Related to: 'The Killings at Badger's Drift'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

Death of a Hollow Man

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions.Death of a Hollow Man is the second instalment in the Midsomer Murders series, featuring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby with an audience of 10.34 million. Featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries. Backstage nerves are fraying, and revenge is on its way. As Causton Amateur Dramatic Society prepares for the opening night of Amadeus, offstage Esslyn Carmichael suspects his wife is having an affair with another cast member. And where better to settle scores than the stage?Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby expects an evening of entertainment, attending only to show support for his wife. But when someone turns Esslyn's final grand gesture into a gruesome coup de theatre, Barnaby's investigation suddenly begins. Praise for Caroline Graham's novels:'Characterisation first rate, plotting likewise. . . Written with enormous relish. A very superior whodunnit' Literary Review 'Hard to praise highly enough' The Sunday Times'Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right' Julie Burchill'Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters' Birmingham Post'Guaranteed to keep you guessing until the very end' Woman

Headline

Death in Disguise

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions. Featuring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby and created by Caroline Graham, Death in Disguise is the third Midsomer Murders mystery, now featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries and Ann Granger.To the distaste of the Compton Dando villagers, the big house has been taken over by a group of New Age eccentrics. And when the first death is reported, no one is surprised . . . or disappointed. The Coroner rules it an accident.But only weeks later, there's another death. And this time, it is murder. Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby is called to the scene immediately, and there'll be no escape until he has sifted through the world of psychics, cult leaders and horrifying deaths to get to the cause of it all. Praise for Caroline Graham's novels: 'Swift, tense and highly alarming' TLS 'Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues' Mail on Sunday 'A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel' The Times 'Wickedly acidic, yet sympathetic' Publishers Weekly 'Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery' Sunday Telegraph 'Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny' Scotsman

Headline

Faithful unto Death

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

The Envy of the Stranger

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

Murder at Madingley Grange

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

A Place of Safety

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

A Ghost in the Machine

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

All men should have a hobby: it keeps them out from under their wives' feet. Dennis Brinkley's hobby, though, was killing machines. No wonder the village was uneasy...Mallory Lawson believes that inheriting his aunt's beautiful house in Forbes Abbot may have saved his sanity. It enables him to take early retirement from his appalling teaching job in London, and his wife Kate to realise her dream of starting her own company. Life will be so much simpler in the country, won't it? But Forbes Abbot is not quite the close-knit community it seems, and little differences and squabbles can become violent - even murderous. Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby has encountered many intriguing cases, but the case of the ghost in the machine is one to test even the most experienced of detectives.

Headline

Written in Blood

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

Death of a Hollow Man

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Bernie McGill

Bernie McGill was born and raised in Northern Ireland and attended Queen's University, Belfast. Her first novel, The Butterfly Cabinet, was published by Headline Review in 2011. Bernie is also the author of Sleepwalkers, a collection of short fiction (shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and a contributor to The Long Gaze Back (New Island, 2015), an acclaimed anthology of Irish women writers spanning four centuries, and has numerous theatre credits to her name. Bernie lives in Portstewart, Northern Ireland, with her family.

Brenda Novak

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Brenda Novak is the author of fifty books. A four-time Rita nominee, she has won many awards, including the National Reader's Choice, the Bookseller's Best, the Book Buyer's Best, the Daphne, and the Holt Medallion. She also runs Brenda Novak for the Cure, a charity to raise money for diabetes research (her youngest son has this disease). To date, she's raised $2.5 million. For more about Brenda, please visit www.brendanovak.com.

Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

Emma Cooper

Emma Cooper is a Teaching Assistant who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. Her spare time consists of writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-three years, who still makes her smile every day.

Guy Gunaratne

Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.

Hannah Doyle

Hannah Doyle likes to write so much that she went to university twice just so that she could call putting pen to paper (well...finger to keyboard) her profession. She started out at a press agency in Bristol before skipping off to London to be a celebrity journalist. During the five years she spent at Reveal magazine and, for reasons unknown, Hannah became the go-to girl for interviewing male stars during scantily clad photo shoots. She now lives with her husband in Yorkshire where she writes for women's magazines, runs a blog and faffs about on Instagram. THE YEAR OF SAYING YES is her debut novel. Join Hannah online!Twitter: @HannahShowbizInstagram: @byhannahdoyleFacebook: /byHannahDoyleBlog: www.thisishannah.co.uk

Jenny Blackhurst

Jenny Blackhurst grew up in Shropshire where she still lives with her husband and children. Growing up she spent hours reading and talking about crime novels - writing her own seemed like natural progression. The Night She Died is Jenny's fourth novel.

Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell is the author of over twenty Sunday Times bestsellers including MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY, YOU AND ME, ALWAYS, THE ONE YOUR REALLY WANT and THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU. TAKE A CHANCE ON ME won the Romantic Novelists' Association's Romantic Comedy Prize, and in 2015 the RNA presented Jill with an outstanding achievement award.Jill keeps in touch with her readers on Twitter - @JillMansell - and Facebook - /OfficialJillMansell. She lives in Bristol with her family.

Jill Shalvis

New York Times bestseller Jill Shalvis is the author of many romance novels including her acclaimed Cedar Ridge, Lucky Harbor and Animal Magnetism series. The RITA winner and three-time National Readers Choice winner makes her home near Lake Tahoe. Visit her website at www.jillshalvis.com for a complete book list and daily blog, and www.facebook.com/jillshalvis for other news or follow her on Twitter @jillshalvis.

Joan Jonker

Joan Jonker was born and bred in Liverpool. She led a rich and varied life and was devoted to her family. Before writing novels, she worked tirelessly for the charity-run organisation Victims of Violence which she founded in 1976. Sadly, Joan died in 2006, but she is remembered fondly by her family and friends and her multitude of fans.