Related to: 'On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)'

Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

INCORRUPTIBLE is the gripping new Istanbul crime thriller starring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon.In the backstreets of Istanbul, a young woman's body is found. Dumped in a dustbin and covered in cut flowers, she is the victim of a frenzied and vicious stabbing. Inspector Ikmen discovers that the woman was well known in Istanbul. Newspapers had been calling her the blessed woman; cured of cancer in a Christian miracle and a proclaimed messenger of the Virgin Mary. These controversial claims had made her fierce enemies in the predominantly Islamic community and she had unwittingly stirred up divisions amongst the Christians of the city. But as Ikmen digs further into the case he uncovers powerful hatred and dark secrets lurking within her family. And to find the truth he must delve into a toxic world of fear, concealment and lies. The question is: was this a killing in the name of faith or does the answer lie somewhere else?(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A body is found in the ruined Constantinople hippodrome: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the historic but now squalid areas of Istanbul that her enemy, property developer Ahmet Oden, seeks to destroy and rebuild. As Ikmen searches for the lost child and the truth behind her death, the people of Istanbul rise up in protest against their government in Gezi Park, and the city lurches into chaos and anger. Against this background, Ikmen will unravel a tale of ancient hostility and modern desires, where the truth is concealed within the secret history of this antique city.(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 15)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Dead of Night (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 14)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Ashes to Ashes (Francis Hancock Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

As London burns, an unlikely hero unearths a series of brutal murders...Ashes to Ashes is the third novel in the acclaimed Francis Hancock World War Two crime series by Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker and Maureen Jennings. 'A great depiction of the period and a touchingly involuntary new sleuth' - Guardian As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plot.It's 29 December, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming incendiary bombs. Their main target - St Paul's cathedral - is where Hancock is sheltering from the onslaught. But the First World War veteran doesn't just have bombs to contend with; a young girl, who was also sheltering in the cathedral, has vanished. Then some of those charged with protecting the building are brutally murdered. Hancock must face his own demons and fears in his struggle to catch those responsible and bring them to justice...What readers are saying about Ashes to Ashes:'The details of people's ordinary lives adds so much depth to the story''The tale covers madness, loyalty, patriotism, priorities, faith - all the deep stuff Barbara Nadel tackles so well''Barbara Nadel is a seriously perceptive, interesting writer'

Headline

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Sure and Certain Death

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A brilliant evocation of the period and a truly unnerving, menacing and original plot...Sure and Certain Death is the fourth chilling World War Two crime mystery in the Francis Hancock series by award-winning Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Nicola Upson.East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Francis' sister, Nancy, knew the victim. Then, shockingly, two more murders follow. Rumours start to spread through the East End about another Jack the Ripper. When a fourth woman is murdered, Nancy admits that she knew all of the victims, and Francis sets out to find the killer, discovering a trail of murderous resentment that goes back decades...What readers are saying about Sure and Certain Death:'For Nadel fans, Sure and Certain Death is a must-read, as it is for historians of East London''Atmospheric, touching, different and unputdownable!' 'More brutal murders in a storyline that is gripping to the last page'

Headline

A Noble Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 13)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 12)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Barbara Nadel's new Turkish crime novel sees Inspector Ikmen tackling a complex case of organised crime in London.When the Istanbul police raid a counterfeit goods factory in the run-down district of Tarlabasi, a young man with explosives strapped to his chest blows himself up in front of them. In the process, Istanbul's Inpsector Çetin Ikmen is injured. Documents found in the factory lead the authorities in both Istanbul and London to believe that a terrorist attack, in part orchestrated from the Tarlabasi factory, is about to be enacted in the British capital. Ikmen goes undercover amongst the Turkish community of North London, although what he uncovers there is certainly not what his British colleagues were expecting...

