Related to: 'Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)'

Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh. Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim? Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

Headline

Body Count (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 16)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Any bloody death will lead Inspectors Çetin Ikmen and Mehmet Süleyman out onto the dark streets of Istanbul. On 21 January, a half-decapitated corpse in the poor multicultural district of Tarlabasi poses a particularly frustrating and gruesome mystery. But as the months pass and the violence increases, it turns into a hunt for that rare phenomenon in the golden city on the Bosphorus: a serial killer.Desperate to uncover the killer's twisted logic as the body count rises, Ikmen and Süleyman find only more questions. How are the victims connected? What is the significance of the number 21? And how many Istanbullus must die before they find the answers?

Headline

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 15)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

When Inspector Cetin Ikmen is invited to a murder mystery evening at Istanbul's famous Pera Palas Hotel he finds himself embroiled in a deadly game of life imitating art. Halfway through the evening, one of the actors is found actually dead in the room where Agatha Christie used to stay when she was in Istanbul. Walking in the steps of the great, Ikmen experiences fear and hatred which have echoes deep in his own and his country's past.

Headline

Dead of Night (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 14)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Ashes to Ashes

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plot. It's 29 December, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming incendiary bombs. Their main target - St Paul's cathedral - is where Hancock is sheltering from the onslaught. But the First World War veteran doesn't just have bombs to contend with; a young girl, who was also sheltering in the cathedral, has vanished. Then some of those charged with protecting the building are brutally murdered. Hancock must face his own demons and fears in his struggle to catch those responsible and bring them to justice...

Headline

Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 12)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Barbara Nadel's Turkish crime novel sees Inspector Ikmen tackling a complex case of organised crime in London.When the Istanbul police raid a counterfeit goods factory in the run-down district of Tarlabasi, a young man with explosives strapped to his chest blows himself up in front of them. In the process, Istanbul's Inpsector Çetin Ikmen is injured. Documents found in the factory lead the authorities in both Istanbul and London to believe that a terrorist attack, in part orchestrated from the Tarlabasi factory, is about to be enacted in the British capital. Ikmen goes undercover amongst the Turkish community of North London, although what he uncovers there is certainly not what his British colleagues were expecting...

Headline

Sure and Certain Death

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Noble Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 13)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Passion for Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 9)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Last Rights

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

After the Mourning

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The body of a teenage girl is discovered in a cistern deep below the city of Istanbul. For the Turkish police force's most talented officer, Inspector Çetin Ikmen, this is a difficult case. The girl was his daughter's friend and her attire, that of a nineteenth-century Ottoman, offers no easy explanation.With his promise of justice to the dead girl's mother still fresh on his lips, Ikmen is suddenly taken off the case and reassigned to the kidnapping of an ageing movie star's wife. The star is hiding something and so, Ikmen fears, are his superiors. A powerful secret exists in the labyrinthine city; one which those on either side of the law will do anything to prevent surfacing...

Headline

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deadly Web (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 7)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline Review

Dance with Death (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 8)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Inspector Cetin Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate and discovers a complex web of intrigue. Was she killed by her boyfriend, driven mad by love, or her husband, believing she would never bear the son he wanted so badly? When it is revealed the girl was pregnant when she died, the whispers and accusations increase. Ikmen, stifled among a rural community thriving on folklore and intrigue, begins to think he will never see clearly through the lies surrounding this case. One thing, however, is clear: the past is as potent as the present.

Headline

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A man's body, virtually decapitated, is found by the Bosphorus. His identity card names him as Rifat Berisha, an Albanian. The family is impenetrable but when Inspector Cetin Ikmen, whose mother was Albanian, consults his cousin, Samsun, he's left in little doubt that Berisha's death is likely to be the result of a fis, an implacable blood feud between rival Albanian families. Which means the blood already shed will have to be avenged. And if the Berishas or their enemies discover Ikmen is from a noted Albanian clan, some of the spilt blood might be his...