Related to: 'An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery and Book 23)'

May Book Of The Month

It's Kam and Lin in Since I Saw You

Read an excerpt from Beth Kery's highly anticipated SINCE I SAW YOU... *Must be over 18 to read*

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Pitt is on a secret mission for Queen Victoria, which may be his last... New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the thirty-second novel in the Thomas Pitt mystery series, Murder on the Serpentine. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.'Master storyteller Anne Perry moves closer to Dickens as she lifts the lace curtain from Victorian society to reveal its shocking secrets' - Sharyn McCrumb London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace. In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince's friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine. The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth. Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire... What readers are saying about Murder on the Serpentine: '[An] enjoyable, well written and artfully plotted mystery from Anne Perry''Once again, the author has surpassed herself... a book that I had great difficulty putting down''Five stars'

Headline

Farriers' Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Death On Blackheath (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 29)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Blind Justice (William Monk Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Will Pitt be able to uncover the unspeakable truth behind two women's deaths? Loyal, honest and, above all, principled. There is no finer detective in Victorian London than Thomas Pitt; the protagonist of Anne Perry's acclaimed mysteries. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.'Sweeping and scandalous... Perry has perfected a delicate touch' - New York Times Book Review It is 1896, and Thomas Pitt is in charge of Special Branch. He is beginning to understand the power he now commands, but is still ill at ease at the glittering events he and his wife Charlotte must attend. During a lavish party at the Spanish Embassy, a policeman breaks into Pitt's conversation with investor Rawdon Quixwood to break the terrible news that Quixwood's wife, Catherine, has been viciously assaulted at their home, and left for dead. Worse still, it appears that the assailant was someone she had trusted as she opened the door to the attacker herself. At the same party, Charlotte sees Angeles Castelbranco, an ambassador's daughter, flinch in fear at the teasing of some young men. A few days later, she flees from the same group and, in her terror, falls from a window - what could have caused her to take that fatal step? Pitt and his friend Victor Narraway vow to uncover the unspoken truth behind these two women's deaths. But as they investigate, deception and violence get ever nearer and danger is only ever one step away... What readers are saying about Midnight at Marble Arch: 'The story is very compelling and keeps you guessing until the end' 'Intelligent, gritty... and heartfelt''Excellent. Brilliant story and superb characterisation'

Headline

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Mystery, Book 18)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Headline

Dorchester Terrace (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 27)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Treachery and ambition collide with devastating consequences... With a traitor among his ranks, Pitt has a difficult case on his hands in Dorchester Terrace, the twenty-seventh novel in Anne Perry's Thomas Pitt mystery series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'The always clever Anne Perry infuses Dorchester Terrace with the right amount of intrigue and complex relationships that have made this prolific series one of the finest in modern mystery fiction' - Bookreporter 1896. Newly promoted to Head of Special Branch, Thomas Pitt is forced to face the danger his new position brings when he uncovers the work of a traitor in his department. Not knowing who to trust, he must unmask the conspirator, whist simultaneously protecting a suspected target, Austrian state visitor Duke Alois. Meanwhile, Victor Narraway is investigating the mysterious death of Serafina Monserrat. Once the holder of many sensitive, political secrets, Serafina had suffered from dementia in her later years and Narraway is unsure whether what he has uncovered is the confused ramblings of an old woman, or a catastrophic plot which could trigger a major international war. As the two investigations come ever closer it is clear that bluff and double-bluff are at play. When Pitt finally comes face to face with the suspected traitor will he, knowing the fate of the world is at stake, find the strength to stop the man by any means necessary? What readers are saying about Dorchester Terrace: 'Ms. Perry's attention to period detail is astonishing''Good tension and suspense with a very good twist which catches both the reader, and the protagonist, unawares''As always, the setting is perfect, the plot is interesting and the story is conducted with a sure hand'

Headline

A Christmas Journey (Christmas Novella 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Come Armageddon

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

With the gates of Hell open, the fighting will not cease until the final war is won... Extraordinary and compelling, this apocalyptic epic fantasy from acclaimed author Anne Perry, is both breath-taking and profound. Perfect for fans of David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist. 'Nothing short of amazing' - SFX MagazineTathea, once Queen of Shinabar, has waited five hundred years for the birth of Sadokhar, who will create a golden age before facing the terrifying final battle - of the spirit and the body - with conviction and courage. What readers are saying about Anne Perry: 'A remarkable, clever and poignant book that defies the norms of modern fantasy and demands to be read''[Anne Perry's] books are always gripping and beautifully written''Breathtaking to the last page'

Headline

Southampton Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 22)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

An enemy more deadly than any Pitt has faced before... Murder, spiritualism and corruption are all at play in Anne Perry's gripping novel, Southampton Row, the twenty-second mystery in the Thomas Pitt mystery series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.'Exciting and explosive climax to this finely crafted period piece' - Coventry Evening Telegraph Despite Thomas Pitt's success in the Whitechapel case, the secretive Inner Circle prevents his returning to the Bow Street police as Superintendent. Pitt's next task for Special Branch is to investigate Charles Voisy - the corrupt Inner Circle man Pitt defeated in court - who is standing for election as a Tory MP. Pitt must obtain information to stop Voisy's climb to political power. Then Pitt is ordered to Southampton Row, scene of the hideous murder of a spiritual medium. As the link between the spiritualist and political figures is revealed, the whispers of scandal grow louder. And with Charlotte in hiding for safety, Pitt must turn to his sister-in-law, Emily, to help him solve one of his most high-profile cases yet... What readers are saying about Anne Perry: 'The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets''[Anne Perry's] books are always gripping and beautifully written' 'Five stars'

Headline

Tathea

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Visitor (Christmas Novella 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

Shoulder the Sky (World War I Series, Novel 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

In April 1915 Joseph Reavley is serving as chaplain on the Front Line at Ypres. The war that should have been 'over by Christmas' has already decimated the British Expeditionary Force. To Joseph's sector comes an ambitious young war correspondent determined to expose the horrors of trench life. But before he can dispatch his piece, he is found dead in no-man's-land. Still seeking the man behind his parents' murder, and to protect his sister Judith from the pain of an impossible romance, Joseph must find the truth. His search takes him to London and the beaches of Gallipoli, and at last to face a desperate moral judgement which challenges every belief he holds.

Headline

The Shifting Tide (William Monk Mystery, Book 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Seven Dials (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Every night Hester Monk tends to women of the streets who have been injured as a result of their trade. But the injuries are becoming more serious, and now a body has been discovered in one of the area's brothels. The dead man is the respected head of a successful railway company, Nolan Baltimore. With calls for the police to clean up the streets, Hester decides she must intervene to protect these women who stand to lose everything. Meanwhile her husband, William Monk, is investigating a possible fraud at Baltimore and Sons. As Monk endeavours to prevent a serious crime from taking place, he faces some staggering revelations, and finds that the time has come to confront his own demons - even if it means losing all he holds dear...

Headline

The One Thing More

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry