Related to: 'Apollo'

The Ocean At The End of The Lane

Deluxe edition

Own a limited edition copy of THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE, one of 260 hardbacks individually signed and numbered by Neil Gaiman, available exclusively in the UK.

Wildfire

Scrapers

Zack Scott
Authors:
Zack Scott

With this exquisite illustrative masterpiece, Zack Scott explores in stunning detail the majestic constructions that humans have created on the surface of our own planet. This is SCRAPERS, a visual history of man's endeavours to reach higher and higher, through the construction of mind-blowing new buildings.Zack Scott takes us on an illustrative journey from humankind's first attempts to touch the sky with their creations, to the modern masterpieces of architecture and engineering standing proudly across the globe. From Stonehenge to the Burj Khalifa; the Taj Mahal to the Shard, Zack shares the little-known facts and fascinating human stories behind the most incredible buildings in the world. In gorgeous graphic style, SCRAPERS opens our eyes - and our minds - to these true marvels of human architecture.

Wildfire

Humans

Tom Phillips
Authors:
Tom Phillips

An exhilarating journey through the most creative and catastrophic f**k ups in human history, from our very first ancestor falling out of that tree, to the most spectacular fails of the present day. Perfect for fans of Sarah Knight and Giles Milton.This is HUMANS.In the seventy thousand years that modern human beings have walked this earth, we've come a long way. Art, science, culture, trade - on the evolutionary food chain, we're real winners. But, frankly, it's not exactly been plain sailing, and sometimes - just occasionally - we've managed to really, truly, quite unbelievably f**k things up.From Chairman Mao's Four Pests Campaign, to the sinking of the Titanic; from the American Dustbowl, to the world's leading superpower electing a reality TV mogul as President... it's pretty safe to say that, as a species, we haven't exactly grown wiser with age. So, next time you think you've really f**ked up, this book will remind you: it could be so much worse...(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar

Matt Simon
Authors:
Matt Simon
Headline

The Water Book

Alok Jha
Authors:
Alok Jha

Water is the most every day of substances. It pours from our taps and falls from the sky. We drink it, wash with it, and couldn't live without it. Yet, on closer examination it is also a very strange substance (it is one of only a very small number of molecules which expand when cooled). Look closer again and water reveals itself as a key to a scientific story on the biggest of canvases.Water is crucial to our survival - life depends on it - but it was also fundamental in the origins of life on Earth. The millions of gallons of water which make up our rivers, lakes and oceans, originated in outer space. How it arrived here and how those molecules of water were formed, is a story which takes us back to the beginning of the universe. Indeed, we know more about the depths of space than we do about the furthest reaches of the oceans.Water has also shaped the world we live in. Whether it is by gently carving the Grand Canyon over millennia, or in shaping how civilisations were built; we have settled our cities along rivers and coasts. Scientific studies show how we feel calmer and more relaxed when next to water. We holiday by the seas and lakes. Yet one day soon wars may be fought over access to water.The Water Book will change the way you look at water. After reading it you will be able to hold a glass of water up to the light and see within it a strange molecule that connects you to the origins of life, the birth (and death) of the universe, and to everyone who ever lived.

Headline

The Human Age

Diane Ackerman
Authors:
Diane Ackerman

'Our relationship with nature has changed . . . radically, irreversibly, but by no means all for the bad. Our new epoch is laced with invention. Our mistakes are legion, but our talent is immeasurable.'In The Human Age award-winning nature writer Diane Ackerman confronts the fact that the human race is now the single dominant force of change on the planet. Humans have 'subdued 75 per cent of the land surface, concocted a wizardry of industrial and medical marvels, strung lights all across the darkness'. We now collect the DNA of vanishing species in a 'frozen ark', equip orang-utans with iPads, create wearable technologies and synthetic species that might one day outsmart us. Ackerman takes us on an exciting journey to understand this bewildering new reality, introducing us to many of the people and ideas now creating - perhaps saving - the future.The Human Age is a surprising, optimistic engagement with the dramatic transformations that have shaped, and continue to alter, our world, our relationship with nature and our prospects for the future. Diane Ackerman is one of our most lyrical, insightful and compelling writers on the natural world and The Human Age is a landmark book.(P)2014 Headline Digital

Headline

The Astronaut Wives Club

Lily Koppel
Authors:
Lily Koppel
Headline

Lex Trent: Fighting With Fire

Alex Bell
Authors:
Alex Bell
Headline Review

The Philosophy Gym

Stephen Law
Authors:
Stephen Law

Where did the universe come from? Is time travel possible? Are genetically designed babies morally acceptable? If you have ever asked yourself such questions, then you have already begun to think philosophically. This book is for those who want to take the next step. Stephen Law poses questions about some of the most important philosophical issues of today - and of yesterday. Light-hearted questions about whether a pickled sheep is really art rub shoulders with more profound and time-honoured fears about whether God exists. In this radically new way of looking at philosophy, Stephen Law illustrates the problem with a story then lets both sides of the argument battle it out in clear, easily digestible and intelligent prose. And, by separating each issue into a distinct section, it is possible to dip in and out of in any order and at any time you like!

