Related to: 'A New York Christmas (Christmas Novella 12)'

For All Time

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jude Deveraux's latest novel, For All Time.

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A Christmas Message is Anne Perry's 14th novella in her festive series.Christmas 1900. Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt's former boss and his new wife Vespasia are travelling by train from Jaffa to Jerusalem. Although enjoying their time together and the interesting people they meet, Vespasia soon becomes concerned that someone is watching their every move.When one of their new acquaintances is found murdered, the only clue is a mysterious piece of parchment written in a foreign tongue, and a message imploring Narraway to continue the stranger's quest. Sensing its importance, Narraway and Vespasia decide to fulfil their dead friend's wish.Continuing to Jerusalem with the parchment in hand, they quickly find themselves embroiled in danger. With Vespasia's fears suddenly realised and a watcher on their trail, will Narraway and Vespasia's fates follow that of their friend or can they make it to Jerusalem unscathed?A Christmas Message is the tantalising new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Farriers' Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A fresh case rakes up the past, with shocking revelations... With resentment at every turn, Inspector Pitt tries to untangle one of his most convoluted cases to date in Anne Perry's gripping mystery, Farriers' Lane. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context' - Publishers Weekly The distinguished Justice Stafford's shocking death from opium poisoning resurrects one of the most sensational cases ever to inflame England: the murder five years before of Kingsley Blaine, whose body was found crucified in Farriers' Lane. Amid the public hysteria for revenge, the police had arrested a Jewish actor who was soon condemned to hang. Police Inspector Thomas Pitt, investigating Stafford's death, is drawn into the Farriers' Lane murder as well, for it appears that Stafford may have been about to reopen the case. Pitt receives curiously little help from his colleagues on the force, but his wife, Charlotte, gleans from her social engagements startling insights into both cases. And slowly both Thomas and Charlotte begin to reach for the same sinister and deeply dangerous truth. What readers are saying about Farriers' Lane: 'Lovers of a good 'whodunit' will not be disappointed with the twists and turns of the plot, neither will readers who like to bond with their literary heroes as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt are a very likeable duo who complement each other perfectly''The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets''Every book is enthralling'

Headline

Death On Blackheath (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 29)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blind Justice (William Monk Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Anne Perry's Inspector William Monk: in search of justice, he will not stop until he has found the truth...Oliver Rathbone, William Monk's close friend, has presided brilliantly over his first cases as a judge. But the next will bring a far greater challenge. Abel Taft, a charismatic minister adored by his congregation, stands accused of terrible corruption and fraud which has ruined the lives of those he's betrayed.In court, each victim affirms Taft's guilt, but when the defence's star witness tears their stories apart, the case seems lost. Rathbone realises he holds, locked away, a piece of evidence that could change the outcome of the trial and bring true justice, but can he, as the judge, become involved? The decision Rathbone makes will draw Monk deep into a dangerous case that will shape the rest of both their lives...

Headline

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Mystery, Book 18)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Inspector William Monk: In search of justice, he will not stop until he has found the truth.1864: When the body of a brutally mutilated body of a woman is found on Limehouse Pier, Monk's enquiries into her death unearth a suspicious connection between the victim and Dr Lambourn, a recently deceased scientist and staunch supporter for a new pharmaceutical bill aimed to regulate the sale of opium.Investigating further, Monk learns that Lambourn's widow refuses to believe that her husband's death was suicide; she is convinced that he was murdered by government officials intent on keeping the lucrative trade of opium flowing.With pressure mounting for the police to find the Limehouse killer, Monk is propelled headlong into an investigation that will delve the darkest depths of the opium trade and threatens to expose corruption in the very highest echelons of society...

Headline

Dorchester Terrace (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 27)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Visitor (Christmas Novella 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

Shoulder the Sky (World War I Series, Novel 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Journey (Christmas Novella 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Attending the party and taking a leading role in the ensuing investigation is one of the most beloved characters from Anne Perry's Thomas Pitt series: Lady Vespasia Cumming-Gould. Lady Vespasia's friend Isobel has made a cruel remark about Gwendolen Kilmuir on the night Gwendolen was meant to have become engaged to the eligible Bertie Rosythe. Gwendolen flees the room, and the next morning her body is found in the lake in the gardens of the estate. It appears she has jumped from the bridge. The host, Omegus Jones and Vespasia decide to find who or what might have led Gwendolen to resort to such an extreme measure. They vow to make the guilty party seek forgiveness and expiation through the task of taking a sealed letter written by Gwendolen before her death to her mother up in the north of Scotland.The journey will be both physically and emotionally arduous but will bring answers to some unexpected and profound questions.

Headline

The Shifting Tide (William Monk Mystery, Book 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When the Maude Idris docks at the Pool of London, laden with ebony, spices and first-grade tusks of ivory collected from her voyage to Zanzibar, Clement Louvain leaves four armed seamen on board to guard the precious cargo. But as soon as the relief for the night watch arrives ready for duty in the morning, he finds the ivory gone and one of the seamen dead. Hindered by his ignorance of the river and its customs, and ashamed of the fact that he so badly requires the huge fees that Louvain is prepared to pay, William Monk nevertheless begins his investigation into the theft and murder. Meanwhile Hester's work at the refuge at Portpool Lane is encountering acute financial difficulties. Sick prostitutes are arriving daily and the medicines needed to help them are running out. When a man arrives promising to pay a huge amount of money for the care of one particular woman, Hester is astonished to meet him. He is none other than Clement Louvain. So who is the woman he is so generously helping? And why is he offering such a substantial sum? Will Monk discover what Louvain is hiding before it is too late?

Headline

Seven Dials (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Southampton Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 22)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Despite Thomas Pitt's success in the Whitechapel case, the secretive Inner Circle prevent his returning to Bow Street police as Superintendent. Pitt's next task for Special Branch is to investigate Charles Voisy - the corrupt Inner Circle man Pitt defeated in court - who is standing for election as a Tory MP. Pitt must obtain information to stop Voisy's climb to political power. Then Pitt is ordered to Southampton Row, scene of the hideous murder of a spiritual medium. As the link between the spiritualist and political figures is revealed, the whispers of scandal grow louder. And with Charlotte in hiding for safety, Pitt must turn to his sister-in-law, Emily, to help him solve one of his most high-profile cases yet...

Headline

Come Armageddon

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Tathea, once Queen of Shinabar, has waited five hundred years for the birth of Sadokhar, who will create a golden age before facing the terrifying final battle - of the spirit and the body - with conviction and courage. Extraordinary and compelling, this apocalyptic epic fantasy is both breathtaking and profound.

Headline

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The One Thing More

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Feature

Tathea

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry