Related to: 'Arena: First Sword (Part Three of the Roman Arena Series)'

Author

Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's passion for writing began at an early age. After a childhood spent travelling the world he pursued his great love of history as a teacher, before becoming a full-time writer in 2005. Simon's Roman soldier heroes Cato and Macro first stormed the book shops in 2000, and Simon continues to create one new adult Roman novel each year. Simon has many other literary projects in hand including a young adult Roman series and THE SWORD AND THE SCIMITAR, an epic tale of the Siege of Malta in the sixteenth century. To find out more about Simon Scarrow and his novels, visit www.catoandmacro.com and www.scarrow.co.uk.

Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The Sunday Times bestsellerAD 54. Claudius is dead. Rome is in turmoil. And two brave heroes of the Roman army face the challenge of their lives. Simon Scarrow's DAY OF THE CAESARS is not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. 'A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy' The TimesThe Emperor Claudius is dead. Nero rules. His half-brother Britannicus has also laid claim to the throne. A bloody power struggle is underway. All Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro want is a simple army life, fighting with their brave and loyal men. But Cato has caught the eye of rival factions determined to get him on their side. To survive, Cato must play a cunning game, and enlist the help of the one man in the Empire he can trust: Macro.As the rebel force grows, legionaries and Praetorian Guards are moved like chess pieces by powerful and shadowy figures. A political game has created the ultimate military challenge. Can civil war be averted? The future of the Empire is in Cato's hands...IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

Headline

Invictus (Eagles of the Empire 15)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Wellington and Napoleon Quartet: Young Bloods, The Generals, Fire and Sword, Fields of Death

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's four classic novels based on the lives of the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon Bonaparte are published together in one superb-value ebook volume not to be missed by readers of Bernard Cornwell. Arthur, Duke of Wellington, and Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte were adversaries on an epic scale. Across Europe and beyond, the armies of Great Britain and France clashed, from the Iberian Peninsula to India, from Austerlitz to the final confrontation at Waterloo. What drove the two clever, ambitious, determined men who masterminded these military campaigns? How did the underdog from Corsica develop the strategic military skills and the political cunning that gave him power over swathes of Europe? And how did Wellington, born to be a leader, hone his talents and drive an army to victory after victory?From an outstanding historian and novelist come four epic novels, now available in one volume for the first time, which tell the full story of both these men, from their very early days till the momentous battle at Waterloo which decided the future of Europe.INCLUDES MAPS

Headline

Invader: Death Beach (1 in the Invader Novella Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Arena

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews

A Sunday Times bestseller, ARENA is a novel of Rome, gladiators and revenge from the author of CENTURION, THE GLADIATOR and PRAETORIAN.It is AD 41. The city of Rome is a dangerous place. Optio Macro of the Second Legion, recently decorated for courage on the battlefield, can't wait to leave the teeming city behind. He's dismayed when he's compelled to stay in Rome to train Marcus Valerius Pavo, a young gladiatorial recruit. Though fearless Pavo has fought for his life before, he's a novice in the arena. But he's a driven man, with a goal dearer than survival - to avenge his father's death at the hands of a champion gladiator. Will he live to face his nemesis?ARENA has previously been published as five separate ebook novellas. This print edition brings the complete series together.

Headline

Arena: Champion (Part Five of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews

The fifth and final instalment in Simon Scarrow's electrifying ARENA series sees gladiator Pavo face his most gruelling battle yet as strives to avenge his father's death.From the moment his father was executed in the arena for an act of treason, former military tribune and condemned gladiator Marcus Valerius Pavo has burned with the desire for revenge. Now all that stands between Pavo and victory is a man considered by many to be the greatest gladiator to have ever lived: Hermes. But even with Optio Macro as his trainer, and the help of the snakish imperial secretary, defeating Hermes appears an impossible task. With a conspiracy unfolding within the walls of the palace and a storm gathering over Rome, Pavo will have to call on everything he has learned under Macro if he is to his triumph over his father's killer - and become the champion of the arena...Simon Scarrow supports the Bansang Hospital Appeal - learn more at www.bansanghospitalappeal.org. He will be donating his earnings from the sale of this book to the Appeal.

Headline

Arena: Revenge (Part Four of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews

The opening day of the Games in Rome is a time for celebration in honour of the new Emperor. But for Marcus Valerius Pavo, a young military tribune fallen from grace, only despair awaits. Along with former mentor, Optio Macro, Pavo must fight for his life in a ferocious beast hunt. Battling against lions and bears, he'll have to use all his wits to survive, as well as the help of a hated former rival. But when Pavo achieves a stunning victory, his reward is to be condemned to death in a chaotic free-for-all. Now the young gladiator faces a race against time to triumph over the odds, save his son - and exact the ultimate revenge over the Emperor...Simon Scarrow supports the Bansang Hospital Appeal - learn more at www.bansanghospitalappeal.org. He will be donating his earnings from the sale of this book to the Appeal.

Headline

Arena: Challenger (Part Two of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Sword and Scimitar

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

SWORD AND SCIMITAR is the gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta from Simon Scarrow, bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris.1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign. As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Headline

Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Legion (Eagles of the Empire 10)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!THE LEGION is the action-packed tenth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.'Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best' IndependentEgypt, AD 49. Cato, one of the youngest Prefects of the Roman army, and Centurion Macro have a tough posting: to track down and destroy a gang of former gladiators who have turned to piracy. Driven by vengeance, these hardened brutes have been defiling temples, sinking Roman ships, and slaughtering men, women and children.What's worse is that they are doing it all under the name of Macro and Cato, in an attempt to stir up a rebellion against the occupying forces. And it's working. If Macro and Cato don't stop the pirates in time, it could be the beginning of the end for the Roman Empire...

Headline Review

The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Gladiator (Eagles of the Empire 9)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!THE GLADIATOR is the action-packed and compelling ninth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Praise for Simon Scarrow's historical novels: 'Gripping...ferocious and compelling' Daily ExpressAD 48. The friendship between Roman Centurions Cato and Macro is rock solid. Returning to Rome from a harrowing campaign, they are shipwrecked when an earthquake strikes the island of Crete. Struggling ashore they discover panic, devastation and a slave revolt. Led by a gladiator called Ajax, the slaves are driven by a bloodthirsty desire for revenge that renders them almost invincible.Taking control of the shaken men of the local garrison, Cato and Macro must save the province, before the rebellion can threaten the Empire itself...

Headline Review

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Eagle In The Sand (Eagles of the Empire 7)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

When the Eagle Hunts

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's brilliant adventure novels about the Roman army appear with stunning new covers.After a series of bloody battles, Camulodunum (modern-day Colchester) has fallen to the invading Roman army. The Emperor has returned to Rome, leaving the fearless Centurion Macro and his young Optio, Cato, to rest and regroup, along with the rest of the Second Legion. As their leader General Plautius plans the next phase of their campaign, word arrives that the ship carrying his family to join him was wrecked in a storm off the south coast. His wife and children have fallen into the hands of a dark sect of Druids, who now demand the return of those of their brotherhood taken prisoner by the Romans. Unless their demands are met within one month, Plautius's family will be burned alive. Will Cato and Macro discover where the Druids are hiding their hostages? And can they find some way to rescue them before time runs out?