Related to: 'Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)'

Author

Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's passion for writing began at an early age. After a childhood spent travelling the world he pursued his great love of history as a teacher, before becoming a full-time writer in 2005. Simon's Roman soldier heroes Cato and Macro first stormed the book shops in 2000, and Simon continues to create one new adult Roman novel each year. Simon has many other literary projects in hand including a young adult Roman series and THE SWORD AND THE SCIMITAR, an epic tale of the Siege of Malta in the sixteenth century. To find out more about Simon Scarrow and his novels, visit www.catoandmacro.com and www.scarrow.co.uk.

Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

Invictus (Eagles of the Empire 15)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!A Sunday Times bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price...Includes maps, chart and author Q&A.

Headline

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Wellington and Napoleon Quartet: Young Bloods, The Generals, Fire and Sword, Fields of Death

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's four classic novels based on the lives of the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon Bonaparte are published together in one superb-value ebook volume not to be missed by readers of Bernard Cornwell. Arthur, Duke of Wellington, and Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte were adversaries on an epic scale. Across Europe and beyond, the armies of Great Britain and France clashed, from the Iberian Peninsula to India, from Austerlitz to the final confrontation at Waterloo. What drove the two clever, ambitious, determined men who masterminded these military campaigns? How did the underdog from Corsica develop the strategic military skills and the political cunning that gave him power over swathes of Europe? And how did Wellington, born to be a leader, hone his talents and drive an army to victory after victory?From an outstanding historian and novelist come four epic novels, now available in one volume for the first time, which tell the full story of both these men, from their very early days till the momentous battle at Waterloo which decided the future of Europe.INCLUDES MAPS

Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Arena

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Arena: Champion (Part Five of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Arena: Revenge (Part Four of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Arena: First Sword (Part Three of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews

The third novella in Simon Scarrow's ebook-exclusive Roman Arena series sees gladiator Pavo and mentor Macro fight for their lives amid a bloody revolt.The imperial gladiator school in Capua: once the pride of the Roman Empire, lately driven to the brink of ruin by a greedy lanista. Now the school welcomes its newest recruit: Marcus Valerius Pavo, the high-born gladiator with a string of impressive victories to his name, sworn to seek revenge for the brutal murder of his father. Meanwhile Lucius Cornelius Macro, the decorated optio of the Second Legion, has been appointed as the school's new lanista. Macro faces a race against time to turn the school around before the start of the games in Rome, held in honour of the new Emperor. But when a notorious tribal warrior sets in motion a violent uprising, Macro and Pavo find themselves caught in a desperate struggle for survival...Simon Scarrow supports the Bansang Hospital Appeal - learn more at www.bansanghospitalappeal.org. He will be donating his earnings from the sale of this book to the Appeal.

Headline

Arena: Challenger (Part Two of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Headline

Sword and Scimitar

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

SWORD AND SCIMITAR is the gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta from Simon Scarrow, bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris.1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign. As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Headline

Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series)

Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews

The first in an ebook-exclusive series of action-packed novellas set in Ancient Rome introducing Pavo, a novice gladiator, and featuring Simon Scarrow's ongoing soldier character Optio Macro.It is AD 41. The savage Gaul Britomaris has defeated the best of the Roman gladiators in the arena. Now a young volunteer, Marcus Valerius Pavo, the son of a murdered general, has been given a month to prepare to face Britomaris in a fight which only one man can survive. He is to be trained by veteran soldier Macro, who fears for his young trainee's chances. But Pavo is motivated by more than a simple desire for victory or survival, and Britomaris may yet be facing his most dangerous opponent...Simon Scarrow supports the Bansang Hospital Appeal - learn more at www.bansanghospitalappeal.org. He will be donating his earnings from the sale of this book to the Appeal.

Headline

Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Legion (Eagles of the Empire 10)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

FIRE AND SWORD is the unputdownable third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon Quartet. A must read for fans of Robert Harris.1804. Napoleon Bonaparte is Emperor of France, his ultimate aim: to rule Europe. After defeat at the Battle of Trafalgar, he wins a glorious victory against Austria at Austerlitz. He then deposes the Spanish king and places his own brother on the throne. But he is yet to triumph over his most hated enemy: Great Britain.Arthur Wellesley (the future Duke of Wellington) throws himself into the British campaign in Europe. After glory in Portugal, he commands the army in a series of triumphant battles across Spain. For those living reluctantly under French rule, his victories suggest that Napoleon's progress is not inexorable: freedom can be restored...

Headline

The Eagle's Prophecy (Eagles of the Empire 6)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!THE EAGLE'S PROPHECY is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire seires. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Praise for Simon Scarrow's gripping novels: 'Ferocious and compelling' Daily Express The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back...

Headline

The Eagle In The Sand (Eagles of the Empire 7)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!THE EAGLE IN THE SAND is the action-packed seventh novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 'Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best' IndependentJudaea in AD 46. Roman centurions Cato and Macro have been posted to Judaea for a 'hearts and minds' operation. The Empire needs to win over the locals after some of their religious figures have started revolts - and since the Romans crucified the last charismatic Judaean leader, the natives' rebellions have become bolder.Not only are these small villages causing trouble, but there are also thousands of Parthians eager to fight Rome. With the threat of suicide attacks and even all-out war, Cato and Macro have their peace-keeping work cut out...

Headline

When the Eagle Hunts

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow