Related to: 'A Lucky Sixpence'

Tips and recipes

Pancake Day

Top tips for Pancake Day from our cookery stars, including inventive filling suggestions and brand new recipes.

Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A dramatic and warm-hearted Liverpool saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.It is 1935 and as Carrie Courtney watches her twin sister, Connie, marry the man of her dreams, Carrie longs to find a love of her own. Having lost their mother at an early age, the girls were brought up by their maiden aunts and, with Connie leaving home, Carrie is desperate to spread her wings. Using her skills as a bookkeeper, Carrie gets an exciting new job but her stunning beauty soon attracts the wrong kind of attention. And romance is the last thing on her mind when her beloved father finds himself caught up in an illegal jewellery business that threatens to destroy them all...

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

Wartime Girls

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Echoes Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Pocketful of Silver

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Some secrets cannot remain buried forever... Anne Baker's thrilling saga, A Pocketful of Silver, follows a young woman growing up amidst clouds of secrets and intrigue, and her journey to discovery. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.It's 1920, and Ellie Valentino is just like any other happy five-year-old growing up in Birkenhead. Although her father is dead, and her mother works hard, Ellie's grandmother, Bridie, is always there to provide a welcoming hug when the little girl returns from school. But, one tragic day, Ellie's secure world is suddenly torn apart with the mysterious death of her mother, and Ellie is forced to live with her uncle Mick, a man with a violent temper. As the years pass, Ellie's yearning to know the truth about her mother's death never fades - it even casts a shadow over her blossoming romance with childhood friend, Franco Baldini. For Franco knows more about that fateful day than he dares admit, especially to Ellie. Can their love survive when Ellie longs to uncover events that Franco is desperate to forget? And will Ellie ever find out what really happened to her mother? What readers are saying about A Pocketful of Silver: 'Definitely recommend, these books are very well written and they're hard to put down once you've started''Brilliant book and a great story - a very enjoyable read'

Headline

Love is Blind

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A family struggles to survive bereavement, bombing and bitter rivalry... Love is Blind is a gripping wartime saga from much-loved author Anne Baker, which follows a family's path through heartache and war. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Newberry.Patsy Rushton's brother Barney doesn't know the meaning of hard work, so when their father tragically dies, Patsy has no choice but to save the family's business. Meanwhile, Barney has got his girlfriend pregnant and, feeling trapped, he abandons her and leaves Merseyside altogether. But trouble follows Barney wherever he goes and when he learns of his sister's growing success, he can't help feeling resentful. Why is their mother, Beatrice, so quick to forgive him? Surely, she can't be blind to his faults? As Patsy is to discover, there's something else about Barney that is frightening her mother so much she has never dared to speak of it before. What readers are saying about Love is Blind: 'Very good, easy read. The twists and turns in the plot kept the intrigue alive. I would recommend to anyone''Engaging characters and a gripping war time story. A good insight into life during the war. Can't wait to read another of Anne Baker's books'

Headline

Liverpool Love Song

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A mother and daughter's search for hope and happiness after tragedy. Liverpool Love Song is a moving saga of family ties and true love, from much-loved author, Anne Baker. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lyn Andrews.When Helen Redwood is tragically widowed, she and her daughter, Chloe, move to Liverpool to be closer to her family. But it is being in her beautiful garden with her handsome young gardener, Rex Kenwright, that saves Helen from grief. Rex is no stranger to bereavement himself but, while he finds comfort in Helen's company, it is seventeen-year-old Chloe who steals his heart.It is the swinging sixties, however, and Chloe has dreams of her own. When she announces that she is moving in with her boyfriend, Adam Livingstone, and there's a baby on the way she has no idea of the devastating effect this will have on those she loves. Nor does she realise the rocky road to happiness that lies ahead... What readers are saying about Liverpool Love Song: 'Lovely story, a comfy chair and a cup of tea for chill out time by yourself with this book. Anne Baker's books are books to get lost in, enjoyable read''Good book from the very first page to the very last'

Headline

A Labour of Love

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Two young people come face to face with the trials and tribulations of life and love. Anne Baker's A Labour of Love is a heart-warming saga of family ties, romance and finding true happiness. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp. It's 1980s Merseyside and teenage cousins Sophie and Charlie are at a turning point in each of their lives. Sophie, seventeen years old and stunning, falls in love with Darrell, the school caretaker, who has plans to make it big with his rock band. But when Sophie discovers that she's pregnant, her relationship with Darrell comes to an end. Though happiness is on the horizon for Sophie, it will take her time to realise who she is destined to be with. Charlie, eighteen and having struggled at school, is unhappy in his job as a chef. With Sophie's help, Charlie joins the family business with surprising results... What readers are saying about A Labour of Love: 'This book... covers many dramatic, traumatic and unexpected events. I very much wanted to know what would happen next and how the characters would find their way ahead. It was a very thought-provoking read''As ever, Anne Baker's book A Labour of Love is a brilliant read... it is awe inspiring'

