Related to: 'Christmas Mysteries 2: A Christmas Grace & A Christmas Odyssey'

May Book Of The Month

It's Kam and Lin in Since I Saw You

Read an excerpt from Beth Kery's highly anticipated SINCE I SAW YOU... *Must be over 18 to read*

Headline

A Christmas Return

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A CHRISTMAS RETURN is the 15th novella in the festive series by Anne Perry, the queen of Victorian crime.As the festive season approaches, Charlotte Pitt's grandmamma, Mariah Ellison, is facing Christmas alone. When she receives an unexpected gift, memories are sparked of a Christmas in Haslemere long ago, when her beloved friend Cullen Wesley died and a local villager was brutally murdered, with no killer brought to justice.The unsolved case has resurfaced and Cullen's grandson, Peter, begs for Mariah's help to solve the crime that led to his grandfather's death. Mariah can't resist a friend in need and she returns to Haslemere to investigate the murder and heal old wounds. But evil still lurks in the picturesque village and she'll need all her wits about her to see that justice is done.A Christmas Return is the enthralling new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

Twenty-One Days

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Murder on the Serpentine

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the 23rd novel in the William Monk series, AN ECHO OF MURDER.London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence...

Headline

A Christmas Message

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A Christmas Message is Anne Perry's 14th novella in her festive series.Christmas 1900. Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt's former boss and his new wife Vespasia are travelling by train from Jaffa to Jerusalem. Although enjoying their time together and the interesting people they meet, Vespasia soon becomes concerned that someone is watching their every move.When one of their new acquaintances is found murdered, the only clue is a mysterious piece of parchment written in a foreign tongue, and a message imploring Narraway to continue the stranger's quest. Sensing its importance, Narraway and Vespasia decide to fulfil their dead friend's wish.Continuing to Jerusalem with the parchment in hand, they quickly find themselves embroiled in danger. With Vespasia's fears suddenly realised and a watcher on their trail, will Narraway and Vespasia's fates follow that of their friend or can they make it to Jerusalem unscathed?A Christmas Message is the tantalising new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She's from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying. While William Monk's River Police fight to keep London safe from gun-runners, Hester takes on a new role at the hospital, helping to administer a secretive new treatment. But she slowly realises that this experimental cure is putting the lives of the children at risk. Attempting to protect the young victims, she comes under threat from one rich, powerful, and very ill man who is desperate to survive...

Headline

The Cater Street Hangman (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A deadly killer stalks the streets of Victorian London... The Cater Street Hangman is the opening novel in Anne Perry's bestselling Victorian crime series, introducing us to her acclaimed characters Inspector Thomas Pitt and Charlotte Ellison. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out' - New York Times Book Review A killer is strangling young women in Cater Street, leaving their swollen-faced bodies in the dark shadows of this genteel neighbourhood. When the Ellison family's maid becomes the murderer's third victim, young Inspector Thomas Pitt is assigned to the case. He must break through the walls of upper-class society to get at the truth, and his investigation gradually peels away its veneer, exposing secrets and desires until suspicion becomes more frightening than truth. Outspoken Charlotte Ellison, struggling to remain within the confining expectations of Victorian manners, has no trouble expressing herself to the irritating policeman. As their relationship shifts from antagonism to something more complicated, Thomas and Charlotte must work together to solve the mystery before the Cater Street hangman strikes again. What readers are saying about The Cater Street Hangman: 'I love reading Anne Perry - her description of Victorian life conjures up lifelike images and you really feel you are there''Engrossing murder mystery''You have a treat ahead of you as the rich characters expand and evolve'

Headline

Callander Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Farriers' Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A fresh case rakes up the past, with shocking revelations... With resentment at every turn, Inspector Pitt tries to untangle one of his most convoluted cases to date in Anne Perry's gripping mystery, Farriers' Lane. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context' - Publishers Weekly The distinguished Justice Stafford's shocking death from opium poisoning resurrects one of the most sensational cases ever to inflame England: the murder five years before of Kingsley Blaine, whose body was found crucified in Farriers' Lane. Amid the public hysteria for revenge, the police had arrested a Jewish actor who was soon condemned to hang. Police Inspector Thomas Pitt, investigating Stafford's death, is drawn into the Farriers' Lane murder as well, for it appears that Stafford may have been about to reopen the case. Pitt receives curiously little help from his colleagues on the force, but his wife, Charlotte, gleans from her social engagements startling insights into both cases. And slowly both Thomas and Charlotte begin to reach for the same sinister and deeply dangerous truth. What readers are saying about Farriers' Lane: 'Lovers of a good 'whodunit' will not be disappointed with the twists and turns of the plot, neither will readers who like to bond with their literary heroes as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt are a very likeable duo who complement each other perfectly''The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets''Every book is enthralling'

Headline

Blind Justice (William Monk Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Anne Perry's Inspector William Monk: in search of justice, he will not stop until he has found the truth...Oliver Rathbone, William Monk's close friend, has presided brilliantly over his first cases as a judge. But the next will bring a far greater challenge. Abel Taft, a charismatic minister adored by his congregation, stands accused of terrible corruption and fraud which has ruined the lives of those he's betrayed.In court, each victim affirms Taft's guilt, but when the defence's star witness tears their stories apart, the case seems lost. Rathbone realises he holds, locked away, a piece of evidence that could change the outcome of the trial and bring true justice, but can he, as the judge, become involved? The decision Rathbone makes will draw Monk deep into a dangerous case that will shape the rest of both their lives...

Headline

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Mystery, Book 18)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Slaves and Obsession (William Monk Mystery, Book 11)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Twisted Root (William Monk Mystery, Book 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Whited Sepulchres (William Monk Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Silent Cry (William Monk Mystery, Book 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Weighed in the Balance (William Monk Mystery, Book 7)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

It's 1859 and throughout Europe tremendous upheavals have taken place. Hester Latterly is nurse to the sick son of a German Baron and his family, who have moved to London from one of the many small principalities between Prussia and Bavaria - and the Baroness tells Hester about her kingdom's famous royal family...Handsome Prince Friedrich was one of just two heirs to the crown, considered the perfect match by every woman of the land. But during an affair with Countess Zorah Rostova, he meets the alluring and sophisticated Gisela - with whom he falls deeply in love. He can have Gisela or the crown, but not both. He chooses Gisela, marries her in Venice and, after many years, tragically dies in England. Now, Countess Zorah, having accused the widowed Princess of murdering Friedrich, is being sued in the biggest slander trial of the century - and the only way that she can defend herself is to prove that Gisela is indeed guilty. But in doing so she must sully the greatest love story that the country has ever known, and that is enough to put her lawyer's career in jeopardy, too. That lawyer is Oliver Rathbone, who calls on Investigator William Monk to help...

Headline

Cain His Brother (William Monk Mystery, Book 6)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Genvieve Stonefield's husband Angus is missing when she seeks William Monk's help to find him. She is convinced that he has been murdered by his twin brother Caleb, a shadowy figure who lives in the slums bordering the Thames and has always hated his respectable businessman brother. Although worried about Hester Latterly's health as she nurses victims of a typhoid outbreak in Limehouse, and threatened by a personal scandal, Monk is determined to bring one of the most bizarre cases he has ever encountered to its conclusion.

Headline

Sins of the Wolf (William Monk Mystery, Book 5)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When nurse Hestor Latterly accompanies the elderly Mrs Mary Farraline on a short trip to London, her only medical duty is to ensure her charming patient takes her heart medicine. But Mrs Farraline dies during the night. When her missing brooch 'turns up' in Hester's possession she is arrested for theft, until a post-mortem reveals a lethal dose of medicine in Mrs Farraline's body, and the charge becomes murder. Inspector William Monk must find a killer amongst the aloof Farraline clan, and in a Scottish courtroom the family's secrets will be exposed - or buried for ever.

Headline

A Dangerous Mourning (William Monk Mystery, Book 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry