Related to: 'Prashad At Home'

Tinder Press

Letters From The Suitcase

Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Authors:
Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan

LETTERS FROM THE SUITCASE reveals the vivid, poignant and hugely detailed wartime correspondence between David and Mary Francis from 1938 to 1943, and a unique love story, sure to appeal to readers of Roald Dahl's LOVE FROM BOY, Sheila Hancock's MISS CARTER'S WAR or Helen Simonson's MAJOR PETTIGREW'S LAST STAND 'I still have that recurring fear of something happening to me before I see you again, and before I can tell you myself just how much and how often I've realised during the last few months that I love you completely and to the exclusion of all others. Remember that, because if there wasn't you, my darling Mary, the world would seem very empty and meaningless.'Mary was only 21 when she met and fell in love with the privately educated 19 year old David in 1938. Their affair was passionate, and in a swing of disgust at their class divide, and the growing rise of fascism and the Nazi party in Europe, they joined the Communist Party. These letters reveal their intelligence and thoughtfulness, details of their lives working as a secretary at Bletchley Park and as a young officer in action on the other side of the world, their marriage against the wishes of David's parents, their sexual desire and longing, and Mary's experience of bringing up a small baby alone. David was to die in India, five years after their meeting, though his letters continued to reach Mary long after the event. At the heart, this is the story of a short but rich, rewarding and colourful love, written with vivacity and honesty. It is also the story of a father that Rosheen Finnigan never knew, and a fascinating social history, utterly unique in the telling.

Headline Review

The Himalayan Summer

Louise Brown
Authors:
Louise Brown
Headline Review

Eden Gardens

Louise Brown
Authors:
Louise Brown
Headline Home

Honey & Co: The Baking Book

Itamar Srulovich, Sarit Packer
Authors:
Itamar Srulovich, Sarit Packer
Headline Home

Five Quarters

Rachel Roddy
Authors:
Rachel Roddy
Headline

The Urban Rajah's Curry Memoirs

Ivor Peters
Authors:
Ivor Peters

Curry has become an integral part of our staple diet but few of us are aware of what 'authentic' means when it comes to Britain's favourite food - how it is cooked and what makes it so sublime. Instead we have been patronised with dumbed-down versions of wonderfully spiced dishes through the provision of gooey mixtures that slime their way out of jars. 'No more!' cries self-proclaimed Urban Rajah Ivor Peters. The search for homemade, straightforward fragrant food ends here.Packed full of inspiring stories and generations-old recipes, this book opens the door into a world of family cooking that will teach us how to cook delicious curry in our own homes. So put down that jar of low-fat chicken tikka masala, rip up your takeaway menu and let Ivor lead you through a journey of spice that will leave you revelling in colour, yearning for the delicate smells of cardamom and cinnamon and desperate to tear a chapatti to shreds and plunge it into a curry feast of your own making.

Headline Home

Prashad Cookbook

Kaushy Patel
Authors:
Kaushy Patel

Alex Rutherford

Alex Rutherford lives in London.

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Itamar Srulovich

Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer are a husband-and-wife team who together run Honey & Co in London's Fitzrovia. They first met twelve years ago in a restaurant kitchen in Israel and arrived in London dreaming of high gastronomy and Michelin stars. Their tiny restaurant has ten tables and brings the magic of homely Middle Eastern soul food to a hungry crowd. They have since opened Honey & Spice and Honey & Smoke and published two cookbooks. Follow on Twitter: @Honeyandco

Ivor Peters

Ivor Peters has spent the past two decades working in the media industry, publishing, PR, advertising, latterly as the Creative Director for a film/video production company. However, his zealous 5-9 career is spent running his pop up restaurant, Cash 'n' Curry, raising funds for projects helping India's street children, and populating his blog www.urbanrajah.com with recipes and stories about food, travel, life and style finds.

Kaushy Patel

Kaushy learned to cook as a child on her grandmother's farm in northern India, coming to live in the UK in the 1960s. The success of the deli in Bradford she ran for 22 years with her husband led to the opening of Prashad, the restaurant, serving authentic Gujarati cuisine. Award-winning Prashad has now become a destination for food-lovers and fans of vegetarian cooking. Last year saw the launch of a new venture: Bundobust, in Leeds, championing traditional Indian streetfood dishes with craft beers.Kaushy's skills both as a professional chef and as a home cook, and her wide knowledge and enthusiasm will inspire you to get into the kitchen and get out your spice jars. www.prashad.co.ukFollow Prashad on Twitter: @Prashad_veggie

Lavanya Sankaran

Lavanya Sankaran is the author of THE RED CARPET, the acclaimed debut collection selected for Poets & Writers Magazine's Best First Fiction award as well as the Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers award. Her work has been featured in the Atlantic Monthly and the Wall Street Journal among others, including publications in India and Europe. She studied at Bryn Mawr College and lives in Bangalore with her husband and daughter. THE HOPE FACTORY is her first novel.

Linda Holeman

Linda Holeman is the author of the internationally bestselling historical novels The Linnet Bird, The Moonlit Cage, In a Far Country, and The Saffron Gate, as well as a number of other works of fiction and short fiction. The Moonlit Cage was chosen by Amnesty International UK as one of their 'ten great books on human rights'. Her novels have been translated into eighteen languages. A world traveller, she grew up and was educated in Winnipeg. She currently lives in Toronto.

Louise Brown

Louise Brown has lived in Nepal and travelled extensively in India, sparking her enduring love of South Asia. She was a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Asian Studies at the University of Birmingham, where she worked for nearly twenty years. In research for her critically acclaimed non-fiction books she's witnessed revolutions and even stayed in a Lahore brothel with a family of traditional courtesans. Louise has three grown-up children and lives in Birmingham.

Rachel Roddy

Rachel Roddy writes a weekly award-winning column in Guardian Cook. Rachel's first book Five Quarters won the André Simon Food Book award in 2015, as well as the Guild of Food Writers' First Book award. Rachel has lived in Testaccio, a distinctive working-class quarter of Rome, for over twelve years. She shares a small flat near the food market with her partner Vincenzo and son Luca and spends part of the year in Vincenzo's family house in Gela, south-east Sicily. racheleats.wordpress.com Follow Rachel on Twitter @racheleats Follow Rachel on Instagram @rachelaliceroddy

Roopa Farooki

Roopa Farooki was born in Lahore in Pakistan and brought up in London. She graduated from New College, Oxford and worked in advertising before turning to write fiction. Roopa now lives in south-east England and south-west France with her husband, twin girls and two sons. Bitter Sweets, her first novel, was nominated for the Orange Award for New Writers 2007. Roopa's novels have been published internationally and translated into a dozen languages.

Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently DAY OF THE CAESARS, INVICTUS, BRITANNIA and BROTHERS IN BLOOD, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the novels ARENA and INVADER.Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

Sue Lawrence

Sue Lawrence won Masterchef in 1991 and was the President of the Guild of Food Writers from 2004 to 2007. She wrote a regular column for Scotland on Sunday and Scotland magazine and was also the Sunday Times food columnist. She has written for Sainsbury's magazine, Woman & Home, Country Living and BBC Good Food magazine and appears regularly on radio and television talking about Scottish food and traditions. She won the Regional Writer Glenfiddich Food and Drink Award in 2003 for her work in Scotland on Sunday and is the author of SUE LAWRENCE'S SCOTTISH KITCHEN, BOOK OF BAKING and the award-winning SCOTS COOKING.Sue Lawrence lives in Edinburgh with her husband and three children.

Suketu Mehta

Suketu Mehta is a fiction writer and journalist based in New York. He has won the Whiting Writers Award, the O.Henry Prize, and a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship for his fiction. His work has been published in the New York Times Magazine, Granta, Harper's Magazine, Time and Conde Nast Traveler. Mehta also co-wrote Mission Kashmir, a Bollywood movie.