Related to: 'Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries and Book 18)'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

A powerful and passionate story of forbidden love set in Medieval England...Immersed in the colours and drama of medieval life, Paul Doherty's richly evocative novel, The Love Knot, combines fact and fiction to tell one of history's greatest but most secret love affairs. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy. Spring, 1297. Recently widowed Joanna of Acre, loving daughter of Edward I, is pleased at her father's unexpected visit. But Edward has heard a rumour of an inappropriate friendship between Joanna, still officially in widow's weeds, and penniless commoner Ralph Monthermer. Edward, believing he has proof of a clandestine affair, immures Joanna in a nunnery and imprisons Ralph within Bristol Castle. Henry Trokelowe, Edward's clerk, stops him killing Ralph, who is allowed to live while the cold, almost passionless Henry investigates. Ralph and Joanna's only chance of survival now lies in Henry's hands, but how can a confirmed bachelor even begin to understand the all-consuming passion binding them?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books''Fascinating''Five stars'

Headline

The Godless Man (Telamon Triology, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

An investigation into the mysterious woman known as Jeanne of Arc...The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty's gripping mystery, The Serpent Amongst the Lilies. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.At the behest of his master, Bishop Henry Beaufort, former criminal Matthew Jankyn is set among the followers of Jeanne d'Arc (the lilies). Charged with discovering whether Jeanne is really a saint, Jankyn must work out how best to ensure that the French war against the British can be foiled. But in spite of his lawless background, Jankyn comes to like Jeanne and to resent being pitted against her. But does Jeanne somehow know more about Jankyn's intentions than she is letting on, and what secrets is she keeping from him?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best''[You] lose yourself in the story''Five stars'

Headline

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Anarchy and unrest make for a deadly investigation...In the first journal of Roger Shallot, the Tudor sleuth writes of the murders and villainy perpetrated during the reign of King Henry VIII in Paul Doherty's masterful novel, The White Rose Murders. Perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom.'The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters' - Time OutIn 1517 the English armies have defeated and killed James IV of Scotland at Flodden and James's widow-queen, Margaret, sister to Henry VIII, has fled to England, leaving her crown under a Council of Regency.Roger Shallot is drawn into a web of mystery and murder by his close friendship with Benjamin Daunbey, the nephew of Cardinal Wolsey, first minister of Henry VIII. Benjamin and Roger are ordered into Margaret's household to resolve certain mysteries as well as to bring about her restoration to Scotland.They begin by questioning Selkirk, a half-mad physician imprisoned in the Tower. He is subsequently found poisoned in a locked chamber guarded by soldiers. The only clue is a poem of riddles. However, the poem contains the seeds for other gruesome murders. The faceless assassin always leaves a white rose, the mark of Les Blancs Sangliers, a secret society plotting the overthrow of the Tudor monarchy...What readers are saying about The White Rose Murders:'Roger is a rogue and a villain, but so engaging that the reader soon becomes entangled in the complex mysteries''The plots are always original and interesting and populated by a wonderful cast of characters''Paul Doherty has a great talent for describing the gory and realistic details of Tudor life and bases his story on facts, which make it credible as well as a very entertaining whodunit'

Headline

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It's 1308 and England hovers on the brink of civil war. Edward II, his wife Isabella and the royal favourite Peter Gaveston Earl of Cornwall, have been forced to retreat to the King's folly. Just an arrowshot away lie the Great Lords and Philip IV of France, who are demanding that the Earl of Cornwall be charged with high treason.Edward is trapped, and worse, he has learnt that Philip has the 'Poison Maiden' on his side, a formidable spy who did untold damage during his father's reign. As Edward tries in vain to unmask the identity of the spy, Mathilde, handmaiden to the Queen, also attempts to identify the source of this threat. Soon the crisis spills over into violence. The Lords attempt to take Gaveston by force and the King and his Court, including Mathilde, are forced to flee. As the enemy closes in, Mathilde finds herself embroiled in a life and death struggle for the English crown.

Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

By 1322, Mathilde of Westminster was considered the finest physician in London. But in her years as lady-in-waiting to Princess Isabella, she was drawn into the murky politics of the English court, where sudden, mysterious death was part of the tapestry of life. Many years later, Mathilde looks back and chronicles her turbulent life. With her sharp, suspicious intellect ready to distinguish between a fatality and an unnatural death, Mathilde is confronted by a host of chilling murders. The source of these horrors is the fierce political rivalry between Philip of France and Edward of England. This manifests itself in a series of gruesome killings, one of which actually took place during Edward II's Coronation, when a knight of the Royal Household, Sir John Baquelle was crushed to death.

Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

313 AD, and tempers are rising in Rome. The Emperor Constantine and his mother Helena are trying to make sense of the new Christian religion which is spreading through the Empire - but the Christians can't agree among themselves. Scholars are locked in a bitter struggle over whether Christ really was the son of God, and Constantine invites delegates from both sides to debate before him at his villa.Now strange things start to happen. Envoys from both sides are found murdered in a most macabre way. The villa is secretly attacked, and the Holy Sword is stolen. Helena calls on the help of her secret agent Claudia - that shrewd, unobtrusive detective - to untangle the dangerous web of intrigue. As she sets to work, the spy is also facing a crisis in her own life...

Headline

The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The House of Shadows

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In the late autumn of 1380, Brother Athelstan is busy enough. He and his parish council are preparing for the annual Christmas mystery play when a series of brutal murders occur at a Southwark tavern. Two young whores are found slain but their deaths are only the beginning of a series of gruesome killings which occur around the parish of St Erconwald's. A whole host of mysterious characters assemble to this pageant of murder: the Misericord, master thief and cunning man; the Judas man, a bounty hunter who tracks down outlaws and wolfheads; and finally the Knights of the Golden Falcon who assemble to celebrate their annual reunion. Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranstone have to resolve not only these grisly deaths but also their source - the Great Robbery of the Lombard treasure which occurred in Southwark some twenty years earlier...

Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

After the death of her husband Pharoh Tuthmosis II, Hatusu has confounded her critics by winning a great battle against the Mitanni. Aided by her lover, Senenmut, she is determined that all sections of Egyptian society should accept her as the first Pharaoh-Queen of Egypt - an acceptance that needs the favour and support of the priests. When a spate of killings takes place in the Divine Temple of Horus, the naturally superstitious priests interpret this as a sign of the Gods' disapproval of Hatusu's rule of Egypt. The royal city turns once again to respected judge Amerotke to find the truth.

Headline

By Murder's Bright Light

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It is the winter of 1379 and a sea of trouble is besetting England. French privateers attack the southern coast on a path to threaten London itself. In response an English flotilla of warships, with God's Bright Light in its number, has dropped anchor in the Thames. When the sun rises on their first morning, however, further mysteries are in store. The first mate and two of the crew of God's Bright Light have disappeared without trace.Sir John Cranston, the wine-loving Coroner of the City, and his clerk, the Dominican Monk, Brother Athelstan, are summoned to resolve the mysteries on board the ill-omened warship. In particular, they must search out the truth behind the death of Sir Henry Ospring, who had visited the ship's captain prior to his death only to be viciously stabbed to death in a tavern chamber. Could the events be connected? As Cranston and Brother Athelstan investigate, they find themselves in the thick of a bloody battle on the Thames as scandal, treason and murder rule the day.