Related to: 'The Wit and Wisdom of Downton Abbey'

Headline

Downton Abbey - A Celebration

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes

Since the moment we first entered Downton Abbey in 1912, we have been swept away by Julian Fellowes' evocative world of romance, intrigue, drama and tradition. Now, in 1925, as Downton Abbey prepares to close its doors for the final time, Jessica Fellowes leads us through the house and estate, reliving the iconic moments of the wonderfully aristocratic Crawley family and their servants as they navigate the emerging modern age. Travelling from Great Hall to servants' hall, bedroom to boot room, we glimpse as we go Matthew and Isobel Crawley arriving for the first time, the death of Kemal Pamuk, Cora's tragic miscarriage, Edith's affair with Michael Gregson, Mary's new haircut, Thomas and O'Brien's scheming, Anna and Bates's troubles with the law, and Carson's marriage to Mrs Hughes.Alongside this will be in-depth interviews with the cast who have worked on the show for six years and know it so well. Packed full of stunning location shots and stills from all six series of the show including exclusive behind-the-scenes photography, this celebratory book is the ultimate gift for Downton Abbey fans the world over.

Headline Review

Footprints on the Sand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Dark-Eyed Girls

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

A terrible tragedy alters three girls' friendship forever... Set in the late 1960s and 1970s, Judith Lennox's The Dark-Eyed Girls tells the story of three friends, Liv, Katherine and Rachel, and their changing relationships over the years. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Lulu Taylor.'Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings' - Daily Mail Sweet, gentle Liv, seeking perfect love, marries the man of her dreams, who almost crushes the life out of her. Cynical, pragmatic Katherine, who throws herself into her career in order to avoid domesticity, embarks upon a risky affair and is suffocated by the very dependence she has fought to avoid. And Rachel, dearly loved Rachel who wants for nothing throughout her young life, marries against her parents' will, and then meets tragedy...The bond between Liv and Katherine weakens over time, but as Katherine uncovers the awful truth about Rachel, and Liv begins to put together the pieces of her shattered life, their friendship is reaffirmed and their lives go forward with dark-eyed girls of their own. What readers are saying about The Dark-Eyed Girls: 'The way Lennox follows the lives of the three individual girls is simply enchanting... I could not put this book down''A tremendous read''Lovely, lovely book that I couldn't put down'

Headline Review

The Glittering Strand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

A desperate fight for her birthright and freedom... Spiced with the colour and sensuous splendour of the sixteenth-century silk trade, Judith Lennox's The Glittering Strand is the triumphant story of a young woman's fight for independence. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.Serafina Guardi and her father, a wealthy silk merchant from Marseilles, are sailing to Italy to celebrate her betrothal when their ship is captured by Barbary corsairs. Serafina finds herself plunged into the unknown, brutal world of the North African slave states. From there, she begins the long struggle to free herself from servitude.Serafina's wit and beauty are tempered by her ruthlessness - a ruthlessness which eventually threatens to lose her both her lover and her child. Embattled by the prejudices of the age and by the ambitions of her treacherous cousin Angelo, Serafina fights against poverty, loneliness and despair, vowing to regain her lost inheritance - the Guardi silk house - at whatever cost. What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Ideal escapism''[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings''[Judith Lennox's] characters are marvellously drawn, and their lives draw the reader totally into the story'

Headline Review

The Italian Garden

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Secret Years

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

An epic novel of a great house and the love that consumed it... Judith Lennox's The Secret Years is a moving story about life in the East Anglian Fens after the First World War. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.During the golden summer of 1914, four young people played in the gardens of Drakesden Abbey. Nicholas and Lally were the children of the great house, set in the bleak and magical Fen country; Thomasine was the unconventional niece of two genteel maiden aunts in the village; Daniel was the son of the local blacksmith, a fiercely independent, ambitious boy who longed to break away from the stifling confines of his East Anglian upbringing. As the drums of war sounded in the distance, the Firedrake, a mysterious and ancient Blythe family heirloom disappeared, setting off an uncontrollable chain of events.The Great War changed everything, and both Nicholas and Daniel returned from the front damaged by their experiences. Thomasine, freed from the narrow disciplines of her childhood, and enjoying the new hedonism which the twenties brought, thought that she could escape from the ties that bound her to both Nicholas and Daniel. But the passions and enmities of their youth had intensified in the passing years, and the four friends had to experience tragedy and betrayal before the Firedrake made its reappearance and, with it, a new hope for the future. What readers are saying about The Secret Years: 'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive''What a page turner -a twisty turny tale!''A wonderfully written story... Couldn't put this book down'

Headline Review

The Winter House

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Some Old Lover's Ghost

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

History can repeat itself... Spanning the twentieth century, Some Old Lover's Ghost is a haunting and incredibly poignant love story from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Lucinda Riley.Rebecca, bruised from an unhappy love affair, is flattered to be asked to write the life story of distinguished Dame Tilda Franklin. Tilda was born in 1914 and grew up in a remote Fenland village, the illegitimate daughter of the local squire and a maid in the Big House. It was Tilda's misfortune to fall in love with handsome, devil-may-care Daragh Canavan, and to be betrayed by him.As Rebecca delves deeper into Tilda's life, and as the events of the past send ghostly echoes to the present, parallels with her own experience begin to emerge. And as she is drawn into a family history of loves and tragedies almost too painful to write about, her involvement with the family becomes more overwhelming than she could ever have imagined. What readers are saying about Some Old Lover's Ghost: 'Wonderful book, couldn't put it down and beautifully written''A warm believable story''Five stars'

Headline

A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey (companion to series 5)

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Headline Review

The Memory of Lost Senses

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn
Headline Review

The Turning Point

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

Adele Parks

Adele Parks worked in advertising until she published her first novel in 2000. Since then, her many Sunday Times bestsellers have been translated into twenty-six different languages. Adele spent her adult life in Italy, Botswana and London until 2005 when she moved to Guildford, where she now lives with her husband and son. Adele believes reading is a basic human right, so she works closely with The Reading Agency as an Ambassador for Reading Ahead, a programme designed to encourage adult literacy.Meet Adele! Visit her website for the latest news on her upcoming events: www.adeleparks.com, head to Facebook for exclusive extras: facebook.com/OfficialAdeleParks and chat with Adele on Twitter @adeleparks.

Bernie McGill

Bernie McGill was born and raised in Northern Ireland and attended Queen's University, Belfast. Her first novel, The Butterfly Cabinet, was published by Headline Review in 2011. Bernie is also the author of Sleepwalkers, a collection of short fiction (shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and a contributor to The Long Gaze Back (New Island, 2015), an acclaimed anthology of Irish women writers spanning four centuries, and has numerous theatre credits to her name. Bernie lives in Portstewart, Northern Ireland, with her family.

Daisy Goodwin

Daisy Goodwin's work as a TV producer and presenter includes Reader I Married Him, Bookworm and The Nation's Favourite Poems; she is also the creator of Grand Designs and wrote the script for ITVs Victoria . She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir as well as two novels, My Last Duchess and The Fortune Hunter. Goodwin reviews regularly for the Times and Sunday Times and writes a bibliotherapy column for the Daily Mail.

David Suchet

David Suchet trained at LAMDA and has had a long and successful career as a character actor, on television and on the stage. He is married with two children.

John Galsworthy

John Galsworthy was born on August 14, 1867, in Surrey and came from an established, wealthy family. Called to the Bar in 1890, he soon decided to abandon law and turn to writing. THE FORSYTE SAGA is his most celebrated work, but he was also a successful dramatist. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature in 1932.In 1891 Galsworthy met his cousin's wife Ada Nemesis Pearson and they embarked on a scandalous affair, eventually marrying after Ada's divorce in 1905. John Galsworthy died on January 31, 1933.

Judith Kinghorn

Judith Kinghorn was born in Northumberland, educated in the Lake District, and is a graduate in English and History of Art. She lives in Hampshire with her husband and two children.

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox grew up in rural Hampshire and studied at the University of Lancaster, where she met her husband Iain; they have three sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter. Judith lives with her husband in Cambridge.

Neale Simpson

The book was conceived and written by the key people behind the return of the series. Neale Simpson (Executive Producer), Chris Lore (Series Producer), Anna Kidd (Series Games Executive), Toby Smith (Development Executive) and Meral Taze (Games Producer) are all are self-confessed maze fanatics who had as much fun writing the book as they did running around the Aztec zone. Only one of them fell off a wet log in games testing. They asked for this information to be kept confidential. It was Meral.

Penny Vincenzi

Penny Vincenzi is one of the UK's best-loved and most popular authors. Since her first novel, Old Sins, was published in 1989, she has written several bestselling novels, including The Decision and A Perfect Heritage.Over seven million copies of Penny's books have been sold worldwide and she is universally held to be the 'doyenne of the modern blockbuster' (Glamour). Penny Vincenzi has four daughters, and divides her time between London and Gower, South Wales.