Related to: 'Empire'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Wartime

Juliet Gardiner
Authors:
Juliet Gardiner
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced.They have cheated death.Defied their people.Changed beyond recognition.Their love has survived the impossible.But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it.

Headline

Destructive Thoughts (A Short Story)

J.T. Brannan
Authors:
J.T. Brannan

In a world where the Federation controls your mind, the wrong thought will get you killed.Ben Carver is a wanted man for treason but knows he's innocent.As time runs out, he must find out why he's being set up, and who wants him dead.DESTRUCTIVE THOUGHTS is an explosive action short story with J.T. Brannan's trademark stunning twist at the end.

Headline

Rags & Bones

Melissa Marr, Tim Pratt
Authors:
Melissa Marr, Tim Pratt
Headline

Conquest

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

The start of the epic new Chronicles of the Invaders series from bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of THE 5TH WAVE and I AM NUMBER FOUR.She is the first of her kind to be born on Earth.He is one of the Resistance, fighting to rid the world of an alien invasion.They were never meant to meet. And when they do, it will change everything . . .

Headline

Everything Is Fine (And Other Lies I Tell Myself)

Cathy Brett
Authors:
Cathy Brett

Interwoven with tales of World War I, this is a story about growing up, moving on and the strength of a family.Things haven't been going so well for fifteen-year-old Esther Armstrong. With her brother Max - her closest ally - absent, she's forced to face everything alone, not least her parents' heated arguments. As the summer holidays stretch endlessly ahead, she's desperate for something, anything, to divert her attention. Then she finds some letters hidden in the walls of her family home, sent by a soldier to his sweetheart from the trenches of WWI. Esther is consumed by the mystery of these lovers - not very much older than herself - and what became of them. Perhaps in piecing together the jigsaw of someone else's life, Esther can work out how to reassemble her own, and how to make everything fine again...

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

The Levels

Sean Cregan
Authors:
Sean Cregan

The explosive debut novel from the brilliant Sean Cregan - THE LEVELS is a dark, urban gothic thriller guaranteed to appeal fans of Child, Coben, Billingham and Kernick.On the outskirts of Newport, on the US East Coast, lies an abandoned, feral housing project: the Levels. Inhabited by Newport's forgotten homeless population, the Levels are run as a personal fiefdom by the all-powerful Sorrow.As THE LEVELS opens, ex-CIA agent Nate Turner, who is in the Levels to find out who has just tried to kill him, meets a 14-year-old girl Ghost. Ghost is a Fury, one of Sorrow's trained, drug-addicted assassins looking for a way back to her normal life.Also in the Levels is Kate, a suspended cop, who has been told that she has only days to live after being attacked, and infected, by the Beast, a serial killer working the streets. The Beast is out for revenge on Kate's new employer, who he believes created the infection that's killing him, an infection that has also been released into the Levels.Now Ghost is trying to escape Sorrow, Kate is looking for the Beast and Turner is looking for answers. One thing's for sure, some people aren't going to survive the fallout...

Headline

The Razor Gate

Sean Cregan
Authors:
Sean Cregan

The second brilliant novel from the author of The Levels - Sean Cregan. In Newport City men and women walk the streets, their lives literally ticking away. The Clocks are victims of a new serial crime, their existence kept secret by the authorities for fear of panic spreading through the city. Kidnapped by the mysterious Curator and subjected to the Curse - a medical procedure which ensures a fatal drug will be released into their nervous system one year after implantation - they are headed for certain death. But now they are fighting back. A suicidal Clock, determined to bring their plight to the public's attention, has detonated a bomb. Journalist Maya Cassinelli, whose ex-boyfriend is one of the dead, and cop Charlie Garrett, whose Clock girlfriend is about to die, are on a desperate search for answers, closely shadowed by members of the elite Foundation, who want control of the Curse's revolutionary and lucrative bio-technology. With everyone hunting the Cure, who will find it first? The Clocks are ticking...

Tinder Press

Of Bees and Mist

Erick Setiawan
Authors:
Erick Setiawan

Up in the house that sits on the hill, a strange spell is brewing... To Meridia, growing up with her father Gabriel, who vanishes daily in clouds of mist, and her bewitching mother Ravenna, the outside world is a refuge. So when as a young woman her true love Daniel offers her marriage, it seems an escape to a more straightforward existence. Yet behind the welcoming façade of her new home lies a life of drudgery and a story even stranger than that she left behind. Aged retainers lurk in the background; swarms of bees appear at will, and of course, there's her indomitable mother-in-law, Eva, hiding secrets that it will take Meridia years to unravel. Surrounded by seemingly unfathomable mysteries, can Meridia unlock the intrigues of the past, and thus protect her own family's future? An epic tale of two families told by an unforgettable voice. A modern fable, a gothic page-turner, but most of all, a passionate story about the power of love to conquer all that comes its way.

Cathy Brett

Cathy Brett has been scribbling stuff since she could hold a crayon - on paper, on walls, sometimes on her sister! At school she was hopeless at maths and cross-country running but quite good at scribbling and doodling (achieving A-Levels in both). She attended Doodling College then doodled professionally for a number of years - as a fashion illustrator, as a jet-setting spotter of global trends and as a consultant to the behemoths of the British high street - until trying children's book doodling and having a go at scribbling them too. She lectures in design and visits schools around the country, trying to convince students, teachers and parents that scribbling and doodling are proper jobs.

Erick Setiawan

Erick Setiawan grew up in Indonesia and moved to San Francisco as a teenager to learn English. He later attended Stanford. He is now writing fulltime, and OF BEES AND MIST is his first novel.

J.T. Brannan

J.T. Brannan trained as a British Army officer at Sandhurst, before deciding to pursue a writing career. A former national Karate champion, he now teaches Karate, MMA, and his own system of reality-based self-defence. He lives near Harrogate with his wife and two young children. EXTINCTION is his second novel.

Jennifer Ridyard

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

John Connolly

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

Juliet Gardiner

Juliet Gardiner is a historian with wide academic and commercial credentials: After taking a doctorate at London University she edited History Today, was Academic Director at Weidenfeld and Nicolson and the Head of Publishing Studies at Oxford Brookes University. She has written numerous academic papers, contributed to most of the UK's national press and lectured at home and abroad. She is the author of nine books and has made two television series for Channel 4.

Melissa Marr

Ever since award-winning author Tim Pratt (Briarpatch, Marla Mason series) and New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely series, Graveminder) first met, they bonded over their love of short fiction, myth, North Carolina, and Heart of Darkness. After years of discussing finding a project to do together, they landed on Rags & Bones. The results have far surpassed their hopes.

Peter Heller

Peter Heller is an award-winning adventure writer and contributing editor on Outside magazine, Men`s Journal, and National Geographic Adventure. He is also the author of several non-fiction books, including Kook; The Whale Warriors; and Hell or High Water: Surviving Tibet`s Tsangpo Gorge. He lives in Denver, Colorado.

Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath.

Sean Cregan

Sean started writing at university as a way of escaping his engineering degree, before becoming a trade journalist working out of a brick shed. He writes full time, and published four novels under his real name, before changing style, content, publisher and identity to something much more fun. He's a single dad and lives on the south coast with his little boy. He has never owned a cat, and each year more and more of them go missing in his neighbourhood.