Related to: 'Revenge in a Cold River (William Monk Mystery and Book 22)'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

Twenty-One Days

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

TWENTY-ONE DAYS is the first in an exciting new generation of Pitt novels, featuring Daniel Pitt, by New York Times bestseller and queen of Victorian crime, Anne Perry.It is 1910 and the century is full of change. Sir Thomas Pitt, Head of Special Branch, has persuaded his son, Daniel, to take on his first case as a newly qualified barrister. Having successfully defended his client and made a lifelong friend, Daniel is summoned to the Old Bailey to assist in the defence of renowned biographer Russell Graves, who is accused of the brutal murder and disfigurement of his wife. When the jury finds him guilty, Graves is sentenced to be hanged in twenty-one days' time.Graves insists he has been framed and when Daniel discovers that Graves was writing a shocking exposé of Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt's former friend and mentor from Special Branch, he fears the worst . . . This exposé reveals state secrets so damning that someone might have wanted to silence him. And that 'someone' might be Daniel's father. With the reputations of those closest to him at stake, Daniel is in a race against time to uncover the truth and ensure that a man isn't sent to the gallows for a crime he didn't commit . . .

Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The queen of the Victorian mystery, New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the 32nd novel in the Inspector Pitt series MURDER ON THE SERPENTINE. Pitt is on a secret mission for the Queen, maybe his last...London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace. In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince's friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine. The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth. Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire. . .

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A New York Christmas (Christmas Novella 12)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A deadly act of terror on the Thames leads William Monk into a treacherous world... Blood on the Water is the twentieth novel in Anne Perry's William Monk mysteries, which draws the reader into a treacherous Victorian world where the powerful seek to buy justice, and no one is safe. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.'Engaging and sharply observed' - New York Times Book Review It is a time of progress, with the Empire's interests expanding and the contentious new Suez Canal nearing completion. Many people stand to gain - and to lose - as the world rapidly changes.When a Thames pleasure boat is blown up with the loss of many lives, an Egyptian man is quickly sentenced to hang for the crime. But William Monk, head of the River Police, discovers the evidence was flawed. As he and his wife Hester investigate further, Monk begins to wonder if the wrong man was convicted. If justice itself has been tainted, exposing the true culprit will be far more dangerous... What readers are saying about Blood on the Water: 'Perry is such a fine writer. Her descriptions are wonderfully evocative''This is another brilliant read - full of twists and turns and a really unexpected ending. Fantastic''Was an absolutely riveting read - I read a lot of Anne Perry's books as I love the twists and turns and unpredictability, I didn't see the end of this one coming at all'

Headline

A Christmas Hope (Christmas Novella 11)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Dorchester Terrace (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 27)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Promise (Christmas Novella 7)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A young girl is searching for the truth behind her uncle's death. Can she solve the mystery before the Christmas bells toll?

Headline

The Sheen on the Silk

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A brilliant standalone novel from Anne Perry, the undisputed master of the Victorian mystery.1273 - the gorgeous, cosmopolitan and enlightened city of Byzantium is in acute danger. Only an alliance with the Church of Rome will stop the crusading fervour of the Italian and French troops on its borders, determined to strike through Byzantium to reach Jerusalem. Faced with the prospect of surrendering its gentile Orthodox theology to Roman Catholicism, the city is in turmoil as opposing factions seek to assert their authority.For Anna, the brutal conflict only echoes her own life. Recently arrived in Byzantium to find out why her brother has been exiled for a murder she believes he did not commit, Anna is forced to pose as a eunuch so that she can move freely in all levels of society. As she does so she finds herself in the middle of intrigues that may not only free, or condemn, her brother, but will also determime the fate of Byzantium itself.

Headline

A Christmas Beginning (Christmas Novella 5)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The fifth in Anne Perry's series of charming Christmas novellas.For Superintendent Runcorn, Christmas has rarely looked so bleak. Believing that a change of scenery may help him finally forget Melisande Ewart, Runcorn heads for the beautiful, desolate Isle of Anglesey. Any hopes of Christmas passing quietly are dashed, however, when he discovers Melisande is also in Anglesey and, moreover, that she is engaged to another man. Then the local vicar's sister is found murdered and Melisande's brother is implicated in the crime. Determined to assist Melisande in her time of need, Runcorn resolves to find the killer. Is it possible in doing so, that he will also win the heart of his one true love?

Headline

A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Guest (Christmas Novella 3)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Journey (Christmas Novella 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When evidence presented in court by Thomas Pitt leads to the execution of a distinguished soldier and archaeologist, the retaliation from the hanged man's influential friends is swift. The murderer was a member of the Inner Circle, a group of men whose power extends further than Pitt realised was possible, and, within days, he loses command of the Bow Street police station. To protect him from the Inner Circle's hatred, he is forced to leave his family to work undercover in the dangerously volatile East End.

Headline

The One Thing More

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

It is January 1793. France is at war with Belgium, Prussia and Austria, and Louis XVI has just been sentenced to death. In Paris, a small group of people fears for the future of a throneless France surrounded by countries terrified that republican ideas - or anarchy - will spread throughout the continent. They are determined to rescue the king, but when their leader is murdered a plan must be pieced together and executed within three days.

Headline

Half Moon Street (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The body lies reclined in a punt, clothed in a torn dress, head thrown back in a mimic of ecstasy. It is a feminine pose but the body is distinctly male. The case already reeks of scandal and the body is not even cold. Pitt is the natural choice to investigate what he soon realises is the most unnatural of killings.

Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Feature

Tathea

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Her husband and beloved son assassinated, Tathea, once Queen of Shinabar, is alone and in exile. Numbed by grief, she takes refuge in the Lost Lands, where she tries desperately to find meaning in a life that has robbed her of her family, her home and her country. But in her quest for the truth, which takes her far beyond the physical world she knows, she discovers that it does not come without cost - terrible cost.