evesden and royal clerk Alexander McBain uncover clues that lead to a macabre world sect, which worships the dark lord. But they can find no solution to a series of increasingly baffling questions and matters are not helped by the growing rift between Sir Godfrey and McBain for the hand and favour of the fair Lady Emily.

Headline

The Anger of God

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Nightingale Gallery

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In 1376, the famed Black Prince died of a terrible rotting sickness, closely followed by his father, King Edward III. The crown of England is left in the hands of a mere boy, the future Richard II, and the great nobles gather like hungry wolves round the empty throne. A terrible power struggle threatens the country, and one of London's powerful merchant princes is foully murdered within a few days of the old king's death. Coroner Sir John Cranston and Dominican monk Brother Athelstan are ordered to investigate. As others associated with Springall are found dead, Cranston and Athelstan are drawn ever deeper into a dark web of intrigue...