Related to: 'Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)'

Headline

A Knife to the Heart (Ikmen Mystery 21)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A body is found in the ruined Constantinople hippodrome: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the historic but now squalid areas of Istanbul that her enemy, property developer Ahmet Oden, seeks to destroy and rebuild. As Ikmen searches for the lost child and the truth behind her death, the people of Istanbul rise up in protest against their government in Gezi Park, and the city lurches into chaos and anger. Against this background, Ikmen will unravel a tale of ancient hostility and modern desires, where the truth is concealed within the secret history of this antique city.(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House. A crumbling Ottoman mansion, and once the home of a princess, it is a place associated with ill fortune. The princess's four children, now in old age, still live in separate apartments on different floors and are rumoured never to speak to each other. Then one of them is found dead, stabbed through the heart, and it is discovered that the other three siblings have met an identical fate. There is no sign of forced entry or burglary, and all evidence must be gained from letters and diaries, but as Inspector Ikmen digs into their past it becomes clear they have been harbouring a secret...Meanwhile a young couple are arrested for a series of seemingly random killings on the streets of Istanbul. They claim to have been squatting in the Devil's House. But this fiendish mystery is far from over and it will take Inspector Ikmen to the darkest and most devilish depths of this ancient city.

Headline

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 15)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

When Inspector Cetin Ikmen is invited to a murder mystery evening at Istanbul's famous Pera Palas Hotel he finds himself embroiled in a deadly game of life imitating art. Halfway through the evening, one of the actors is found actually dead in the room where Agatha Christie used to stay when she was in Istanbul. Walking in the steps of the great, Ikmen experiences fear and hatred which have echoes deep in his own and his country's past.

Headline

Dead of Night (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 14)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Inner city murder crosses two continents... Barbara Nadel's gripping Turkish crime novel tackles the treacherous and seedy underworld of Detroit's gang warfare. Dead of Night is the fourteenth thriller in the critically acclaimed Inspector Ikmen series, sure to enthral fans of Anne Zouroudi and Peter May. 'In the fascinating company of Inspector Ikmen... Inter-gang drug war and racial prejudice are only two of the ingredients stirred into the incendiary mix that is Dead of Night' - Good Book GuideInspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman from Istanbul are sent to a policing conference in Detroit, but little can prepare them for the corruption that lies at its heart. When Ezekial Goins, an elderly man of Turkish descent approaches them to crack the long-unsolved murder of his son, a quiet trip takes a far more sinister turn. As they delve deeper into the case, the pair find themselves immersed in a terrifying world of inter-gang drug war and racial prejudice that puts them in mortal danger, and forces Ikmen to confront some demons of his own...What readers are saying about Dead of Night:'Dead of Night is a spider web of a book: lots of sticky strands perfectly woven together''One of the best books in the series''Nadel's Detroit is vividly rendered and clearly well researched. She skilfully excavates the unexpected links within the city's fractured communities'

Headline

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Noble Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 13)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 12)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Last Rights (Francis Hancock Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

After the Mourning (Francis Hancock Mystery 2)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

After the Mourning is the second novel in the acclaimed Francis Hancock World War Two crime series by Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker and Maureen Jennings. 'The denouement is exciting... the atmosphere of a city under nightly bombardment is very well portrayed and I'm looking forward to the next book' - Sunday Telegraph Undertaker Francis Hancock has seen the worst that humanity can do to itself. Why then does the murder of a young gypsy girl in Epping Forest move him so much? Travellers, gypsies, the homeless, deserters and German spies inhabit this stretch of open ground that was once her home. Francis knows it's not wise to delve into this human melting pot, but he is drawn to the exotic customs of the gypsies, their music and magic. But as he investigates the girl's murder further, the death toll rises and Francis uncovers a much bigger conspiracy, at the heart of which lies something even Adolf Hitler is prepared to kill for...What readers are saying about After the Mourning:'Probably one of the best books I have read in a long while''I'd recommend this book to lovers of atmospheric and well-plotted crime novels' 'Nadel's sense of time and place is outstanding'

Headline

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A killer with means but no motive, and the body count is rising... Love and greed make a deadly combination in the riveting ninth crime novel in Barbara Nadel's Inspector Ikmen series. A Passion for Killing is the perfect read for fans of Adrian Magson and Donna Leon.'Nadel's novels take in all of Istanbul - the mysterious, the beautiful, the hidden, the banal... Fascinating' - Scotland on Sunday A serial killer is stalking the streets of Istanbul, seemingly targeting gay men. A man is found dead in a hotel room, a single stab wound in his heart. Could he be a victim of the 'Peeper'?Inspector Mehmet Suleyman is assigned to the case, and is shocked to discover that the victim's body has been delivered to forensics entirely 'clean'. Has someone tampered with vital evidence? Meanwhile a young carpet dealer, on the brink of a huge sale, is discovered in the mangled remains of his Jeep, a bullet between his shoulder blades. The deal would have made him - the carpet he wanted to sell used to belong to Lawrence of Arabia. Did the young salesman know too much? Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Suleyman uncover an incredible story and quickly realise that behind even the most respectable facade lurk passion, savagery and madness...What readers are saying about A Passion for Killing:'A well-plotted thriller with a large cast of regular characters with whom you can empathise with''Great page turner''This doesn't fail to keep up the pace and intrigue found in the others [from the Inspector Ikmen series]'

Headline

Deadly Web (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 7)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Dance with Death (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 8)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

An unholy crime. An undiscovered body. An unrepentant killer...Dance with Death explores sex, jealousy and murder in a remote Turkish village - a riveting crime novel from award winning Barbara Nadel. The perfect read for fans of Adrian Magson and Mario Giordano. 'Part of its appeal is the exotic settings and characters, especially the colourful little cameos which remain in the memory' - Sunday Telegraph A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Who is she and who killed her? Inspector Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate but discovers a complex web of intrigue. Was it her boyfriend, driven mad by love, or her husband, believing she would never bear the son he wanted so badly? When it is revealed the girl was pregnant when she died, the whispers and accusations increase. Ikmen, stifled among a rural community thriving on legend, folklore and intrigue, begins to think he will never see clearly through the lies surrounding this case. One thing, however, is clear: the past is as potent as the present.What readers are saying about Dance with Death:'Great insight into the problems of a country still divided by different traditions and approaches to the 21st century' 'Another intriguing investigation for Inspector Ikmen''Rich in atmosphere and characterisation'

Headline

Sure and Certain Death

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The chilling World War Two crime mystery by the award-winning author Barbara Nadel; fourth in the highly popular Francis Hancock series. East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Francis' sister, Nancy, knew the victim. Then, shockingly, two more murders follow. Rumours start to spread through the East End about another Jack the Ripper. When a fourth woman is murdered, Nancy admits that she knew all of the victims, and Francis sets out to find the killer, discovering a trail of murderous resentment that goes back decades...

Headline

Ashes to Ashes (Francis Hancock Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Passion for Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 9)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Summer in Istanbul is hot. The kind of heat that can drive even the sanest people a little crazy...An elderly woman is found dead in a flat with the perfectly preserved body of a young man. In an ancient part of the Jewish quarter, two children are missing. Their father, an artist whose genius borders on insanity, only seems more driven in his work. And a raid on a Russian gangster yields nothing except the dead body of a girl he claims is his daughter. Could the connection to all cases lie in a macabre forgotten art? But Inspector Cetin Ikmen's worries aren't just work-related. His protégé, Suleyman, is going dangerously off the rails, threatening to compromise not just himself but months of painstaking investigation. Ikmen faces a complex case which threatens to rock the very fabric of Turkish society.