Headline

A Liverpool Lullaby

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Mansion by the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A shocking revelation prompts a young woman to delve into the past of a troubled family. A Mansion by the Mersey is an involving saga by much-loved author, Anne Baker, full of romance, mystery and family secrets. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Katie Flynn.It's July 1930 and Lorna Mathews couldn't be happier. She thought she was about to lose her job but instead the business's new owner, Mr Wyndham, wants to keep her on. Lorna's mother, though, is horrified by the news and finally confesses that Lorna was the result of an affair with Oliver Wyndham, whose family cast her out when Oliver died and the pregnancy was revealed. Shocked to the core to learn that the man she has always thought to be her beloved father simply adopted her at birth, Lorna resolves to find out everything she can about the past and especially about the tragic death of Oliver Wyndham. Working with the Wyndhams, she soon begins to stir up old secrets and the truth starts to emerge. But Lorna hasn't reckoned with falling in love with a member of the family she should hate... What readers are saying about A Mansion by the Mersey: 'This is the first book I have read by Anne Baker and I can say with honesty that it won't be my last. She captured my attention from the first page and I just wanted to read and read and read. There was intrigue, romance, and a good story-line that held my interest to the very last page. Excellent''This book had me hooked from page one. Beautifully written with characters that come alive on the page''A thoroughly enjoyable saga, plenty of action along the way and a happy ending. Very satisfying'

Headline

A Mersey Duet

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Carousel Of Secrets

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Goodbye Liverpool

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Keep The Home Fires Burning

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

After tragedy, a young mother finds happiness again... before a bitter enemy threatens to destroy everything. Anne Baker's unforgettable saga, Keep the Home Fires Burning, is a tale of tragedy, courage and devastating jealousy. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lyn Andrews.'With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this novel is a joy to read' - Coventry Evening TelegraphLovely young Cathy is left pregnant with her first child when her husband is killed in the war. For a while she lives with her in-laws, but she leaps at the chance to return as a maid to the household where she worked before her marriage. With the birth of her daughter she is compelled to return to her parents-in-law, a less than ideal situation, particularly when in due course Cathy is being courted by a dear old friend. When Cathy marries again and sets up in the antiques business with her husband, it looks like at last she will find the happiness she deserves, but she has made an enemy who can't bear to see Cathy enjoying her life... What readers are saying about Keep the Home Fires Burning: 'Very good - five stars'

Headline

Let The Bells Ring

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

The devastation of war has dramatic consequences for a mother and daughter... Let the Bells Ring is an evocative wartime saga from much-loved author Anne Baker, as a family face battles in life and love. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Cathy Sharp.Hannah and her mother Esme are lucky to escape when their home is destroyed during a bombing raid. Forced to move in with Esme's difficult sister-in-law, they make the best of things, and soon Hannah falls for the boy next door, Eric Goodwin. But Esme's worried; she's always been afraid of Eric's father Arnold, and she suspects that Eric is a chip off the old block, full of charm but up to no good. Is innocent Hannah being drawn into an unpredictable and dangerous world of crime? What readers are saying about Let the Bells Ring: 'I have read 14 of Anne Baker's books and have enjoyed every one of them. The books are easy to read with fascinating storylines. I couldn't put Let the Bells Ring down and felt I was part of the plot. I found myself daydreaming about what I would do if I was a certain character in the book''This book kept me engrossed from the first to the last page'

Headline

Like Father Like Daughter

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

All That Glistens

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Glimpse of the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Daisy Corkill has never known who her parents were - or why they left her to be brought up by the couple she calls 'Uncle' Ern and 'Aunt' Gladys. Daisy yearns for the love and security that a family of her own would give her, but she finds comfort in her relationship with Brenda, her older 'sister'. One day in 1919 Brenda arrives home flushed with excitement. She has agreed to marry businessman Gil Fox. Daisy is horrified, for she doesn't trust the handsome Gil. And soon after their wedding, Brenda realises that Gil isn't the man she thought he was. But Daisy's dreams are about to come true; a family of her own is finally within her reach. But will it be enough to get her through some stormy times?

Headline

Legacy of Sins

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker