Related to: 'The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley'

Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves - along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

Headline Review

Another Woman's Husband: From the #1 bestselling author of The Secret Wife a sweeping story of love and betrayal behind the Crown

Gill Paul
Authors:
Gill Paul
Tinder Press

Love and Trouble: Memoirs of a Former Wild Girl

Claire Dederer
Authors:
Claire Dederer

A hilarious, confrontational and moving story of one woman's attempts to navigate her way through the challenges of mid-life, for lovers of HOW TO BE A WOMAN and I'M NOT WITH THE BAND. 'Claire Dederer is not only a brilliant author, but an honest and brave one' Elizabeth Gilbert, author of EAT, PRAY, LOVEClaire Dederer's youth was wild, an endless cascade of beer and rock and acid and sex that left her benumbed and adrift. But then, after two decades of disciplined transformation, she'd become a successful writer, a faithful wife, and a mother - a real adult. That is, until one morning at 44, she found herself overcome by the same sexual cravings and ineffable sadness of her younger years. The hedonistic girl, 'that crazy bitch', was back - or had she never left?Frank and disarming, seductive and hilarious, Love and Trouble: A Mid-life Reckoning is Dederer's attempt to reckon with those urges, and to reconcile the girl she'd been with the woman she's become.

Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman

The gripping sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog. The epic tale of one young woman racing to save the man she loves during one of history's darkest hours. For fans of The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.' 'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity on Prisoner of Night and Fog Gretchen Muller has three rules for her new life:1. Blend into the surroundings2. Don't tell anyone who you really are3. Never, ever go back to GermanyGretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. When she made an enemy of her former friends, she fled Munich for Oxford with her love, Daniel Cohen. But then a telegram calls Daniel back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down when he is accused of murder. To save Daniel, Gretchen must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture by the Nazi elite. As they work to clear Daniel's name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler find them first?

Headline

The Dark Beneath

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline

Prisoner of Night and Fog

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman

An ordinary girl faces an extraordinary choice in this gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.' 'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity Munich, 1931. Gretchen Muller has been cherished and protected by Adolf Hitler ever since her father, a senior Nazi officer, sacrificed himself to save the life of the Führer. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more, under the command of her 'Uncle Dolf'. But secrets cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen meets a young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, and the motives of her dearest friends now in question, Gretchen must risk everything to determine her own allegiances - even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.

Headline

Kindred

Octavia E. Butler
Authors:
Octavia E. Butler

Kindred is Hugo and Nebula Award winner Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece. An essential read which explores themes of racial and gender identity with insight and originality, for fans of the Hulu TV adaptation of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. 'A shattering work of art' Los Angeles Herald-Examiner On her twenty-sixth birthday, Dana and her husband are moving into their apartment when she starts to feel dizzy. She falls to her knees, nauseous. Then the world falls away.She finds herself at the edge of a green wood by a vast river. A child is screaming. Wading into the water, she pulls him to safety, only to find herself face to face with a very old looking rifle, in the hands of the boy's father. She's terrified. The next thing she knows she's back in her apartment, soaking wet. It's the most terrifying experience of her life ... until it happens again.The longer Dana spends in nineteenth century Maryland - a very dangerous place for a black woman - the more aware she is that her life might be over before it's even begun.

Headline

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 15)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

The Loveday Conspiracy (Loveday series, Book 10)

Kate Tremayne
Authors:
Kate Tremayne

Conspiracy and deadly secrets are at the heart of this powerful historical drama in the tradition of Poldark and Daphne du Maurier Proud, imposing and savagely beautiful, Trevowan Manor has been home to the Lovedays of Cornwall for generations. But a foolish mistake means the house has been lost at the throw of a dice. And headstrong Adam Loveday vows to punish the man responsible. Forced from her beloved home, Adam's stepmother Amelia tries to look to the future. But her wayward son Richard remains a shadow over her heart. When he deceives her yet again, she is forced to make a devastating choice. Convicted highwayman Japhet Loveday has his own demons. He cannot rest until he finds the man whose false charges destroyed his life. Even if the hunt takes him to the dark corners of Royalist France - and into the heart of a deadly conspiracy...

Tinder Press

The Good Thief

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti

Set in the wild, seamy and extremely strange America of the nineteenth century: a historical novel so brilliantly-written, so richly involving and so touching that you never want it to end.Young Ren is missing his parents and a hand and doesn't know what happened to any of them. So he is beginning to fear that he will never be claimed from his cold New England orphanage: that his dream of a family - of a life - will come to nothing. But one day a glamorous stranger arrives at the orphanage. To Ren's astonishment, the handsome, charming Benjamin Nab says he is his brother, come to bring him home. And even when his stories grow more and more extraordinary, when he puts Ren's life in danger again and again and sets him first to theft and then to grave-robbing, Ren cannot quite abandon hope. That one day all the hunger and danger and unwanted excitement will be worth it, that he will find a family, at last. But whether Benjamin is to be trusted is another story

Headline

Private Eyes (Alex Delaware series, Book 6)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline Review

Kiss Me Quick

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore
Headline

A Lucky Break

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page

All Connie Monroe has ever wanted is to be a hotel receptionist. She is overjoyed, therefore, when Captain Fosedyke, the manager of the Connaught where she works as a chambermaid, gives her a lucky break and invites her to prove her worth on the reception desk. Then the inexperienced owner of the hotel, Miss Griffin, arrives to regain control of the neglected business and Connie grabs the opportunity to show how resourceful she can really be. For, despite their different backgrounds, Connie Monroe and Edelina Griffin are about to discover they have a lot in common as they fight for the survival of the hotel. But someone doesn't want them to succeed...

Headline Review

Sleeping Around

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore
Tinder Press

Animal Crackers

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti
Headline Review

Play it Again?

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore

In the wilds of Norfolk, Dylan is mending his broken heart by rebuilding his house. Next door, Ellie gazes longingly at him over the fence, while her mother Fliss contemplates a school reunion. Should she risk an encounter with her first crush? Meanwhile Dylan's once-famous father Alex, arriving a little late in his son's life, is also recalling the perils of first love - but will Marie return Alex's renewed affection? Can an old rock star recapture the magic of his first hit?

Headline Review

Pure Fiction

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore
Headline Review

Country Loving

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore
Headline

Now or Never

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page

When Maddie Ashman is tricked into giving up her baby for adoption she is utterly devastated. Her mother has convinced Maddie that she has no choice, as the child is illegitimate and the father has deserted her. But this is the final straw for Maddie and she knows she must leave home. It's now or never. But who can she to turn for help? Catching the train to Leicester, she goes in search of the one person who might take her in - even though she has no idea where they live. And when she gets a job in a funeral parlour she discovers that life is full of surprises - for love and laughter can be found in the most unlikely places!

Hannah Tinti

Hannah Tinti grew up in Salem, Massachusetts and has worked as a writer, editor and teacher. She is the author of the short story collection ANIMAL CRACKERS and co-founder and editor-in-chief of One Story magazine. Her first novel, THE GOOD THIEF, was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, winner of the Centre for Fiction's First Novel Prize and a recipient of the American Library Association's Alex Award. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.