Related to: 'Hotel Chocolat: A New Way of Cooking with Chocolate'

November Book of the Month

Ian and Francesca are back...

Read an extract from BECAUSE WE BELONG, our book of the month by Beth Kery.

Headline

Double Fudge Brownie Murder

Joanne Fluke
Authors:
Joanne Fluke
Headline

Honey & Co: The Baking Book

Itamar Srulovich, Sarit Packer
Authors:
Itamar Srulovich, Sarit Packer

Our day is marked by what comes out of the pastry section, and there's always something good on the way: sticky buns full of cherries and pistachios in the morning; a loaf of rich dough rolled with chocolate, hazelnuts and cinnamon that has been proving since dawn and comes out of the oven fresh for elevenses. Lunch is a crisp, crumbly shell of pastry filled with spiced lamb or burnt aubergine, and at teatime there are cheesecakes and fruit cakes, small cakes and massive cookies - so many cakes that it's hard to choose one. (There's no need to worry, whatever you choose will be great!) After dinner there might be poached peaches with roses or something more traditional, sweet and salty Knafe drenched in orange blossom syrup, or maybe just a small piece of fresh marzipan. There's something sweet, something in the oven for everyone, all day long - welcome to Honey & Co.Chapters include:How to be good at baking: general notes; Store cupboard; Sweet & savoury breakfasts; Elevenses; Lunch; Teatime; Traditional desserts

Headline

Five Quarters

Rachel Roddy
Authors:
Rachel Roddy

WINNER OF THE GUILD OF FOOD WRITERS FIRST BOOK AWARD 2015 AND WINNER OF THE ANDRÉ SIMON FOOD BOOK AWARD 2015.'Of course I thought Rome was glorious, but I didn't want to stay. A month, three at most, then I'd take a train back to Sicily to finish the clockwise journey I'd interrupted, before moving even further southwards...'Instead, captivated by the exhilarating life of Testaccio, the wedge-shaped quarter of Rome that centres round the old slaughterhouse and the bustling food market, Rachel decided to rent a flat and live there. Thus began an Italian adventure that's turned into a brand new life. FIVE QUARTERS charts a year in Rachel's small kitchen, shopping, cooking, eating and writing, capturing a uniquely domestic picture of life in this vibrant, charismatic city. Combining Rachel's love of Italian food and cooking with a strong nostalgia for home and memories of growing up in England, this is a cookbook to read in bed as well as to use in the kitchen.Chapters include:Antipasti; Soup & Pasta; Meat & Fish; Vegetables; Dolci

Headline

Marmalade

Sarah Randell
Authors:
Sarah Randell
Headline

John Whaite Bakes At Home

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite

John Whaite, winner of the 2012 Great British Bake Off, bakes everywhere he goes - at food festivals, as a guest on the nation's top cookery shows, at Le Cordon Bleu school where he is perfecting his craft and as teacher at his new cookery school. Yet his favourite place to bake is still at home, creating delicious treats and feasts for his family and friends.In John Whaite Bakes At Home, John shares with us those recipes he saves for his nearest and dearest. The lunches, brunches and afternoon teas he whips up when his parents come to visit, the indulgent sweet bakes and savoury pizzas he has waiting when his friends come to stay, and the picnics, confectionery and special occasion cakes he prepares for, and with, his nieces and nephews. So whether you want a birthday cake to impress or a comfort food feast to welcome the whole family, if you're after straightforward homemade recipes with a modern twist, this is the book for you.

Headline Review

Driving Home for Christmas

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

You're in for a festive treat with Driving Home for Christmas by Emma Hannigan, the perfect winter warmer for fans of Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Patricia Scanlan. 'A wonderful storyteller' Cathy KellyChristmas at Huntersbrook House has always been a family tradition - log fires, long walks through the snowy fields and evenings spent in the local pub. And this year the three grown-up Craig children are looking forward to the holidays more than ever. Pippa to escape her partying lifestyle and mounting debts in Dublin; Joey the demands of his gorgeous girlfriend who seems intent on coming between him and his family; and Lainey to forget about her controlling ex and his recent engagement to another woman.But with the family livery yard in financial trouble, this Christmas could be the Craig family's last at Huntersbrook as they face the prospect of selling the ancestral house. As the holiday season gets underway, the family need to come up with a way to save their home, and face the problems they've been running away from in Dublin. And what better place to figure things out than around the fire at Huntersbrook House?

