Related to: 'Diamonds in Danby Walk'

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton

Four of our most-loved saga authors invite you to join them on a journey through motherhood in this collection of heart-warming short stories.Daisy's Day by Anne BakerIt's 1920s Liverpool and Daisy must do everything she can to protect her children from poverty and disease. A mother's love is limitless...The First Strawberry by Pam EvansBombs are falling over London and times are hard for Rose and her family. That is until six-year-old Sydney and a little miracle restore all hope...The Birthday Surprise by Jennie FeltonSomerset, 1898. Can two daughters ease their mother's sorrows and bring her a birthday full of joy? How Memories Are Made by Lynda PageGinnie Owens is facing a devastating decision. But she's about to discover that just when all seems lost a mother's dreams can finally come true.

Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

It's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all.

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

An unforgettable saga about an indomitable family, who refuse to let the war dampen their spirits or dim their hopes for a brighter tomorrow. An engrossing saga from one of the genres best-loved writers, Pam Evans' wartime tale, The Sparrows of Sycamore Road, is sure to capture your heart. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.Through the good times and bad, the Sparrow family has always stuck together. But as the Blitz ravages London in 1940, each of the Sparrows has their own battle to fight. Nancy finds herself volunteering as a porter at busy Paddington station - a world away from the smart West End dress shop where she used to work. Young Mickey is sent to the front line, while little Leslie suffers as an evacuee. Nancy must summon all her strength to support her loved ones, but they are unaware the woman they rely on hides a painful secret... What readers are saying about The Sparrows of Sycamore Road: 'I would tell anyone to buy this book..... sad when it finished''A very touching and real story... not to be missed'

Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young widow's actions in war-torn London ensure her life is never the same again... In the Dark Streets Shining is a gripping and touching wartime saga by much-loved writer Pam Evans, which vividly captures the heartbreak and courage of those battling to survive in Blitz-torn London. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Rosie Goodwin. When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep looking for his son, and everything changes... What readers are saying about In the Dark Streets Shining: 'This book brings the blitz and the devastation in war torn London to the reader through the lives of one family. A great read''A book that will make you laugh out loud and weep buckets. Beautifully written, the harshness of war coupled with the stoicism of those living on rations, endless air raids, losing loved ones and a frightened little boy who tugs at everyone's heart strings. You won't put it down until the last word has left the final page''Never dark and always shining!'

Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

While the war brings out the best in most, it brings out the worst in others, as a young mother soon discovers... A gripping saga of life for those left behind during the war, Pam Evans' When the Boys Come Home is a heart-breaking story of love, family and tragedy that won't fail to enthral. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp.As German bombs wreak havoc on West London, for Morgan's Dairy it's business as usual. But when owner Dai Morgan is killed in an air raid, his daughter Megan is determined to continue in her father's footsteps and she braves the ravaged streets alone to do his milk round by horse and cart. Megan finds comfort in the knowledge that her twin girls are tucked away in a Welsh village, but she worries about her husband, Will, abroad with his platoon. And when Will's best friend, Doug Reynolds, returns, wounded and disfigured, she doesn't hesitate to take the poor man in. However, Doug is not the man she thinks he is. And when the boys come home, Megan has battle scars she can't allow Will to see... What readers are saying about When the Boys Come Home: 'Please, buy or read this "feel good" novel. I am a fan of Pamela Evans anyway, but this one manages to grip the imagination, is hard to put down and keeps the reader up to and including the last page. Heartily recommended!''Five stars'

Headline

The Tideway Girls

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Two sisters. United by friendship. Divided by disgrace. In a powerful saga from Pam Evans, The Tideway Girls reveals a country torn apart by the Great War - from the quiet fishing villages of Essex to the beating heart of London, the population struggles to find hope after tragedy. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Rosie Goodwin.It's 1904, and close sisters Bessie and May live a happy but frugal life in the busy maritime village of Tideway in Essex. But trouble divides the family when May falls pregnant, and she is sent away to London. When war is declared in 1914, Bessie's life is shattered when her husband is killed in battle in France. Yet, when photographer Digby Parsons dies suddenly and leaves Bessie a camera, she is able to use it to set up her own photography business and support herself and her son. But Digby's jealous daughter, Joan, is enraged by her late father's generosity and will do everything she can to destroy Bessie and her business... What readers are saying about The Tideway Girls: 'Brilliant story, totally engrossing, could not put it down' 'The story flowed well and was easy to read. A great story by a very good author. More of the same please''Pamela Evans you have done it again, fantastic read'

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, its not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning...

Headline

Town Belles

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans