Related to: 'Heart and Home'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool. In Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life's hardships. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker.In 1928 Bernie O'Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they're about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind to seek an exciting new life in Liverpool.They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool's worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant. Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world . . .

Headline

Love and a Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Far From Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews' storytelling gift shines through on every page of her Sunday Times bestseller FAR FROM HOME - the perfect read if you enjoy the novels of Kate Thompson and Dilly Court.As daughter of the blacksmith in her tiny Irish village, sixteen-year-old Kitty Doyle knows little of the ways of the world, but she has to grow up fast when her widowed father re-marries and she has no choice but to leave the family home. Luckily there's work to be found over the water in 1920s Liverpool and soon Kitty has a job in a grocer's, where she also catches the eye of the owner. With Kitty's input the business is soon thriving - but tragedy lies ahead, and she must endure many trials and tribulations before she can find true happiness...

Headline

Every Mother's Son

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Wing and a Prayer

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Queen's Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Days of Hope

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

From this Day Forth

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Sisters O'Donnell

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Ellan Vannin

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Lou

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Will she find the happiness she deserves? Lyn Andrews' Liverpool Lou is an engrossing Merseyside saga spanning two world wars, following a young woman as she sets out to make her own way in the world, despite her aunt's determination to control her. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Maureen Lee. Babsey has always worked hard to provide for her family; she runs a greengrocers publicly and a money-lending business in private. Babsey makes sure that her family doesn't mix with the rougher people in the neighbourhood - she considers herself a cut above the local community. When her niece Louisa needs a home - her mother is dead, and her father at sea - Babsey does her duty and brings the girl into the household.But Louisa doesn't quite fit in with Babsey's plans. Although life under Aunt Babsey's roof is comfortable, Louisa is acutely aware of the desperate poverty around her. And, as she grows up into a thoughtful young woman, the harsh realities of love and betrayal, war and death, make her determined to find her own way.Louisa will eventually be made famous throughout her city - known for ever as Liverpool Lou. And she might just find love along the way... What readers are saying about Liverpool Lou: 'Brilliant story... Could not put it down. Had me in tears''Just what you would expect from Lyn Andrews. Full of lifelike characters and good background knowledge. Really enjoyed it''One of the best books I've read'

Headline

Mersey Blues

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

For three friends, life after the Great War will never be the same again... Mersey Blues is a heart-rending portrayal of Liverpool in the years between the wars - of the rebuilding of the city, and the people's dreams of peace, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry. Mersey Blues is the sequel to Lyn Andrews' much-loved wartime saga, Mist Over The Mersey.The Great War had ended and Scotland Road was left to count the cost. Many young men had not come back; those who had would never be the same again. Dee Chatterton and Abbie Kerrigan had seen the horrors of war for themselves as nurses in military hospitals abroad. While Abbie settled down in the familiar surroundings of Scotland Road, for others, different horizons beckoned. Dee went to live in Canada, while their friend Hannah Harvey became personal nurse to none other than Richard, seventh Earl of Ashenden, badly injured in the war. Moving to the splendours of Ashenden Hall was to bring her unimagined happiness, but also the heartache of being separated for ever from her family and friends. What readers are saying about Mersey Blues: 'Very good read, just could not wait to read it. Brilliant writer''I enjoyed the story so much I immediately bought another Lyn Andrews. Somehow I just flew through the pages, which I think shows that the pace keeps you turning the pages''Five stars'

Headline

Mist Over The Mersey

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Secret in the Family

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

A captivating new novel from the bestselling author of A DAUGHTER'S JOURNEY and DAYS OF HOPE - 'An outstanding storyteller' Woman's WeeklyWhen best friends Dee Campbell and Jean Williams leave school in 1959, it feels like every opportunity awaits them. Their families haven't long moved from a rundown part of the city to leafy Kirkby when Jean's father wins the Irish sweepstake and soon Jean's set up her own hairdressing salon, while both girls have fallen for good-looking lads with prospects. It's hard to imagine being any happier. But Dee's father is about to discover a disturbing truth about her fiancé. With one revelation, the Campbells are torn apart. As Dee flees to Ireland, Jean marries Tony, blissfully unaware that she's not the only pretty girl to catch his eye... Tumultuous years lie ahead. But true friendship lasts a lifetime - and Dee and Jean will learn that the people who love you will always be there when you need them most.

Headline

Maggie May

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews' touching Liverpool saga MAGGIE MAY is not to be missed by readers of Kitty Neale and Kate Thompson.Maggie May, born into the slums of Liverpool in the 1880s, had many difficulties to cope with - a drunken father, the early death of her gentle mother, and the grinding poverty of their lives. But most of all, she had to endure the shame of her name - that of the city's most notorious prostitute. Taking care of her younger brother and desperately trying to live down her name, Maggie manages to escape from Liverpool to enjoy an idyllic new life. But fate forces her back again and into the arms of a stranger who is to bring her both heartbreak and the greatest happiness she will ever know.

Headline

A Mother's Love

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Bestselling author Lyn Andrews' touching Liverpool saga A MOTHER'S LOVE is perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Kate Thompson. Eve and Eddie Dobson have been running the George pub in Liverpool for over twenty years. Now, though, the Depression is taking hold and, with money in short supply, it's galling for Eve that the barmaid they can barely afford spends the day making eyes at Eddie rather than pulling her weight behind the bar. At least her three daughters have never been a worry to Eve. Lily's dreams of going on the stage haven't led her into trouble, so far. Sarah seems content to slog away as a waitress, while Maggie's gently directing her devoted boyfriend to the altar. But when Eddie's flirtation with the hired help takes an unexpected turn, everything changes, leaving none of Eve's family untouched... and calling on all the strength of a mother's love.

Headline

When Daylight Comes

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Angels of Mercy

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Lamplight

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Songbird

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews