Related to: 'A Pattern of Blood (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain and book 2)'

Headline

The Germanicus Mosaic (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 1)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

Murder in the Forum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 3)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Chariots of Calyx (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 4)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Legatus Mystery (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 5)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Ghosts of Glevum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 6)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Roman Britain is brought vividly to life in this gripping mystery...An opulent evening banquet turns deadly in The Ghost of Glevum, the sixth historical thriller from Rosemary Rowe's gripping Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.'Rosemary Rowe does paint an incredible picture of life for the really poor in Roman times - Mystery Woman Despite the opulence of the evening's banquet, Libertus is keen to return to his wife and a warm bed. But this feast has a finale to put any diner off his dessert - the guest of honour is found dead in the vomitorium. To Libertus's horror, his patron Marcus Septimus is arrested on suspicion of murder. Then when Libertus is accused of being Marcus's accomplice, he is forced to go on the run. Hiding in a dark corner of the city, he quickly realises he's an unwelcome visitor to those who haunt the shadows. Soon Libertus is in danger, and this time there's no one to help...What readers are saying about The Ghosts of Glevum:'Rowe managed to combine real research with a cracking good tale''Found this depiction of the underclass in Romano-British society particularly interesting''Excellently written'

Headline

Enemies of the Empire (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 7)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 9)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Libertus is in a race against time to solve his latest mystery...Rosemary Rowe's clever whodunits continue to delight fans of historical crime, with Libertus and Junio proving a formidable and popular detective team in the ninth novel of the Libertus series, A Coin for the Ferryman. Perfect for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis. 'A cracking tale with a fast-moving plot' - Conn Iggulden In Roman Britain, AD 189, every slave knows his lot in life depends solely on the morals - or lack of morals - of his master. Fortunately for one young Glevum slave, Junio, his owner, former slave turned pavement-maker Libertus, believes heartily in rewarding years of loyalty and service. Junio is to be granted his freedom in an elaborate ceremony at the Basilica Law Court. And what better moment than the manumission to announce the lad's engagement? But the young couple's happiness is threatened by a terrible omen: the gruesome discovery of a corpse, hastily concealed in a shallow grave. Who is it? And, more importantly, who will go to any lengths to cover up their heinous crime? Determined to solve the mystery before the impending nuptials, Junio joins his mentor Libertus in trying to piece together a truly masterful mosaic of murder...What readers are saying about A Coin for the Ferryman:'A very intriguing murder mystery of a great series''Rosemary Rowe is to be commended for writing a series which manages to be entertaining and lively whilst drip feeding information about the period directly into the subconscious''The red herrings are very well contrived and as usual, the information about Romano-British life is a fascination in itself'

Amanda Reynolds

Amanda Reynolds lives in the Cotswolds with her family where she writes full-time. Her debut novel, Close To Me, is a #1 e-book bestseller. Lying To You is her second book.

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling was born and grew up in Indiana, where he was briefly employed as an ornithologist, a job that inspired his first book, SNAPPER. Before settling in the UK, he lived and worked in Prague, and drew on extensive experience teaching English in bars to create the character of Elliott in GOULASH. He now lives and works in Bath.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

David Churchill

David Churchill is the pseudonym of an award-winning journalist, who has conducted several hundred in-depth interviews with senior politicians, billionaire entrepreneurs, Olympic athletes, movie stars, supermodels and rock legends. He has investigated financial scandals on Wall Street, studio intrigues in Hollywood and corrupt sports stars in Britain, and lived in Moscow, Washington DC and Havana. He has edited four magazines, published seventeen books and been translated into some twenty languages. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy reflects his lifelong passion for history and his fascination for the extraordinary men and women of the past who shaped the world we live in today.

David Gibbins

David Gibbins is the author of twelve novels that have sold over three million copies in thirty languages. He has been on both the New York Times and the Sunday Times top ten bestseller lists, and he has been a Newsweek number one bestseller in Poland. As well as nine novels in his Jack Howard series of archaeological thrillers, he has written two novels set in the world of ancient Rome. David has a PhD in archaeology from Cambridge University, is a passionate diver and derives much of the inspiration for his novels from the many expeditions he has led around the world to investigate ancient shipwrecks and other archaeological sites. His awards have included a Fellowship and Medallion from the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. For his latest discoveries and more about David and his novels, visit www.davidgibbins.com and www.facebook.com/DavidGibbinsAuthor.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Emma Cooper

Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. She spends her spare time writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day.Emma has always wanted to be a writer - ever since childhood, she's been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend 'Boot') and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the No. 1 bestselling author of twelve novels including Letters to my Daughters, The Wedding Promise and The Perfect Gift. Her bestselling memoir, Talk to the Headscarf, was updated and revised as All To Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. and was also a top ten bestseller.

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Karen Rose

Karen Rose was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe's The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep. Karen lives in Florida with her family, their cat, Bella, and two dogs, Loki and Freya. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, and her new hobby - knitting.

Katherine Clements

Katherine Clements is a critically acclaimed novelist, self-confessed costume drama addict and current Royal Literary Fund Fellow at the University of Manchester. She is editor of Historia, the online magazine of the Historical Writers' Association, and is a member of the HWA committee. @KL_Clements