Related to: 'A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain and book 9)'

Headline

The Germanicus Mosaic (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 1)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Pattern of Blood (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 2)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Britain is under Roman rule and a killer is at large... A Pattern of Blood, the second novel in Rosemary Rowe's highly acclaimed Libertus series, investigates multiple murders. Libertus must solve the mystery before the killer strikes again. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis. 'Demonstrates Rowe's pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre... A considerable achievement' - The Times Pavement-maker Libertus, a former slave who is now a Roman citizen, is not entirely surprised to witness a stabbing near the chariot race ground in bustling Corinium (modern Cirencester). Luckily the victim, the wealthy decurion Quintus Ulpius, has a personal physician on hand and tragedy is averted. Commanded by his patron Marcus Septimus to investigate the attack, Libertus arrives at Quintus's mansion only moments before the decurion is knifed again, this time fatally. When one of Quintus's enemies is found with bloodstains on his toga, for Marcus the case is closed. But Libertus is not at all convinced the solution is that simple. When a second body is found, he knows he must act fast before other lives are threatened - including his own.What readers are saying about A Pattern of Blood:'Enjoyed the humour, great puzzle and evocative details of Romano-British life''Well researched and the storytelling is excellent''Another fine piece of work and an entertaining journey with Libertus'

Headline

Murder in the Forum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 3)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

A Roman Emperor lies dead and a mystery is to be solved...As Libertus investigates a seemingly accidental death, sinister details begin to unravel. Murder in the Forum is the third historical crime thriller in Rosemary Rowe's gripping crime series, in the vein of Lindsey Davis but against a British background. 'Libertus himself is a highly diverting character, the story moves briskly along at chariot pace and there are many diversions along the highways and byways of Roman and Celtic life' - Northern Echo When Perennis Felix, favourite of the Roman Emperor and would-be enemy of all, heralds his arrival in Glevum (modern Gloucester) with the arbitrary execution of a slave, there are few who dare to question his actions. Indeed, a feast in his honour is universally approved in the cause of self-preservation. Libertus, freedman and pavement-maker, and his patron, Marcus Septimus, are among the reluctant citizens at the celebration. But the festivities come to an end when Felix appears to choke on a nut and dies in front of a stunned gathering. But Libertus suspects that behind Felix's apparently accidental death lies a much more sinister explanation...What readers are saying about Murder in the Forum:'This series just keeps getting better''Best Libertus yet''Fascinating take on Romano-British life as captivating as ever'

Headline

The Chariots of Calyx (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 4)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

The Legatus Mystery (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 5)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

A deadly puzzle from the days of the Roman Empire... Libertus must uncover the sinister truth after a murdered body goes missing in The Legatus Mystery, the fifth thriller in Rosemary Rowe's gripping crime series. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Lindsey Davis.'Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages' - Coventry Evening Telegraph The murdered body of a visiting ambassador from Rome is discovered in the temple of the Imperial cult and once again freedman and pavement-maker Libertus is called upon to investigate. Events take a bizarre and chilling turn when the body disappears, and then unearthly wails are heard coming from the temple and mysterious bloodstains start to appear from nowhere. But Libertus is sure there is a more human explanation for the murder and he is to uncover still more unsettling events before the truth is finally revealed...What readers are saying about The Legatus Mystery:'The pace of the series continues to build' 'A cracking mystery laced with fascinating details of Roman life, and believable characters''The best Roman series currently around just got better...'

Headline

The Ghosts of Glevum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 6)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

Enemies of the Empire (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 7)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

A thrilling glimpse of life in Roman Britain...A bedbound Libertus is faced with one of his toughest dilemmas yet, involving a dangerous ransom note. A Roman Ransom is the perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.'It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase' - Northern Echo Glevum, AD 188. Lying in his sick bed, weak and disoriented, Libertus is strictly forbidden visitors. But when Marcus Septimus forces his way in, desperate to speak to the pavement-maker, Libertus knows that something is seriously wrong. Marcus's beloved wife Julia and their baby son have disappeared without a trace. And now a ransom note has arrived, wrapped in the hem of Julia's stola: unless Marcus uses his power to release a certain political prisoner, he will never see his family alive again. Libertus is well aware of Marcus's dilemma: give in to the kidnappers and sacrifice his reputation for being fair and unmoved by bribery, or stand firm and provoke unimaginable consequences. But Libertus has also made a powerful enemy. How can he help his patron - and himself - this time?What readers are saying about A Roman Ransom:'Rowe captures a genuine atmosphere in a way unequalled by almost any other author of the Roman period''Another fine addition to the Libertus series''Rosemary Rowe is unsurpassed in creating a picture of Roman Britain'

Amanda Reynolds

Amanda Reynolds lives in the Cotswolds with her family where she writes full-time. Her debut novel, Close To Me, is a #1 e-book bestseller. Lying To You is her second book.

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling was born and grew up in Indiana, where he was briefly employed as an ornithologist, a job that inspired his first book, SNAPPER. Before settling in the UK, he lived and worked in Prague, and drew on extensive experience teaching English in bars to create the character of Elliott in GOULASH. He now lives and works in Bath.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Emma Cooper

Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. She spends her spare time writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day.Emma has always wanted to be a writer - ever since childhood, she's been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend 'Boot') and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations.

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Karen Rose

Karen Rose was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe's The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep. Karen lives in Florida with her family, their cat, Bella, and two dogs, Loki and Freya. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, and her new hobby - knitting.

Laurie Frankel

Laurie Frankel writes novels (reads novels, teaches other people to write novels, raises a small person who reads and might someday write novels) in Seattle, Washington. She and her husband and daughter live on a nearly vertical hill from which Laurie can watch three different bridges when she's staring out her windows between words. Laurie's earlier novels are The Atlas of Love and Goodbye For Now. This Is How It Always Is is her third novel.

Leo Carew

Leo Carew is a Cambridge graduate of Biological Anthropology, currently studying medicine at Barts and the London Medical School. Apart from writing, his real passion is exploration, which led him to spend a year living in a tent in the High Arctic, where he trained and worked as an Arctic guide. The Spider, the second book in his Under the Northern Sky trilogy, publishes in spring 2019.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including AMERICAN GODS, STARDUST, CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. His most recent novel for adults, THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE was highly acclaimed, appeared on the hardback and paperback Sunday Times bestseller lists and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013: 'Some books you read. Some books you enjoy. But some books just swallow you up, heart and soul' Joanne Harris. The recipient of numerous literary honours, Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, worked with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and THE SANDMAN is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'Originally from England, Neil Gaiman now lives in America.

Paul Fraser Collard

Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zulu whilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.