Related to: 'Far From Home'

Headline

Love and a Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Wing and a Prayer

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews's engaging saga of Liverpool life in the twentieth century, A WING AND A PRAYER, is the perfect read if you love the novels of Kate Thompson and Katie Flynn.For Mary Callaghan marriage has brought heartaches and disappointment. But with it have come joys, the greatest of which are her daughters, Daisy and Nell. Mary longs for them to have the one thing denied to her - a husband who will offer them kindness, security and love. But when Daisy confesses she's pregnant, the future looks grim, for the father's a rough, pleasure-loving man. As Nell watches her sister sink into bitter poverty, and as the world around her grows more uncertain, with war more likely by the day, risking all for love seems to Nell a foolish game...

Headline

My Sister's Child

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Queen's Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Days of Hope

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Every Mother's Son

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Two young mothers fight to keep their families safe as the shadow of World War II falls over Liverpool. In the sequel to Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews writes a gripping wartime saga in Every Mother's Son - a tale depicting the power of love and the inner strength of the women of the Liverpool Blitz. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Joan Jonker and Kate Thompson.Molly and Bernie have been friends forever. As young girls they left Ireland seeking new beginnings in Liverpool. Now they are marrying their sweethearts and looking forward to enjoying the lives they've worked so hard to build. But as the Liverpool Blitz begins, it seems as if their dreams are about to be destroyed.Night after night, horrific bombing tears the city apart. As wives and mothers, both women know that they could face great tragedy. But they also know that their friendship, and their love for their husbands and sons, will give them the strength to find the happiness they deserve... What readers are saying about Every Mother's Son: 'As with everything that Lyn Andrews writes it's a page turner, I could not put it down... you live the lives of the characters and cannot wait to read the final page, but don't want the novel to end''Andrews' writing on the war is vivid and remarkably realistic and the journey of the two main characters has an emotional truth and authenticity about it which I found very moving... a believable and heartfelt story'

Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool. In Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life's hardships. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker.In 1928 Bernie O'Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they're about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind for an exciting new life in Liverpool.They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool's worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant.Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world... What readers are saying about Friends Forever: 'The story and characters are riveting''Lyn Andrews is an excellent writer. Good story line, interesting characters... Kept me up late but it was worth it''Five stars' Don't miss the equally moving wartime sequel, Every Mother's Son.

Headline

Liverpool Lamplight

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Songbird

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Sisters O'Donnell

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Angels of Mercy

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

As the Great War looms, two sisters' lives are about to change forever... In Angels of Mercy, Lyn Andrews writes a dramatic, moving saga of two sisters who set off to become nurses in the Great War, far from their loving Liverpudlian homes. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Nadine Dorries and Kate Thompson.Blue-eyed, blond-haired, full of smiles and sweetness, even as babies twins Kate and Evvie Greenway captured the hearts of Liverpool's Scotland Road slumlands. But now they are almost adults the two girls find that being pleasant, popular and blessed with a loving family isn't quite enough. For they've both fallen for men who will break their youthful hearts...But these sorrows are nothing compared to the tragedies that await them and so many others when the Great War breaks out. Determined to do their part, Kate and Evvie sign up for nursing training and are despatched to the Front, a terrible world far from the life-affirming energy of their homes. Can anything, hope, love or the bond that has always united the sisters, survive all that lies in store for them? What readers are saying about Angels of Mercy: '[This] book tugs at every single one of your emotions, and you won't be able to put it down''Lots of twists and turns for the people in this book. It made me laugh and it also made me cry... It really does make you think, but it's a page turner, and that's what Lyn Andrews does best!''Lyn Andrews ranks as one of the best saga writers in my book. Having just finished Angels of Mercy, I found this novel poignant, engrossing and unputdownable'

Headline

Ellan Vannin

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Lou

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Maggie May

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Mersey Blues

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

For three friends, life after the Great War will never be the same again... Mersey Blues is a heart-rending portrayal of Liverpool in the years between the wars - of the rebuilding of the city, and the people's dreams of peace, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry. Mersey Blues is the sequel to Lyn Andrews' much-loved wartime saga, Mist Over The Mersey.The Great War had ended and Scotland Road was left to count the cost. Many young men had not come back; those who had would never be the same again. Dee Chatterton and Abbie Kerrigan had seen the horrors of war for themselves as nurses in military hospitals abroad. While Abbie settled down in the familiar surroundings of Scotland Road, for others, different horizons beckoned. Dee went to live in Canada, while their friend Hannah Harvey became personal nurse to none other than Richard, seventh Earl of Ashenden, badly injured in the war. Moving to the splendours of Ashenden Hall was to bring her unimagined happiness, but also the heartache of being separated for ever from her family and friends. What readers are saying about Mersey Blues: 'Very good read, just could not wait to read it. Brilliant writer''I enjoyed the story so much I immediately bought another Lyn Andrews. Somehow I just flew through the pages, which I think shows that the pace keeps you turning the pages''Five stars'

Headline

Mist Over The Mersey

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Once war strikes, life can never be the same again... A close-knit community is devastated by the outbreak of World War I in heart-breaking saga, Mist over the Mersey - a tale of families, friendship and romance from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.The Chatterton family is far too posh for the Liverpool slums where they've ended up. Nancy Butterworth and Abbie Kerrigan, lifelong residents of the place, tried to befriend Dee Chatterton, but her mother wants her to have nothing to do with such rough children. The Burgess family looks forward to the arrival of their young cousin Sean from Dublin, and Nancy is not the first to lose her heart to the Irish charmer.In 1914 things are to change dramatically, and the families are to find that money and social position mean nothing when the horrors of the First World War invade their lives and take away their sons...Don't miss Lyn Andrews' sequel to the novel, Mersey Blues. What Amazon readers are saying about Mist Over the Mersey: 'This book grabs you from the first word to the last. As soon as I started to read it, I could see all the characters so clearly, as if I were there with them. It only took me two days to read it, as I could not put it down''Lyn Andrews is definitely an author you want to discover time and again. She writes with real clarity, wit and warmth...The characters that Lyn Andrews has written about are people that you feel are truly real'

Headline

A Secret in the Family

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

A captivating new novel from the bestselling author of A DAUGHTER'S JOURNEY and DAYS OF HOPE - 'An outstanding storyteller' Woman's WeeklyWhen best friends Dee Campbell and Jean Williams leave school in 1959, it feels like every opportunity awaits them. Their families haven't long moved from a rundown part of the city to leafy Kirkby when Jean's father wins the Irish sweepstake and soon Jean's set up her own hairdressing salon, while both girls have fallen for good-looking lads with prospects. It's hard to imagine being any happier. But Dee's father is about to discover a disturbing truth about her fiancé. With one revelation, the Campbells are torn apart. As Dee flees to Ireland, Jean marries Tony, blissfully unaware that she's not the only pretty girl to catch his eye... Tumultuous years lie ahead. But true friendship lasts a lifetime - and Dee and Jean will learn that the people who love you will always be there when you need them most.

Headline

A Mother's Love

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

When Daylight Comes

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

From this Day Forth

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews