Related to: 'Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)'

Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray. September 1939As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own.With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress.Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm...As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...

Headline

London Calling

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

Alexandra Connor

Born in Lancashire and educated in Yorkshire, Alexandra Connor has had a rich variety of careers, including photographic model, cinema manager and PA to a world famous heart surgeon, but it is as a novelist that she has found her real forte. As well as writing over twenty acclaimed historical novels she has also written thrillers and non-fiction art books. When she isn't busy writing, Alexandra is a highly accomplished painter. She is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Anne Baker

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

Caspar Walsh

Caspar Walsh is a regular writer for BBC Radio 4, with broadcasts including the sixties gangster story Vincent Vice's Rainbow. The Prison Father, a critically acclaimed feature length docudrama, and the young offender docudrama, Inside Out, were based on his prison life experience. As a workshop facilitator in and out of prisons, he helps fathers and their families to rehabilitate by using his own experiences as an inspiration.

Dee Williams

Dee Williams was born and brought up in Rotherhithe in East London where her father worked as a stevedore in Surrey Docks. She lives in Hampshire, where she is also an active fundraiser for breast cancer awareness.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the No. 1 bestselling author of twelve novels including Letters to my Daughters, The Wedding Promise and The Perfect Gift. Her bestselling memoir, Talk to the Headscarf, was updated and revised as All To Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. and was also a top ten bestseller.

Glenda Young

Glenda Young credits her local library in the village of Ryhope, where she grew up, for giving her a love of books. She still lives close by in Sunderland and often gets her ideas for her stories on long bike rides along the coast. A life-long fan of Coronation Street, she runs two fan websites for which she sometimes interviews the cast of the show.For updates on what Glenda is working on, visit her website glendayoungbooks.com and to find out more find her on Facebook/GlendaYoungAuthor and Twitter @flaming_nora.

Hannah Doyle

Hannah Doyle likes to write so much that she went to university twice just so that she could call putting pen to paper (well...finger to keyboard) her profession. She started out at a press agency in Bristol before skipping off to London to be a celebrity journalist. During the five years she spent at Reveal magazine and, for reasons unknown, Hannah became the go-to girl for interviewing male stars during scantily clad photo shoots. She now lives with her husband in Yorkshire where she writes for women's magazines, runs a blog and faffs about on Instagram. THE YEAR OF SAYING YES is her debut novel. Join Hannah online!Twitter: @HannahShowbizInstagram: @byhannahdoyleFacebook: /byHannahDoyleBlog: www.thisishannah.co.uk

Harry Bowling

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.

Helen Carey

Helen Carey was born in Oxford and lived in London for many years. Before she began writing she had a range of jobs, including tour guide, army officer and management consultant. Her Lavender Road novels were inspired by a chance encounter with a neighbour who showed her the sites of the air-raid shelters on Clapham Common. She now lives in Wales with her husband and their two dogs.

Jennie Felton

Jennie Felton grew up in Somerset, where she lives today. She has written numerous short stories for magazines as well as a number of novels under a pseudonym. All The Dark Secrets is the first in her new series, The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas, about the lives and loves of the residents of a Somerset village beginning in the late nineteenth century.Vist Jennie on Facebook www.facebook.com/JennieFeltonAuthor and follow her on Twitter @Jennie_Felton for all her latest news.

Jennifer Robson

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and No. 1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of Somewhere in France, After the War Is Over and Moonlight over Paris. She studied French literature and modern history as an undergraduate at the University of Western Ontario-King's College, then obtained her doctorate in British economic and social history at St. Antony's College at the University of Oxford, England. To find out more about Jennifer visit her website: www.jennifer-robson.com or find her on Facebook /AuthorJenniferRobson, Twitter @AuthorJenniferR and Instagram @authorjenniferrobson.

Johanna Lindsey

Johanna Lindsey is world renowned for her 'mastery of historical romance' (Entertainment Weekly), with more than sixty million copies of her novels sold. She is the author of fifty-one previous bestselling novels, many of which reached the number one spot on the New York Times bestseller list. Johanna lives in New Hampshire with her family.

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox grew up in rural Hampshire and studied at the University of Lancaster, where she met her husband Iain; they have three sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter. Judith lives with her husband in Cambridge.

Karen Hawkins

Karen Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of some of the funniest and freshest Scottish romances. When not stalking hot Australian actors, getting kicked out of West Virginia thanks to the antics of her extended family, or adding to her considerable shoe collection, Karen is getting chocolate on her keyboard while writing her next delightfully fun and sexy historical romance.Find her online at www.karenhawkins.com, follow her on Twitter @TheKarenHawkins, and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AuthorKarenHawkins.