Related to: 'Murder in the Forum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain and book 3)'

Headline

The Germanicus Mosaic (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 1)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

A deadly puzzle from the days of the Roman Empire...Rosemary Rowe introduces Libertus and Marcus Septimus, in The Germanicus Mosaic, the first fantastic mystery thriller of the highly acclaimed Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of Stephen Saylor and Lindsey Davis. 'Demonstrates Rowe's pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre... a considerable achievement' - The Times It is AD 186, and Britain is the northernmost province of the hugely successful Roman Empire. In Glevum (modern Gloucester), Libertus, a freedman and pavement-maker, lives under the patronage of Marcus Septimus. When a body is found in the furnace room of a nearby villa, and identified as that of Crassus Germanicus, a retired centurion, Marcus asks for Libertus's help. A slave is missing and the solution to the mystery seems obvious. But Libertus soon discovers that Germanicus has many enemies, and he must use his mosaicist's skill to put together the pieces of a most deadly puzzle.What readers are saying about The Germanicus Mosaic:'Has it all: good storyline, interesting characters, historical perspective and a mystery that keeps you guessing all the way through''A very likeable and believable hero and cast of characters and some neat plot twists''A great introduction to a new detective, with atmospheric settings and an interesting take of Britain under the Romans'

Headline

A Pattern of Blood (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 2)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Britain is under Roman rule and a killer is at large... A Pattern of Blood, the second novel in Rosemary Rowe's highly acclaimed Libertus series, investigates multiple murders. Libertus must solve the mystery before the killer strikes again. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis. 'Demonstrates Rowe's pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre... A considerable achievement' - The Times Pavement-maker Libertus, a former slave who is now a Roman citizen, is not entirely surprised to witness a stabbing near the chariot race ground in bustling Corinium (modern Cirencester). Luckily the victim, the wealthy decurion Quintus Ulpius, has a personal physician on hand and tragedy is averted. Commanded by his patron Marcus Septimus to investigate the attack, Libertus arrives at Quintus's mansion only moments before the decurion is knifed again, this time fatally. When one of Quintus's enemies is found with bloodstains on his toga, for Marcus the case is closed. But Libertus is not at all convinced the solution is that simple. When a second body is found, he knows he must act fast before other lives are threatened - including his own.What readers are saying about A Pattern of Blood:'Enjoyed the humour, great puzzle and evocative details of Romano-British life''Well researched and the storytelling is excellent''Another fine piece of work and an entertaining journey with Libertus'

Headline

The Chariots of Calyx (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 4)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Legatus Mystery (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 5)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Ghosts of Glevum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 6)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

Enemies of the Empire (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 7)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Libertus and Septimus come face to face with the criminal underworld of Roman Britain... Curiosity leads amateur sleuth Libertus into the dangerous world of fearless criminals in Enemies of the Empire, the seventh novel of Rosemary Rowe's Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.'Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue' - Historical Novels Review It's AD 188, and the wild, forested outskirts of the Empire is the last place Libertus, freedman and pavement-maker, wants to visit. But he'd rather face a wolf or bear than an angry patron, so he agrees to accompany Marcus Septimus to the garrison town of Isca (now Caerleon in South Wales). Pausing at Venta, the two men realise they've stepped into a simmering cauldron of social unrest, where the Silures tribe, loyal to former chief Caractacus, seethes under Roman occupation. When Libertus spots a familiar figure, who seems desperate not to be recognised, curiosity gets the better of him. But his pursuit leads him down a dangerous path and into a murky world of racketeering, treason and murder...What readers are saying about Enemies of the Empire:'Another first class Libertus yarn''She [Rowe] has managed to get so firmly into the mentality of this long ago period with such a vivid sense of humanity despite all the cultural differences''Fascinating details of Romano-British life and an intriguing mystery, tied firmly to its times'

Headline

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 9)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Amanda Reynolds

Amanda Reynolds lives in the Cotswolds with her family where she writes full-time. Her debut novel, Close To Me, is a #1 e-book bestseller. Lying To You is her second book.

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling was born and grew up in Indiana, where he was briefly employed as an ornithologist, a job that inspired his first book, SNAPPER. Before settling in the UK, he lived and worked in Prague, and drew on extensive experience teaching English in bars to create the character of Elliott in GOULASH. He now lives and works in Bath.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

David Churchill

David Churchill is the pseudonym of an award-winning journalist, who has conducted several hundred in-depth interviews with senior politicians, billionaire entrepreneurs, Olympic athletes, movie stars, supermodels and rock legends. He has investigated financial scandals on Wall Street, studio intrigues in Hollywood and corrupt sports stars in Britain, and lived in Moscow, Washington DC and Havana. He has edited four magazines, published seventeen books and been translated into some twenty languages. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy reflects his lifelong passion for history and his fascination for the extraordinary men and women of the past who shaped the world we live in today.

David Gibbins

David Gibbins is the author of twelve novels that have sold over three million copies in thirty languages. He has been on both the New York Times and the Sunday Times top ten bestseller lists, and he has been a Newsweek number one bestseller in Poland. As well as nine novels in his Jack Howard series of archaeological thrillers, he has written two novels set in the world of ancient Rome. David has a PhD in archaeology from Cambridge University, is a passionate diver and derives much of the inspiration for his novels from the many expeditions he has led around the world to investigate ancient shipwrecks and other archaeological sites. His awards have included a Fellowship and Medallion from the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. For his latest discoveries and more about David and his novels, visit www.davidgibbins.com and www.facebook.com/DavidGibbinsAuthor.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Emma Cooper

Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. She spends her spare time writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day.Emma has always wanted to be a writer - ever since childhood, she's been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend 'Boot') and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the No. 1 bestselling author of twelve novels including Letters to my Daughters, The Wedding Promise and The Perfect Gift. Her bestselling memoir, Talk to the Headscarf, was updated and revised as All To Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. and was also a top ten bestseller.

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Karen Rose

Karen Rose was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe's The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep. Karen lives in Florida with her family, their cat, Bella, and two dogs, Loki and Freya. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, and her new hobby - knitting.

Katherine Clements

Katherine Clements is a critically acclaimed novelist, self-confessed costume drama addict and current Royal Literary Fund Fellow at the University of Manchester. She is editor of Historia, the online magazine of the Historical Writers' Association, and is a member of the HWA committee. @KL_Clements