Related to: 'This Is How It Always Is'

Laurie Frankel, author of Goodbye For Now, describes how social media inspired the concept behind her novel.

Laurie Frankel on Second Novels, Inspiration, and RePose

One of the things I always used to tell my students – no matter what the course, no matter what the assignment – is that all writing must have a point, something you want to say.

Headline Review

Goodbye For Now

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

From the author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS. 'Fabulous . . . very funny, yet so sad and thought-provoking too. I couldn't put it down' Liane Moriarty, author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRETLaurie Frankel's heart-breaking, but life-affirming, novel about finding love and coming to terms with loss is perfect for fans of ONE DAY and ME BEFORE YOU.Imagine a world in which you never have to say goodbye.A world in which you can talk to your loved ones after they've gone - About the trivial things you used to shareAbout the things you wish you'd said while you still had the chanceAbout how hard it is to adjust to life without them.When Sam Elling invents a computer programme that enables his girlfriend Meredith to do just this, nothing can prepare them for the consequences. For every person who wants to say goodbye, there is someone else who can't let go. And when tragedy strikes, they have to find out whether goodbye has to be for ever. Or whether love can take on a life of its own..'Enough tears to rival Seattle's annual rainfall. And yet, GOODBYE FOR NOW is still hopeful and thoughtful and securely rooted in a belief in the essential goodness of which people are capable' Seattle Times

Abi Maxwell

Abi Maxwell is the author of an acclaimed story collection, LAKE PEOPLE, and her fiction has also appeared in McSweeney's. She studied writing at the University of Montana and now lives in New Hampshire, where she grew up, with her husband and son.

Kelly Rimmer

Kelly Rimmer is the USA Today bestselling women's fiction author of six novels, including Before I Let You Go and Me Without You. She lives in rural Australia with her husband, two children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil. Her novels have been translated into more than twenty languages.

Lavanya Sankaran

Lavanya Sankaran is the author of THE RED CARPET, the acclaimed debut collection selected for Poets & Writers Magazine's Best First Fiction award as well as the Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers award. Her work has been featured in the Atlantic Monthly and the Wall Street Journal among others, including publications in India and Europe. She studied at Bryn Mawr College and lives in Bangalore with her husband and daughter. THE HOPE FACTORY is her first novel.

Lee Francis

Lee Francis worked for several years in the world of film, TV and advertising as a script reader and assistant director. PLAYING WITH DEATH, written with his former lecturer Simon Scarrow, is his first novel.

Lesley Nneka Arimah

Lesley Nneka Arimah was born in the UK and grew up wherever her father was stationed for work, which was sometimes Nigeria, sometimes not. She has been published in The New Yorker and Granta, her story 'Light' was winner of the 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Africa, and she has twice been shortlisted for the Caine Prize (2016 and 2017) with stories from WHAT IT MEANS WHEN A MAN FALLS FROM THE SKY.

Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author. Her FBI Profiler novels include SAY GOODBYE, GONE and THE KILLING HOUR. Her Detective D.D. Warren series includes THE NEIGHBOUR, which won the International Thriller Writers' Award in 2010, CATCH ME, CRASH & BURN and FIND HER. Lisa lives with her family in New England.

Lisa Scottoline

Lisa Scottoline is the New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels. There are now more than twenty-five million copies of her books in print, and she is published in over thirty countries. She has been awarded the Edgar Award for crime fiction, and the Cosmopolitan Fun Fearless Female Award. In addition, Lisa writes a weekly column for the Philadelphia Inquirer, as well as a number of non-fiction titles with her daughter, Francesca Serritella. Lisa is a former trial lawyer and lives in Philadelphia with an array of disobedient pets.

Louise Lee

Louise Lee was once a Geography teacher. When oxbow lakes no longer floated her boat, she took the next, natural step in her career progression and became a Private Investigator. Memorable cases include a high-functioning bigamist with three wives and six children, who was set to marry a fourth; and losing a target because George Clooney started chatting her up in a bar.Louise undertook an MA in Creative Writing at Birkbeck, and has had work commissioned by BBC Radio Four. The Florence Love novels follow the life of an irreverent, thor­oughly 'modern' PI who specialises in entrapment, and Louise would love to hear from fellow Florences - stop by her website: www.louiselee.co.uk or drop her a line on Twitter: @louise_lee1.If Louise's mum is reading this, the books are in no way based on her true experiences. Honest.

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.www.lynandrewsbooks.co.ukwww.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooksTwitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Lynda Page

Lynda Page was born and brought up in Leicester. The eldest of four daughters, she left home at seventeen and has had a wide variety of office jobs. She now spends the majority of her time helping her daughter and writing her novels in the peace and tranquillity of her daughter's holiday park in Epworth, North Lincolnshire.Follow her on twitter @LyndaPage9 and like her Facebook page: Lynda Page

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, THE WHALEBOAT HOUSE, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, THE SAVAGE GARDEN, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, WAITING FOR DOGGO. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.

Martina Cole

Martina Cole is the acknowledged queen of crime drama with more than twenty novels to her name, of which over a dozen have been No.1 bestsellers.Several of Martina's novels have been adapted for the screen, including The Take and The Runaway which were shown on Sky 1 to remarkable reviews. In addition, Two Women and The Graft have been adapted for the stage; both were highly acclaimed when performed at the Theatre Royal Stratford East, which also staged Dangerous Lady in 2012, celebrating twenty years since Martina's debut novel was published.Martina Cole is a phenomenon. She continues to smash sales records with each of her books, which have sold thirteen million copies. In 2011 Martina surpassed the £50 million sales mark since records began and was the first British female novelist for adult audiences to achieve this - and she has spent more weeks in the No. 1 slot on the original fiction bestseller list than any other adult novelist. Her hard-hitting, uncompromising and haunting writing is in a genre all its own - no one writes like Martina.

Max Manning

Max Manning worked as a crime reporter for several years, before moving on to Fleet Street, where he worked on several international newspapers - including the Daily Telegraph, where he was a news sub-editor for sixteen years. Max is now a full-time writer living in Essex. He is married and has three grown-up children.

Morgan Mccarthy

Morgan McCarthy lives in Berkshire. She is the author of four novels: THE OTHER HALF OF ME, THE OUTLINE OF LOVE, STRANGE GIRLS AND ORDINARY WOMEN and THE HOUSE OF BIRDS.

Myke Cole

As a security contractor, government civilian and military officer, Myke Cole's career has run the gamut from Counterterrorism to Cyber Warfare to Federal Law Enforcement. He has done three tours in Iraq and was recalled to serve during the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. in 2016 he was selected to be a Hunter on the CBS TV series, Hunted, airing in early 2017. A lifelong fan of fantasy novels, comic books and Dungeons & Dragons, Myke now lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including AMERICAN GODS, STARDUST, CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. His most recent novel for adults, THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE was highly acclaimed, appeared on the hardback and paperback Sunday Times bestseller lists and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013: 'Some books you read. Some books you enjoy. But some books just swallow you up, heart and soul' Joanne Harris. The recipient of numerous literary honours, Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, worked with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and THE SANDMAN is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'Originally from England, Neil Gaiman now lives in America.

Nicola Doherty

Nicola Doherty grew up in Monkstown, Co. Dublin and went to university in Dublin and Oxford. She worked in publishing as an editor for several years before writing her first book The Out of Office Girl, which was shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Awards in the Romantic Comedy category. She has written two other novels for adults, If I Could Turn Back Time and Girls on Tour, and one young adult romance, Love and Other Man-Made Disasters. Nicola's books have been translated into Italian, French, German, Polish and Turkish. She lives in Highbury, north London, with her husband and no cats (yet).

Nikola Scott

Born in Germany, Nikola Scott studied English and American literature before moving abroad to work as a fiction editor in New York and London. After over a decade in book publishing, she decided to take the leap into becoming a full-time writer herself. Her debut novel, My Mother's Shadow, was published in 2017 and has been translated into more than ten languages. Nikola lives in Frankfurt with her husband and two sons.