Related to: 'The Image of You'

Author

Adele Parks

Adele Parks worked in advertising until she published her first novel, PLAYING AWAY, in 2000, which was the debut bestseller of that year. All of Adele's novels have been top ten bestsellers and her work has been translated into twenty-five different languages. Adele has spent her adult life in Italy, Botswana and London until 2005 when she moved to Guildford, where she now lives with her husband and son. Adele believes reading is a basic human right, so she works closely with the Reading Agency as an Ambassador of the Six Book Challenge, a programme designed to encourage adult literacy. In 2011 she was a judge for the Costa Book Awards.

Headline Review

The Stranger In My Home: I thought she was my daughter. I was wrong.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

The Number One eBook BestsellerWhat would YOU do if your child wasn't yours?Utterly compelling, Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks's new contemporary novel The Stranger In My Home, is sure to move, grip and delight her fans, along with readers of Liane Moriarty, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena. Alison is lucky and she knows it. She has the life she always craved, including a happy home with Jeff and their brilliant, vivacious teenage daughter, Katherine - the absolute centre of Alison's world.Then a knock at the door ends life as they know it.Fifteen years ago, someone else took Alison's baby from the hospital. And now Alison is facing the unthinkable.The daughter she brought home doesn't belong to her.When you have everything you dreamed of, there is everything to lose.

Headline Review

Love Is A Journey: A Short Story Collection

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Love Is Complicated: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

New Beginnings: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

If You Go Away

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Glamorous debutantes, heartbreak and discovering just what is worth fighting for in the new historical novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks.1914. Vivian, a young, impassioned debutante is hurried into a pedestrian marriage to cover a scandal. War breaks out on her wedding day - domestically and across Europe. Quick to escape the disappointment of matrimony, her traditionalist husband immediately enlists and Vivian has no alternative than to take up the management and running of his estate - after all, everyone is required to do their bit. Even pretty, inadequately-educated young wives.Howard, a brilliant young playwright rushes to the front to see for himself the best and the worst of humanity; he cannot imagine what the horror might be. In March 1916, when conscription becomes law, it is no longer enough for him to report on the War, it's a legal requirement that he joins the ranks. Howard refuses, becoming one of the most notorious conscientious objectors of the time. Disarmingly handsome, famous, articulate and informed, he's a threat to the government. Narrowly escaping a death sentence by agreeing to take essential work on Vivian's farm, it's only then Howard understands what is worth fighting for.

Headline Review

Happy Endings: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Finding The One: A Selection Of Short Stories

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Adele Parks, the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE STATE WE'RE IN and WHATEVER IT TAKES, draws together some of her most popular short stories in a collection that will delight existing and new fans alike, and appeal to readers of Lisa Jewell and Jojo Moyes.When it comes to falling in love and finding the elusive 'one', Adele Parks, with her trademark, up-front, tell-it-as-it-is style, gets right to the heart of the dilemmas real women - and men - face in their lives.FINDING THE ONE is the first of four deliciously insightful e-short story collections about the changing face of love - and sometimes finding it in the most unexpected of places.***Includes a preview of Adele's emotional, passionate and sweeping historical novel IF YOU GO AWAY.***

Headline Review

Spare Brides

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

As featured on Radio 2 Summer reads.The 1920s: a time of hope, promise - and parties. But not all the men came home, after The War.Meet the spare brides.Young, gorgeous - and unexpectedly alone.Ava relishes the freedom of being single.Sarah fears no one can replace her hero husband.Beatrice finds it hard to shine, next to her dazzling friends.And Lydia is married, rich, privileged: so isn't she one of the lucky ones?Then a chance encounter changes everything.Angry, damaged and dangerously attractive, Edgar Trent is an irresistable temptation.And the old rules no longer apply...

Headline Review

The State We're In

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way...The No. 1 ebook bestseller, The State We're In, is the stunning, emotionally powerful novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks, author of The Stranger In My Home. The perfect read for fans of Jane Green and Sheila O'Flanagan. Jo is a hopeless romantic. Worried she let her soulmate slip away, she's chasing her past all the way to Chicago to break up her ex-fiancé's wedding.Dean is a resolute cynic. After a brief (but not brief enough) trip to London, he's returning to Chicago, where he moved to escape his dysfunctional past.In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn't even realise they needed.But it's only when they get off the plane that their true journey begins...What readers are saying about The State We're In:'This book is full of surprises and twists that keep you guessing until the end. It is one of those books that I was absolutely devastated to have finished' 'You will laugh, you may cry, but on the whole it is an extremely heart-warming tale that delivers a generous dose of optimism'

Headline Review

Whatever It Takes

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

The Other Woman's Shoes

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

SEXY AND COMFORTABLE... CAN YOU REALLY HAVE BOTH?The Other Woman's Shoes is a gripping novel of two very different sisters from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home, which asks: is there such a thing as a perfect life or the perfect love?The Evergreen sisters have always been opposites.Martha is married and has the perfect home and family. Eliza rents a drab one-bedroom flat, which she shares with her sexy but hapless boyfriend.Until, one day, Eliza walks out on him, the very same day that Martha's husband walks out on her. Suddenly the Evergreen sisters are united by separation.Eliza is free to pursue the relationship she's always wanted; one that offers stability and security. Martha falls into a relationship that she could never have imagined; it's crazy and carefree.Can they find happiness dashing down these new paths? Or does chasing love only get more complicated when you're running in another woman's shoes?Features a preview of Adele's stunning, emotionally powerful contemporary novel, The State We're In and her sweeping, romantic historical, Spare Brides.What readers are saying about The Other Woman's Shoes:'All about finding happiness that sets the characters free, releasing the sexy, fun and loving women they really are. Superb!''A fantastic, very well written and very refreshing book - certainly worth your while!'

Headline Review

Happy Families

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Lisa is forty-two, divorced and a mum of three. For the past year, she has been going out with Mark, who is five years younger than her. Lisa really likes him but she worries that one day he will leave - just like her ex-husband did. On top of everything else, Lisa feels really tired and moody, and has put on weight. She thinks it's the menopause - but could there be another reason for how she's feeling? Lisa's life is about to change in a big way but does she want Mark by her side? Does he even want to be there? With the help of her family and friends, Lisa starts to believe that a second chance of love and happiness might just be possible...

Headline Review

Playing Away

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Game Over

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Larger than Life

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Still Thinking of You

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

IS HONESTY ALWAYS THE BEST POLICY?Still Thinking Of You is an unputdownable novel of the ties of old friendships, the passion of new love and whether honesty is always the best policy, from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home.Tash and Rich are wild about each other; wrapped up in their fairy-tale love and excited for the future, they plan an elopement in the French Alps.When Rich invites his old university friends along for the celebrations, Tash is excited to get to know more about the people who shaped him.But Tash gets more than she bargained for when an unexpected guest arrives, armed with secrets about Rich...Can she still hold on to plans of a bright future with Rich once she learns the truth about his shady past?What readers are saying about Still Thinking of You:'I thought this book was a brilliant read - I could not put it down! So full of life''Adele Parks has a way of drawing the reader in. Her characters are well-defined and in many ways representative of people you know and love. Indeed a page turner...'

Headline Review

Husbands

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

Young Wives' Tales

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

About Last Night

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

For thirty years, best friends Stephanie and Philippa have been practically inseparable. There's nothing they would not do for one another. Until a few simple words change everything.'I need you to say that I was with you.'Steph, eternally solid, considerate and dependable, is begging her best friend to lie to the police as she's desperately trying to conceal two shocking secrets to protect her family. Pip, self-consigned to the role of scatty, frivolous hot-head is overwhelmed; she's normally the one asking for help in a crisis although never anything as catastrophic as this. Both women have always believed that friendship is built on mutual selflessness, compromise and trust. Are those beliefs now to be tested beyond endurance?

Headline Review

Men I've Loved Before

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

WHAT IF THE ONE YOU MARRIED IS NOT THE ONE?Highly praised as a 'fabulous mix of comedy, real life and emotional depth' (Daily Express), Men I've Loved Before, an addictive novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 ebook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home, looks at what happens after you find 'the one'.Nat and Neil are just right for each other. They share the same likes, dislikes and hopes for the future - one filled with successful careers, sex, travel, and definitely no kids. At least that was the plan.Increasingly surrounded by friends either with children, or trying for them, Neil begins to yearn for a baby himself, whereas Nat cannot be swayed.Now there's trouble in paradise.With neither prepared to say what they really want, Neil makes an unlikely new friend willing to lend an ear. Whilst Nat, riddled with doubt about the man she married, looks for answers in her little black book of exes...What readers are saying about Men I've Loved Before:'It was the twists and turns that I loved about this book. Every single chapter saw the story turn on its head. A good brisk pace, with lots of fabulous descriptions throughout''An extremely entertaining read! The ending is a real tear-jerker. This is one of my favourite books of the year'