Related to: 'Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)'

Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

ON A WING AND A PRAYER by Helen Carey is a nostalgic and heart-warming novel of south London during the Second World War. The perfect read for fans of Ellie Dean, Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas.October 1941. London has been ravaged by war for two years now and life couldn't be tougher for those living on Lavender Road. Many loved ones have been lost and sacrifices made, but Lady Helen de Burrel is about to take the biggest risk yet.Inspired by the courage of her friends on this south London street, Helen volunteers to join the Special Operations Executive and puts her life in jeopardy for the sake of her country. But it's hard to know who to trust, and when her heart is on the line even love becomes dangerous.The war has changed everything, but one thing is certain; the women of Lavender Road will rally together, no matter what the future has in store...

Headline

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

In Helen Carey's poignant and nostalgic novel SOME SUNNY DAY, it's 1940, and two young women are growing up in a world full of drama and danger. Perfect reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas.September 1940As Luftwaffe bombs rain from the skies over London, the women of Lavender Road are fighting their own battles.Shy Katy Parsons has always been sheltered by her over-protective parents. The war is her chance to see life from beyond her bedroom window. Enrolling as a nurse was always her dream, but the reality is tougher than she ever imagined. And falling in love isn't all plain sailing either...Privileged Louise Rutherford secretly hoped the war would bring her some fun and romance. But far it has brought her pain and grief, and now she has a secret... something her strict father must never find out about.London during the Blitz is a dangerous place to live but the Lavender Road residents never stop believing their sunny day will come.

Headline

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray. September 1939As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own.With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress.Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm...As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...

Headline

London Calling

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

Alexandra Connor

Born in Lancashire and educated in Yorkshire, Alexandra Connor has had a rich variety of careers, including photographic model, cinema manager and PA to a world famous heart surgeon, but it is as a novelist that she has found her real forte. As well as writing over twenty acclaimed historical novels she has also written thrillers and non-fiction art books. When she isn't busy writing, Alexandra is a highly accomplished painter. She is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Anne Baker

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

Anne Blankman

Anne Blankman was born in upstate New York and studied at Union College, during which time she did an exchange in York, England - a place she's always dreamed of returning to. She has since worked as a youth services librarian. The idea for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG came to her after she learned about Hitler's beloved half niece who shared his luxurious Munich flat. Anne began wondering what it would have been like to be a young girl growing up within the Nazi elite's inner circle - and if it would have been possible to break free from it. This is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.anneblankman.com

Anne Goring

Anne Goring was born in Manchester and lived there until she married. She travelled with her husband to Singapore where they lived for six years before returning to the UK to live in South Devon.

Caspar Walsh

Caspar Walsh is a regular writer for BBC Radio 4, with broadcasts including the sixties gangster story Vincent Vice's Rainbow. The Prison Father, a critically acclaimed feature length docudrama, and the young offender docudrama, Inside Out, were based on his prison life experience. As a workshop facilitator in and out of prisons, he helps fathers and their families to rehabilitate by using his own experiences as an inspiration.

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.

Jennie Felton

Jennie Felton grew up in Somerset, where she lives today. She has written numerous short stories for magazines as well as a number of novels under a pseudonym. All The Dark Secrets is the first in her new series, The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas, about the lives and loves of the residents of a Somerset village beginning in the late nineteenth century.Vist Jennie on Facebook www.facebook.com/JennieFeltonAuthor and follow her on Twitter @Jennie_Felton for all her latest news.

Jennifer Johnston

Jennifer Johnston is one of the foremost Irish writers of her, or any, generation. She has won the Whitbread Prize (THE OLD JEST), the Evening Standard Best First Novel Award (for THE CAPTAINS AND THE KINGS), the Yorkshire Post Award, Best Book of the Year (twice, for THE CAPTAINS AND THE KINGS and HOW MANY MILES TO BABYLON?). She was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize with SHADOWS ON OUR SKIN.

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Joy Chambers

Joy Chambers is a company chairman, business woman, poet, philanthropist and fine-art collector who has been writing for over twenty years. A lover of history and never idle, Joy enjoys the extensive research required to set her books in the past, often during the World Wars. Joy says, 'My life is in the entertainment business. A skilfully written book can be read on many levels but it should always entertain. . . I attempt to do that.' She is married to media mogul Reg Grundy AC OBE PhD and they share their Bermuda home with their Shetland sheepdogs.

Jude Morgan

Jude Morgan, whose previous novels include PASSION and THE TASTE OF SORROW, was born and brought up in Peterborough on the edge of the Fens, and was a student on the University of East Anglia MA Course in Creative Writing under Malcolm Bradbury and Angela Carter.

Kate Tremayne

As a child, Kate Tremayne was fascinated with Greek mythology and from that grew her love of history and tales of valour and adventure. That passion for historical adventure, weaving fictional characters into real-life history dramas, is the driving force behind her writing. Her childhood holidays were spent in Cornwall and she still makes regular pilgrimages to the land whose beauty and atmospheric moods have always haunted her. Married with two children, Kate now lives in Sussex.

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.www.lynandrewsbooks.co.ukwww.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooksTwitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Lynda Page

Lynda Page was born and brought up in Leicester. The eldest of four daughters, she left home at seventeen and has had a wide variety of office jobs. She now spends the majority of her time helping her daughter and writing her novels in the peace and tranquillity of her daughter's holiday park in Epworth, North Lincolnshire.Follow her on twitter @LyndaPage9 and like her Facebook page: Lynda Page

Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, THE WHALEBOAT HOUSE, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, THE SAVAGE GARDEN, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, WAITING FOR DOGGO. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.