Related to: 'Empire'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced.They have cheated death.Defied their people.Changed beyond recognition.Their love has survived the impossible.But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it.

Headline

Wartime

Juliet Gardiner
Authors:
Juliet Gardiner

Juliet Gardiner's critically acclaimed book - the first in a generation to tell the people's story of the Second World War - offers a compelling and comprehensive account of the pervasiveness of war on the Home Front. The book has been commended for its inclusion of many under-described aspects of the Home Front, and alongside familiar stories of food shortages, evacuation and the arrival of the GIs, are stories of Conscientious Objectors, persecuted Italians living in Britain and Lumber Jills working in the New Forest. Drawing on a multitude of sources, many previously unpublished, she tells the story of those six gruelling years in voices from the Orkney Islands to Cornwall, from the Houses of Parliament to the Nottinghamshire mines.

Headline

Conquest

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline

Destructive Thoughts (A Short Story)

J.T. Brannan
Authors:
J.T. Brannan

In a world where the Federation controls your mind, the wrong thought will get you killed.Ben Carver is a wanted man for treason but knows he's innocent.As time runs out, he must find out why he's being set up, and who wants him dead.DESTRUCTIVE THOUGHTS is an explosive action short story with J.T. Brannan's trademark stunning twist at the end.

Headline

Rags & Bones

Melissa Marr, Tim Pratt
Authors:
Melissa Marr, Tim Pratt

One of Amazon's Top 10 YA novels for 2013. Featuring stories by Neil Gaiman, Garth Nix and the authors of Beautiful Creatures, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, this is a unique and imaginative collection for readers of all ages. There are some stories that will always be told, tales as timeless as they are gripping. There are some authors who can tell any story.In RAGS & BONES, award-winning and bestselling authors retell classic fairytales and twisted tales in the way that only they can. With magic and love, they bring these stories - whether much loved or overlooked - back to life. Read 'Sleeping Beauty' as only Neil Gaiman can tell it. See 'Rumpelstiltskin' through the eyes of Kami Garcia. And learn of Rudyard Kipling's 'The Man Who Would Be King' from the inimitable Garth Nix.

Headline

Everything Is Fine (And Other Lies I Tell Myself)

Cathy Brett
Authors:
Cathy Brett
Headline Review

The Dog Stars

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

The Razor Gate

Sean Cregan
Authors:
Sean Cregan
Headline

The Levels

Sean Cregan
Authors:
Sean Cregan

The explosive debut novel from the brilliant Sean Cregan - THE LEVELS is a dark, urban gothic thriller guaranteed to appeal fans of Child, Coben, Billingham and Kernick.On the outskirts of Newport, on the US East Coast, lies an abandoned, feral housing project: the Levels. Inhabited by Newport's forgotten homeless population, the Levels are run as a personal fiefdom by the all-powerful Sorrow.As THE LEVELS opens, ex-CIA agent Nate Turner, who is in the Levels to find out who has just tried to kill him, meets a 14-year-old girl Ghost. Ghost is a Fury, one of Sorrow's trained, drug-addicted assassins looking for a way back to her normal life.Also in the Levels is Kate, a suspended cop, who has been told that she has only days to live after being attacked, and infected, by the Beast, a serial killer working the streets. The Beast is out for revenge on Kate's new employer, who he believes created the infection that's killing him, an infection that has also been released into the Levels.Now Ghost is trying to escape Sorrow, Kate is looking for the Beast and Turner is looking for answers. One thing's for sure, some people aren't going to survive the fallout...

Anne Blankman

Anne Blankman was born in upstate New York and studied at Union College, during which time she did an exchange in York, England - a place she's always dreamed of returning to. She has since worked as a youth services librarian. The idea for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG came to her after she learned about Hitler's beloved half niece who shared his luxurious Munich flat. Anne began wondering what it would have been like to be a young girl growing up within the Nazi elite's inner circle - and if it would have been possible to break free from it. This is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.anneblankman.com

Cathy Brett

Cathy Brett has been scribbling stuff since she could hold a crayon - on paper, on walls, sometimes on her sister! At school she was hopeless at maths and cross-country running but quite good at scribbling and doodling (achieving A-Levels in both). She attended Doodling College then doodled professionally for a number of years - as a fashion illustrator, as a jet-setting spotter of global trends and as a consultant to the behemoths of the British high street - until trying children's book doodling and having a go at scribbling them too. She lectures in design and visits schools around the country, trying to convince students, teachers and parents that scribbling and doodling are proper jobs.

J.T. Brannan

J.T. Brannan trained as a British Army officer at Sandhurst, before deciding to pursue a writing career. A former national Karate champion, he now teaches Karate, MMA, and his own system of reality-based self-defence. He lives near Harrogate with his wife and two young children. EXTINCTION is his second novel.

Jennifer Ridyard

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

John Connolly

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

Juliet Gardiner

Juliet Gardiner is a historian with wide academic and commercial credentials: After taking a doctorate at London University she edited History Today, was Academic Director at Weidenfeld and Nicolson and the Head of Publishing Studies at Oxford Brookes University. She has written numerous academic papers, contributed to most of the UK's national press and lectured at home and abroad. She is the author of nine books and has made two television series for Channel 4.

Melissa Marr

Ever since award-winning author Tim Pratt (Briarpatch, Marla Mason series) and New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely series, Graveminder) first met, they bonded over their love of short fiction, myth, North Carolina, and Heart of Darkness. After years of discussing finding a project to do together, they landed on Rags & Bones. The results have far surpassed their hopes.

Peter Heller

Peter Heller is an award-winning adventure writer and contributing editor on Outside magazine, Men`s Journal, and National Geographic Adventure. He is also the author of several non-fiction books, including Kook; The Whale Warriors; and Hell or High Water: Surviving Tibet`s Tsangpo Gorge. He lives in Denver, Colorado.

Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath.

Sean Cregan

Sean started writing at university as a way of escaping his engineering degree, before becoming a trade journalist working out of a brick shed. He writes full time, and published four novels under his real name, before changing style, content, publisher and identity to something much more fun. He's a single dad and lives on the south coast with his little boy. He has never owned a cat, and each year more and more of them go missing in his neighbourhood.