Headline Eternal

Fool For Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 1)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta
Headline Eternal

The Trouble With Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 2)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta
Headline

John Whaite Bakes: Recipes for Every Day and Every Mood

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite

John Whaite Bakes. He always has. Whether he is happy or sad, in love or heartbroken, on his own or with friends, he believes that whipping up his favourite dishes provides nourishment for both the body and the soul. Now, fresh from winning the 2012 Great British Bake Off, he wants to share his mouthwatering creations with us so we can find the perfect recipe to fit our mood too. There are comforting dishes here like Self-Saucing Chocolate Mud Pud and Pork, Apple and Thyme Sausage Rolls that will warm up the coldest of winter evenings, inspiring flavour combinations such as Fig and Rose Savarin and Salted Caramel Rum Babas, romantic dishes to share such as Pizza Puttanesca and Passionfruit Tart and some new showstoppers too, including the brand new Hellfire and Brimstone Cake. So, whether you need a pick-me-up for dinner or a lazy Sunday breakfast treat, John Whaite Bakes is full of indulgent, delicious recipes to suit your every day and every mood.

Anne Shooter

Anne Shooter's first book, Sesame & Spice, is shortlisted for the Guild of Food Writers' First Book Award. Anne is a food writer, recipe columist and blogger for the Daily Mail and Anne has also written for Delicious, the Jewish Chronicle, the Guardian and Women and Home and has also appeared at food festivals including Gefiltefest, the Oxford Foodie Festival and Aldeburgh.Her work also includes chairing tasting panels, hosting food events and judging awards on radio and TV as well as advising Marks & Spencer, Sainsbury's and the Red Tractor Campaign.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the author of eleven bestselling novels including The Perfect Gift, The Summer Guest and Driving Home for Christmas, and the bestselling memoir Talk to the Headscarf - an uplifting take on living with cancer. Emma lives in Co. Wicklow, Ireland, with her husband, two children, two cats and their Labradoodle Herbie.For more about Emma, visit her website www.emmahannigan.com, find her on Facebook /AuthorEmmaHannigan or follow her on Twitter @MsEmmaHannigan.

Ian Buxton

Ian Buxton is a former Marketing Director of Glenmorangie and has worked in the industry for nearly 30 years. He now runs a successful consultancy business. He was elected a Keeper of the Quaich in 1991, the highest honour of the Scotch whisky industry, and is a member of the international tasting panel for the annual World Whisky Awards and a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Distillers.Twitter: @101whiskies

Itamar Srulovich

Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer are a husband-and-wife team who together run Honey & Co in London's Fitzrovia. They first met ten years ago in a restaurant kitchen in Israel and arrived in London dreaming of high gastronomy and Michelin stars. Their tiny restaurant has ten tables and brings the magic of homely Middle Eastern soul food to a hungry crowd.

Joanne Fluke

Joanne Fluke is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Like her much-loved series character, Hannah Swensen, Joanne was born and raised in a small town in rural Minnesota, but now lives in sunny Southern California. She is currently at work on her next Hannah Swensen mystery and loves to hear from her readers. You can contact Joanne at Gr8Clues@aol.com, or by visiting her website at www.joannefluke.com.

John Whaite

John Whaite is the winner of BBC 2's The Great British Bake Off, 2012. He has been a keen baker and cook since he was a tiny tot, when he would spend many hours in the kitchen with his mum.From banking to baking, John was able to give up his mundane day job as a city commercial banker, to focus on the one thing he is truly obsessed with: food. In 2013 he fulfilled one of his lifelong dreams and attend Le Cordon Bleu in London to study the nine-month patisserie diploma.

Mary Berry

Mary Berry, the much-loved judge on The Great British Bake Off, is the author of more than 70 cookbooks with total sales of over 5 million. Mary is loved for her practical and unfussy approach to cooking. She gives many demonstrations around the country, but when she is at home, she loves to be with her family and tending her garden - her other great passion.

Mary Simses

Mary Simses spent much of her life in New England, where she worked in magazine publishing and later as a corporate attorney, writing fiction on the side. She lives in South Florida with her husband/law partner and their daughter.

Rachel Roddy

Rachel comes from just north of London but has lived in Testaccio, a distinctive working-class quarter of Rome, for over ten years. She shares a small flat near the food market with her partner Vincenzo and son Luca. She cooks and writes, and has a weekly column in Guardian Cook. Rachel's first book Five Quarters won the André Simon Food Book award in 2015, as well as the Guild of Food Writers' First Book award.racheleats.wordpress.com Follow Rachel on Twitter @racheleats Follow Rachel on Instagram @rachelaliceroddy

Sarah Randell

Sarah Randell is a food writer and editor and was Food Director at Sainsbury's Magazine for over ten years. She previously worked as food editor for Delia Smith's cookery books and on many of Delia's BBC TV programmes. Sarah lives in London with her husband and little boy Archie.Follow her on Twitter @2015bittersweetwww.potofmarmalade.uk

Seth Casteel

Seth Casteel is an award-winning pet photographer with a passion for working with animals. His series of underwater dog photographs have brought him worldwide attention, entertaining and bewildering millions of animal lovers. He is based in Los Angeles and Chicago and is the proud 'dad' to two dogs, Nala the mini-labradoodle and Fritz, the Norwich Terrier.