Related to: 'Whispers'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

It starts as a kid's game to while away the long drive across country. It ends in a grotesque nightmare of death and destruction. Alex and Colin are travelling three thousand miles by car to a golden city and a golden girl. She's Colin's adored sister, Alex's ravishing new wife. But she could cost them their lives. Someone's out to get them. To destroy their dreams. To plunge them into a paranoid world where every sound could be the last thing they ever hear.Originally published under the pseudonym K. R. Dwyer

Headline

By the Light of the Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

When Dylan O'Conner, together with his autistic brother, Shepherd, pulls into a motel off the interstate highway, all he wants is a good night's sleep. Yet within the hour he finds himself bound, gagged and being injected with a mysterious fluid by a lunatic doctor, who claims Dylan will be the carrier of 'his life's work'. Comedian Jillian Jackson is midway through a tour of seedy venues, accompanied by her pet pot-plant Fred. But her plans for stardom are dramatically altered when she too falls victim to the eccentric scientist. The doctor warns his victims that he is being pursued and that they too are now targets. If they are caught, they will be killed. Both are sceptical. Before long, they are beginning to wonder if the lunatic doctor wasn't quite so mad after all . . .

Headline

Mr Murder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Dean Koontz Collection

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Voice of the Night

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A terrifying call from the dark side of man's psyche... Dean Koontz delves into the terrifying depths of a warped mind in his gripping thriller, The Voice of the Night. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. 'A fearsome tour of an adolescent's psyche. Terrifying, knee-knocking suspense' - Chicago Sun-Times The voice of the night can transform childhood fantasy into terrifying reality. If you listen to the voice, you may never see the dawn again...Colin Jacobs is a shy, awkward, bookish fourteen-year-old. His only real companions are those from the science fiction stories he loves. But his life changes when Roy Borden, the most popular kid in town, becomes his 'blood brother'.There's only one problem. Roy has a secret - a secret so terrible that Colin can hardly imagine it. By the time he comes to face the truth, it's almost too late. His own life is in danger - and no one will believe him... What readers are saying about The Voice of the Night: 'Keeps the reader spellbound with a degree of trepidation [as] the tale of their escalating fate unfurls''You will be hooked until the end''Five stars'

Headline

Watchers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Winter Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Chase

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Cold Fire

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A man with a rare gift. A cynical journalist. A dangerous enemy. Breath-taking and unique, Cold Fire is bestselling author Dean Koontz at his mesmerising best. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon.'Solid, satisfying, hair-raising Koontz barely lets the reader come up for air between terrors' - The Washington Post 'There is an Enemy. It is coming. It is relentless.'Schoolteacher Jim Ironheart flies on an impulse to Portland, Oregon. There he risks his life to save a child from being killed. Reporter Holly Thorne witnesses his heroism, and is impressed by his self-effacement when he declines to be interviewed.Burnt out, cynical, and looking for a life beyond journalism, Holly finds her newshound's instincts rekindled when she discovers Jim has quietly performed twelve last-minute rescues in twelve far-flung places over the past four months. Realising she is on to the biggest story of her life, Holly traces Jim to California. He insists he is not a psychic; he simply believes God is working through him. Holly thinks his explanation is too easy, that there is no wonder in life, no great mystery.She is dead wrong. For she and Jim are soon plunged into a dark sea of wonder, mystery - and stark terror. And, on the run for their lives, they will be forced to confront a savage and uncannily powerful adversary... What readers are saying about Cold Fire: 'From the first line I was swept away in the story. Twisting and turning to an unexpected ending!''Gripping, thrilling reading''Don't read with the light off!'

Headline

Dragon Tears

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

The events of one dark night have far reaching repercussions... Dean Koontz writes a gripping thriller of predator and prey in Dragon Tears. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Harlan Coben.'The take-a-deep-breath ending alone is worth the price of the ticket' - PeopleHarry Lyon is a cop who embraces tradition and order. The biggest bane of his life is his partner, Connie Gulliver. Harry doesn't like the messiness of her desk, her lack of social polish or her sometimes casual attitude towards the law. 'Look, Harry, it's the Age of Chaos,' she tells him. 'Get with the times.'And when Harry and Connie have to take out a hopped-up gunman in a restaurant, the chase and shootout swiftly degenerate into a surreal nightmare that seems to justify Connie's view of the modern world. Shortly after, Harry encounters a filthy, rag-clad denizen of the streets, who says ominously, 'Ticktock, ticktock. You'll be dead in sixteen hours.' Struggling to regain the orderly life he cherishes, Harry is trapped in an undertow of terror and violence. For reasons he does not understand, someone is after him, Connie Gulliver and the people he loves. What readers are saying about Dragon Tears: 'With all his best stories [Dean Koontz] draws you in and makes the implausible seem plausible - this is one of his best''[Dean Koontz] combines poignancy and true psychological horror to bring home the plight of characters that you'll love and root for all the way''Another fantastic tale, written in such a way that you can hardly stop turning the pages'

Headline

The Bad Place

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

He has blood on his hands... Dean Koontz's The Bad Place is a terrifying novel that will chill the blood even as it rends the heart. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Harlan Coben.'This is white-knuckle, hair-curling-on-the-back-of-the-neck reading - as close to actual physical terror as the printed word can deliver' - Los Angeles Times Frank Pollard awakens in an alley, knowing nothing but his name and that he is in danger. Over the next few days he develops a fear of sleep because when he wakes he finds blood on his hands, and bizarre and terrifying objects in his pockets. Distraught and desperate, Frank begs husband-and-wife detective team Bobby and Julie Dakota to get to the bottom of his mysterious, amnesiac fugues. It seems a simple job, but they are drawn into ever-darkening realms where they encounter the nightmarish, hate-filled figure stalking Frank. And their lives are threatened, as is that of Julie's gentle, Down's-syndrome brother, Thomas.To Thomas, death is the 'bad place' from which there is no return. But as each of them ultimately learns, there are equally bad places in the world of the living, places so steeped in evil that, in contrast, death seems almost to be a relief... What readers are saying about The Bad Place: 'This is truly a horror novel worthy of the name... shocking, distressing, gloriously well-plotted''If you want something truly original, yet gripping and fast-paced, DK is your man''One of the best books I have ever read!'

Headline

Dark Rivers of the Heart

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay Trilogy, Book 1)

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Darkfall

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

From the Corner of his Eye

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

False Memory

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Demon Seed

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Ticktock

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Feature

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie knows what they are, what they do - and how they hide in human form. He is blessed - or cursed - by twilight eyes. He can see the diabolical others through their innocent human disguise. He's already killed one of them. And he'll kill again...But even the grave won't hold them...