Related to: 'The Last Legionnaire (Jack Lark and Book 5)'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Untitled (Jack Lark, Book 8)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter. Expect hard fighting, dangerous bandoleros and double-crossing aplenty as Jack arrives in Mexico. A must-read military adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better' Matthew Harffy 'Enthralling' The Times on the Jack Lark series 1863, the Deep South. Navy Colt in hand, Jack Lark - the roguish English hero dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley' - is drawn into escorting a valuable wagon train of cotton from Louisiana all the way down to Mexico. Meanwhile, civil war continues to rage across America...

Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Jack Lark Library

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Lone Warrior (Jack Lark, Book 4)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Devil's Assassin (Jack Lark, Book 3)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Jack Lark is The Devil's Assassin who stalks the streets of Bombay in this exhilarating and dangerous adventure by Paul Fraser Collard. History 'blazes across the pages' (Anthony Riches) in this series that will appeal to readers of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.Bombay, 1857. Jack Lark is living precariously as an officer when his heroic but fraudulent past is discovered by the Devil - Major Ballard, the army's intelligence officer. Ballard is gathering a web of information to defend the British Empire, and he needs a man like Jack on his side. Not far away, in Persia, the Shah is moving against British territory and, with the Russians whispering in his ear, seeks to conquer the crucial city of Herat. The Empire's strength is under threat and the army must fight back. As the British march to war, Jack learns that secrets crucial to the campaign's success are leaking into their enemies' hands. Ballard has brought him to the battlefield to end a spy's deceit. But who is the traitor?THE DEVIL'S ASSASSIN sweeps Jack Lark through a thrilling tale of explosive action as the British face the Persian army in the inky darkness of the desert night.

Headline

Jack Lark: Redcoat (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Redcoat by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressPrivate Jack Lark wears his red coat with pride. Though life in Queen Victoria's service is tough, he relishes the camaraderie of Aldershot barracks, and four years' harsh discipline hasn't blunted his desire to be more than just a Redcoat. When he learns that Captain Sloames needs a new orderly, Jack is determined to prove his worth both to the officer and to Molly, the laundry girl who has caught his eye. But standing in his way is Colour Sergeant Slater, a cruel and vicious bull of a man who loathes Jack, and is longing for the chance to ruin his ambition...

Headline

Jack Lark: Recruit (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Recruit by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressForced to leave London, young recruit Jack Lark is determined to make his way as a Redcoat. Despite the daily tirades of Sergeant Slater, a sadistic monster of a man who sees his new trainees as the scum of the earth, Jack holds on to his belief that the Army will give him a better life. His comrades are a rough and ready bunch, and Jack falls in with Charlie Evans, a cheerful young clerk who quickly comes to regret joining up. But once you've taken the Queen's Shilling, there is no way out: deserters always pay the highest price. As Charlie schemes to escape, Jack, always a loyal friend, is forced into an impossible situation where the wrong move could leave him taking the long walk to the gallows...From the author of THE SCARLET THIEF, THE MAHARAJAH'S GENERAL and THE DEVIL'S ASSASSIN, the second e-novella featuring teenage Jack Lark.

Headline

Jack Lark: Rogue (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Maharajah's General (Jack Lark, Book 2)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

In The Maharajah's General by Paul Fraser Collard Jack Lark returns to the battlefield under a new name to face greater adventures in a brutal land. A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Collard ... evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling' The TimesJack Lark barely survived the Battle of the Alma. As the brutal fight raged, he discovered the true duty that came with the officer's commission he'd taken. In hospital, wounded, and with his stolen life left lying on the battlefield, he grasps a chance to prove himself a leader once more. Poor Captain Danbury is dead, but Jack will travel to his new regiment in India, under his name.Jack soon finds more enemies, but this time they're on his own side. Exposed as a fraud, he's rescued by the chaplain's beautiful daughter, who has her own reasons to escape. They seek desperate refuge with the Maharajah of Sawadh, the charismatic leader whom the British Army must subdue. He sees Jack as a curiosity, but recognises a fellow military mind. In return for his safety, Jack must train the very army the British may soon have to fight...

Headline

The Scarlet Thief

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Hachette Scotland

The Winning Touch: My Autobiography

Stevie Chalmers With Graham Mc, Coll
Authors:
Stevie Chalmers With Graham Mc, Coll

One of Celtic's greatest ever strikers, Stevie Chalmers epitomised the exciting attacking football with which Celtic took Europe by storm during the 1960s. It was Stevie who scored the golden goal in the 1967 European Cup final that clinched the great trophy for Celtic and that saw him and his team-mates immortalised as the Lisbon Lions. Stevie was the Glasgow club's leading scorer in that amazing 1966-67 season, when they became the first British club to reign as champions of Europe and in which they scooped up every trophy at home. He was also the club's most prolific striker during the 1960s, becoming leading goalscorer for Celtic four times during that decade.It was appropriate, then, that it should be Stevie Chalmers who should nip in ahead of everyone five minutes from time in Lisbon to finish off, with finesse, the challenge of Internazionale of Milan, the richest and most successful club in the world. It was the most magical moment in Celtic's history and Stevie describes here, in fascinating detail, just how he came to be in the right place at the right time to write himself into history. Here for the first time Stevie relates key inside details of Celtic's path to glory, his own enormous personal battle to overcome a near-fatal illness to become a footballer and his sometimes uneasy relationship with Jock Stein, the Celtic manager. It all underlines the momentousness of his being there to accomplish that match-winning feat on Celtic's greatest-ever day.

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Al Sarrantonio

Al Sarantonio is an expert editor in this field and he has edited collections of horror writing with top auithors of the genre including Stephen King.

Alexander Waugh

Alexander Waugh is the grandson of Evelyn Waugh and son of columnist Auberon Waugh and novelist Teresa Waugh. The former chief Opera Critic at both the Mail on Sunday and the London Evening Standard, he is also a publisher (Travelman Publishing), cartoonist and award-winning composer.

Alison Pick

Alison Pick is the author of FAR TO GO, longlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize, and winner of the Canadian Jewish Book Award for fiction; and a memoir, BETWEEN GODS, which was shortlisted for the Wingate Prize. She is also the author of two collections of poetry, and a novel, THE SWEET EDGE, all of which were published to wide acclaim. She lives in Toronto, Canada.

Barbara Lazar

Barbara Lazar studied English Literature at Syracuse University; she received her masters from the University of South Florida in Tampa and was selected to be that university's representative to the Florida Poetry Festival and received her doctorate from the University of Virginia in reading education. She taught for many years, worked as a mainframe programmer for NASA, and wrote and taught as an Instructional Systems Designer for major corporations. Obsessed with Japanese culture and its rich history of storytelling, she has spent the last twelve years meticulously researching what has become THE PILLOW BOOK OF THE FLOWER SAMURAI. She currently writes and teaches in San Antonio, Texas.

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Bernie McGill

Bernie McGill was born and raised in Northern Ireland and attended Queen's University, Belfast. Her first novel, The Butterfly Cabinet, was published by Headline Review in 2011. Bernie is also the author of Sleepwalkers, a collection of short fiction (shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and a contributor to three acclaimed anthologies of Irish women writers, The Long Gaze Back, The Glass Shore and Female Lines (New Island, 2015, 2016 & 2017). She has numerous theatre credits to her name. Bernie lives in Portstewart, Northern Ireland, with her family.

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.