Related to: 'An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery and Book 23)'

May Book Of The Month

It's Kam and Lin in Since I Saw You

Read an excerpt from Beth Kery's highly anticipated SINCE I SAW YOU... *Must be over 18 to read*

Headline

Twenty-One Days

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

TWENTY-ONE DAYS is the first in an exciting new generation of Pitt novels, featuring Daniel Pitt, by New York Times bestseller and queen of Victorian crime, Anne Perry.It is 1910 and the century is full of change. Sir Thomas Pitt, Head of Special Branch, has persuaded his son, Daniel, to take on his first case as a newly qualified barrister. Having successfully defended his client and made a lifelong friend, Daniel is summoned to the Old Bailey to assist in the defence of renowned biographer Russell Graves, who is accused of the brutal murder and disfigurement of his wife. When the jury finds him guilty, Graves is sentenced to be hanged in twenty-one days' time.Graves insists he has been framed and when Daniel discovers that Graves was writing a shocking exposé of Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt's former friend and mentor from Special Branch, he fears the worst . . . This exposé reveals state secrets so damning that someone might have wanted to silence him. And that 'someone' might be Daniel's father. With the reputations of those closest to him at stake, Daniel is in a race against time to uncover the truth and ensure that a man isn't sent to the gallows for a crime he didn't commit . . .

Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The queen of the Victorian mystery, New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the 32nd novel in the Inspector Pitt series MURDER ON THE SERPENTINE. Pitt is on a secret mission for the Queen, maybe his last...London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace. In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince's friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine. The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth. Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire. . .

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A New York Christmas (Christmas Novella 12)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Hope (Christmas Novella 11)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

1857. After the fire of mutiny has swept through British India, young Lieutenant Victor Narraway arrives at a battered military base at Cawnpore. It is just two weeks before Christmas, but no one is able to celebrate: they have been betrayed. A soldier under arrest for dereliction of duty has killed a guard and escaped to join the rebels, taking crucial information that led to the massacre of nine men on patrol. Someone must have helped him, and medical orderly John Tallis is the only man unaccounted for at the time. He is now on trial for his life, and Narraway is commanded to defend him.Narraway knows that his is an impossible task. The British Army needs justice to be carried out in full, and there seems no doubt of Tallis's guilt. But Narraway cannot see any motive for his actions. Will an innocent man hang before Christmas?

Headline

Dorchester Terrace (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 27)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Tathea

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A quest for the truth leads to events that no one could have foreseen... In Anne Perry's first foray into fantasy, Tathea is a remarkable novel of revenge, adventure and the search for enlightenment. Perfect for fans of David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist. 'Ambitious, engrossing... she has devised here a powerful, inventive meditation on the possibilities that lie in and beyond the origin of religion' - Publishers WeeklyHer husband and beloved son assassinated, Tathea, once Queen of Shinabar, is alone and in exile. Numbed by grief, she takes refuge in the Lost Lands, where she tries desperately to find meaning in a life that has robbed her of her family, her home and her country. But in her quest for the truth, which takes her far beyond the physical world she knows, she discovers that it does not come without cost - terrible cost. What readers are saying about Tathea: 'This work is [Anne Perry's] tour de force' 'The work's strongest point is the elegant, warm descriptive passages which Perry uses to evoke images of the landscapes... Her towns and cities have a life and character beyond that of their residents and the events that occur there''A remarkable, clever and poignant book that defies the norms of modern fantasy and demands to be read' Don't miss the remarkable sequel: Come Armageddon

Headline

A Christmas Promise (Christmas Novella 7)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Sheen on the Silk

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A brilliant standalone novel from Anne Perry, the undisputed master of the Victorian mystery.1273 - the gorgeous, cosmopolitan and enlightened city of Byzantium is in acute danger. Only an alliance with the Church of Rome will stop the crusading fervour of the Italian and French troops on its borders, determined to strike through Byzantium to reach Jerusalem. Faced with the prospect of surrendering its gentile Orthodox theology to Roman Catholicism, the city is in turmoil as opposing factions seek to assert their authority.For Anna, the brutal conflict only echoes her own life. Recently arrived in Byzantium to find out why her brother has been exiled for a murder she believes he did not commit, Anna is forced to pose as a eunuch so that she can move freely in all levels of society. As she does so she finds herself in the middle of intrigues that may not only free, or condemn, her brother, but will also determime the fate of Byzantium itself.

Headline

A Christmas Beginning (Christmas Novella 5)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The fifth in Anne Perry's series of charming Christmas novellas.For Superintendent Runcorn, Christmas has rarely looked so bleak. Believing that a change of scenery may help him finally forget Melisande Ewart, Runcorn heads for the beautiful, desolate Isle of Anglesey. Any hopes of Christmas passing quietly are dashed, however, when he discovers Melisande is also in Anglesey and, moreover, that she is engaged to another man. Then the local vicar's sister is found murdered and Melisande's brother is implicated in the crime. Determined to assist Melisande in her time of need, Runcorn resolves to find the killer. Is it possible in doing so, that he will also win the heart of his one true love?

Headline

A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Guest (Christmas Novella 3)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Journey (Christmas Novella 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Attending the party and taking a leading role in the ensuing investigation is one of the most beloved characters from Anne Perry's Thomas Pitt series: Lady Vespasia Cumming-Gould. Lady Vespasia's friend Isobel has made a cruel remark about Gwendolen Kilmuir on the night Gwendolen was meant to have become engaged to the eligible Bertie Rosythe. Gwendolen flees the room, and the next morning her body is found in the lake in the gardens of the estate. It appears she has jumped from the bridge. The host, Omegus Jones and Vespasia decide to find who or what might have led Gwendolen to resort to such an extreme measure. They vow to make the guilty party seek forgiveness and expiation through the task of taking a sealed letter written by Gwendolen before her death to her mother up in the north of Scotland.The journey will be both physically and emotionally arduous but will bring answers to some unexpected and profound questions.

Headline

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The One Thing More

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Half Moon Street (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The body lies reclined in a punt, clothed in a torn dress, head thrown back in a mimic of ecstasy. It is a feminine pose but the body is distinctly male. The case already reeks of scandal and the body is not even cold. Pitt is the natural choice to investigate what he soon realises is the most unnatural of killings.

Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When a man is found murdered on the doorstep of a respectable house in Bedford Square, Victorian England's finest and most controversial policeman, Thomas Pitt, is called immediately to the scene. The only clue to the victim's identity is a silver snuff box found on the body, curiously at odds with the man's dishevelled appearance. Pitt soon discovers that the box, and the house where the body was found, belong to General Balantyne, a man Pitt knows to be a pillar of the community. He is dismayed to learn that Balantyne can barely recall the evening, let alone account for his movements.