Related to: 'The Jack Lark Library'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Paul Fraser Collard's roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley' - returns once more, switching sides to join the ranks of the Confederate Army. This latest adventure will see Jack journey through the Southern states as the American Civil War continues in earnest, and is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Enthralling' - The TimesJack Lark, once the Scarlet Thief, has abandoned the rolling Virginian hills and is on the run with Rose, an escaped slave girl who is more than his match. Soon he will find his way into the uniform of the Confederate Army in an adventure that will culminate at the Battle of Shiloh - the bloodiest conflict in American history at its time.(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Last Legionnaire (Jack Lark, Book 5)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Lone Warrior (Jack Lark, Book 4)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Devil's Assassin (Jack Lark, Book 3)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

Jack Lark: Redcoat (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Redcoat by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressPrivate Jack Lark wears his red coat with pride. Though life in Queen Victoria's service is tough, he relishes the camaraderie of Aldershot barracks, and four years' harsh discipline hasn't blunted his desire to be more than just a Redcoat. When he learns that Captain Sloames needs a new orderly, Jack is determined to prove his worth both to the officer and to Molly, the laundry girl who has caught his eye. But standing in his way is Colour Sergeant Slater, a cruel and vicious bull of a man who loathes Jack, and is longing for the chance to ruin his ambition...

Headline

Jack Lark: Recruit (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Recruit by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressForced to leave London, young recruit Jack Lark is determined to make his way as a Redcoat. Despite the daily tirades of Sergeant Slater, a sadistic monster of a man who sees his new trainees as the scum of the earth, Jack holds on to his belief that the Army will give him a better life. His comrades are a rough and ready bunch, and Jack falls in with Charlie Evans, a cheerful young clerk who quickly comes to regret joining up. But once you've taken the Queen's Shilling, there is no way out: deserters always pay the highest price. As Charlie schemes to escape, Jack, always a loyal friend, is forced into an impossible situation where the wrong move could leave him taking the long walk to the gallows...From the author of THE SCARLET THIEF, THE MAHARAJAH'S GENERAL and THE DEVIL'S ASSASSIN, the second e-novella featuring teenage Jack Lark.

Headline

Jack Lark: Rogue (A Jack Lark Short Story)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Rogue by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressAs pot boy at his mother's infamous London gin palace, Jack Lark is no stranger to trouble. Between dog fights and street scuffles, if he's not being set upon, he's starting a brawl himself. But when an unlikely ally draws him from the dark alleys of the East End into the bright lights of a masked ball, he gets a glimpse of another life. That life, once seen, is impossible to forget.Jack will do anything to outwit, outsmart and escape the cruelty in his own home. He is determined to get out, but what price will he be forced to pay for his freedom?

Headline

The Maharajah's General (Jack Lark, Book 2)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Scarlet Thief

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Winning Touch: My Autobiography

Stevie Chalmers With Graham Mc, Coll
Authors:
Stevie Chalmers With Graham Mc, Coll

One of Celtic's greatest ever strikers, Stevie Chalmers epitomised the exciting attacking football with which Celtic took Europe by storm during the 1960s. It was Stevie who scored the golden goal in the 1967 European Cup final that clinched the great trophy for Celtic and that saw him and his team-mates immortalised as the Lisbon Lions. Stevie was the Glasgow club's leading scorer in that amazing 1966-67 season, when they became the first British club to reign as champions of Europe and in which they scooped up every trophy at home. He was also the club's most prolific striker during the 1960s, becoming leading goalscorer for Celtic four times during that decade. It was appropriate, then, that it should be Stevie Chalmers who should nip in ahead of everyone five minutes from time in Lisbon to finish off, with finesse, the challenge of Internazionale of Milan, the richest and most successful club in the world. It was the most magical moment in Celtic's history and Stevie describes here, in fascinating detail, just how he came to be in the right place at the right time to write himself into history. Here for the first time Stevie relates key inside details of Celtic's path to glory, his own enormous personal battle to overcome a near-fatal illness to become a footballer and his sometimes uneasy relationship with Jock Stein, the Celtic manager. It all underlines the momentousness of his being there to accomplish that match-winning feat on Celtic's greatest-ever day.

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Colette McBeth

Colette McBeth is the critically acclaimed author of psychological thrillers Precious Thing, The Life I Left Behind and An Act of Silence.Colette was a BBC TV News television correspondent for ten years, during which time she covered many major crime stories and worked out of Westminster as a political reporter.She lives on the South Coast with her husband and three children.Twitter @colettemcbethFacebook /colettemcbethauthorcolettemcbeth.co.uk

David Gibbins

David Gibbins is the author of twelve novels that have sold over three million copies in thirty languages. He has been on both the New York Times and the Sunday Times top ten bestseller lists, and he has been a Newsweek number one bestseller in Poland. As well as nine novels in his Jack Howard series of archaeological thrillers, he has written two novels set in the world of ancient Rome. David has a PhD in archaeology from Cambridge University, is a passionate diver and derives much of the inspiration for his novels from the many expeditions he has led around the world to investigate ancient shipwrecks and other archaeological sites. His awards have included a Fellowship and Medallion from the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. For his latest discoveries and more about David and his novels, visit www.davidgibbins.com and www.facebook.com/DavidGibbinsAuthor.

Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire is a bestselling author who has earned rave reviews and a dedicated following for Wicked, the first novel in the Wicked Years quartet (which also included Son of a Witch, A Lion Among Men and Out of Oz), that was made into an award-winning musical. He received his doctorate in English Literature from Tufts University, and has taught at Simmons College and other Boston area colleges. He has also served as an artist-in-residence at the Blue Mountain Center, the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum and the Hambridge Center. Gregory has lived in Dublin and London, but now makes his home near Boston, Massachusetts, with his partner, their two sons and daughter.

Katherine Clements

Katherine Clements is a critically acclaimed novelist, self-confessed costume drama addict and current Royal Literary Fund Fellow at the University of Manchester. She is editor of Historia, the online magazine of the Historical Writers' Association, and is a member of the HWA committee. @KL_Clements

Michael Jecks

Michael Jecks gave up a career in the computer industry to concentrate on writing and the study of medieval history, especially that of Devon and Cornwall. He lives with his family in northern Dartmoor.

Paul Doherty

Paul Doherty was born in Middlesbrough. He studied History at Liverpool and Oxford Universities and obtained a doctorate for his thesis on Edward II and Queen Isabella. He is now headmaster of a school in north-east London and lives with his family in Essex.

Paul Fraser Collard

Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zulu whilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.