Headline Review

The Universe Next Door

Marcus Chown
Authors:
Marcus Chown

Can time run backwards? Can we live forever? Could our universe have been created as a DIY experiment by superior beings in another universe? These questions may sound crazy but they explore the limits of our current knowledge and highlight the key issues modern scientists are wrestling to understand.As Cosmology Consultant at the New Scientist, Marcus Chown often comes across ideas that leave his head spinning. In this hugely entertaining, accessible and mind-blowing book, he explores the ramifications of, as he puts it, science with the 'wow!' factor.

Alex Bell

Alex Bell is an exceptional novelist. She lives in Hampshire.

Alok Jha

Alok Jha is a journalist and broadcaster based in London. He is science correspondent for ITN and, before that, was science correspondent at the Guardian. He has presented science programmes for BBC2 and BBC Radio 4. Alok received a science-writing award from the American Institute of Physics in 2014, was named European Science Writer of the year in 2008, and has been shortlisted for feature writer of the year at the annual Association of British Science Writers awards".

Jon Butterworth

Jon Butterworth is a leading physicist on the Large Hadron Collider, and Head of Physics and Astronomy at UCL. He writes the popular Life & Physics blog for the Guardian and has written articles for a range of publications including the Guardian and New Scientist. Jon often discusses physics in public, including talks at the Royal Institution and the Wellcome Trust and appearances on BBC Radio 4's Today Programme, The Infinite Money Cage, BBC Newsnight, Horizon, Channel 4 News and Al Jazeera. He was awarded the Chadwick Medal of the Institute of Physics in 2013 for his pioneering work in high energy particle physics, especially in the understanding of hadronic jets. His book Smashing Physics was shortlisted for the 2015 Royal Society Winton Prize.

Lily Koppel

Lily Koppel is the bestselling author of The Red Leather Diary: Reclaiming a Life Through the Pages of a Lost Journal. She writes for the New York Times, and her work has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the New York Times Book Review, the Huffington Post and Glamour.

Marcus Chown

Marcus Chown is the Cosmology Consultant for New Scientist magazine. He has a first-class degree in physics from the University of London and an MSc in astrophysics from the California Institute of Technology.

Matt Simon

Matt Simon is a journalist who writes Wired Science's 'Absurd Creature of the Week' column. He has also edited Wired's 'This Day in Tech blog', which was compiled into the book Mad Science, and writes a second column called 'Fantastically Wrong' that explores the strangest mistakes in folklore and science. He lives in San Francisco.

Stephen Law

Stephen Law is a lecturer in philosophy at Heythrop College, University of London, and was formerly Research Fellow in Philosophy at Queen's College, Oxford. He received his doctoral degree in philosophy from the University of Oxford.

Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips is the editor of Full Fact,Britain's leading independent fact-checkingorganisation. Previously he was the editorialdirector of BuzzFeed UK, where he divided histime between very serious reporting on importantissues... and making jokes.Tom's first book, HUMANS: A Brief History ofHow We F*cked It All Up, was published in 2018, and has since been translated into more than 20 languages.

Zack Scott

ZACK SCOTT joined the Royal Air Force at the age of twenty, where he worked as an aircraft technician for several years. He then returned to civilian life to work on high-speed trains, before pursuing his lifelong passion for design. Zack achieved his degree in graphic design in 2013 and has since been working in-house for a couple of companies, while using his free time to work on writing his books, 2017's Apollo and 2018's Scrapers. Zack has a keen interest in the sciences and loves to create graphics that make complex ideas easy to digest.

A.W.C

The Wives

THE ASTRONAUT WIVES CLUB is the true story of the wives behind the American Space Race, the challenges they faced in the '50s and '60s, and the 40-year friendship that bound them together. Click here to find out a bit more about the wives.

John Whaite's Message to the GBBO Finalists

The 2012 Great British Bake Off champion John Whaite has some words of wisdom for the 2013 finalists.