Headline

Last Rights (Francis Hancock Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

How deeply can you bury a crime?Critically acclaimed crime writer Barbara Nadel introduces undertaker Francis Hancock in the first of her brilliant World War Two crime series. Last Rights is perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Nicola Upson. 'Gripping and unusual detective story... vivid and poignant' - Literary Review October 1940. The London borough of West Ham is in the grip of yet another night of bombing, and undertaker Francis Hancock is in the grip of yet another night of temporary insanity.A veteran of World War One, Francis is forced by the nightly air raids to relive the trauma of the trenches, and all he can do is try to outrun the horrific flashbacks. So when he sees a man lurching through the rubble, screaming about being stabbed but with no visible wound, Francis dismisses it at the ravings of another lost soul... until the man's body turns up at his funeral parlour, two days later. Suspecting foul play, Francis feels compelled to discover what really happened that night - but he finds himself pitted against violent thugs, an impenetrable network of lies and his own fragile sanity.What readers are saying about Last Rights:'Nadel brings the horrors of the Blitz straight home to the reader in a very readable way that no history book or documentary could come close''Tight, disciplined and very interesting novel''A good, atmospheric read for those of us who enjoy a good murder'

Headline

After the Mourning (Francis Hancock Mystery 2)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deadly Web (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 7)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Games of sex and death have terrifying consequences...Silver Dagger Award-winning author Barbara Nadel explores a series of shocking and dark deaths across Istanbul in Deadly Web, the seventh instalment of the thrilling Inspector Ikmen crime series. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Abir Mukherjee.'Perfect blend of foreign exoticism and impeccable mystery plotting... Superior police procedural sleuthing in which the locale is etched with precision and the city of Istanbul becomes an indispensable character' - Crime Time A naked teenage girl is found dead near the beautiful Byzantine Yoros Castle in Turkey. She has stabbed herself through the heart but there is evidence of bizarre sexual practice. In another part of Istanbul, a young boy seems to have committed suicide in similar circumstances. What dark rituals could have compelled them to fatal self-abuse? Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman follow an internet trail that leads them to an underworld of Goth nightclubs and Satanic worship. But even those murky shadows hide more than they reveal and the answers to an ever increasing number of suspicious deaths is more shocking and terrible than they could ever have imagined.What readers are saying about Deadly Web:'As usual complex, diverse and enjoyable''I could not put it down''I have read all of the Inspector Ikmen books [...] each one I read I always think is better than the last!'

Headline

Dance with Death (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 8)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

An unholy crime. An undiscovered body. An unrepentant killer...Dance with Death explores sex, jealousy and murder in a remote Turkish village - a riveting crime novel from award winning Barbara Nadel. The perfect read for fans of Adrian Magson and Mario Giordano. 'Part of its appeal is the exotic settings and characters, especially the colourful little cameos which remain in the memory' - Sunday Telegraph A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Who is she and who killed her? Inspector Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate but discovers a complex web of intrigue. Was it her boyfriend, driven mad by love, or her husband, believing she would never bear the son he wanted so badly? When it is revealed the girl was pregnant when she died, the whispers and accusations increase. Ikmen, stifled among a rural community thriving on legend, folklore and intrigue, begins to think he will never see clearly through the lies surrounding this case. One thing, however, is clear: the past is as potent as the present.What readers are saying about Dance with Death:'Great insight into the problems of a country still divided by different traditions and approaches to the 21st century' 'Another intriguing investigation for Inspector Ikmen''Rich in atmosphere and characterisation'

Headline

River of The Dead (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 11)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The chilling psycho-mystery from the highly-acclaimed and award-winning author Barbara Nadel.Convicted murderer and drug baron Yusuf Kaya has escaped from Istanbul prison. He appears to have had inside help. Ikmen is called to investigate Kaya's contacts in the city, while Inspector Suleyman heads to Kaya's home town of Mardin, a dangerous city in the south east of Turkey. As Ikmen delves deeper into Kaya's past, the body count continues to rise. It's not long before the two Inspectors are caught up in a terrifying web of arms and drug running, terrorism, blackmail and murder...

Headline

A Passion for Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 9)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel