Related to: 'A Lucky Sixpence'

Tips and recipes

Pancake Day

Top tips for Pancake Day from our cookery stars, including inventive filling suggestions and brand new recipes.

Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

While in pursuit of independence and love, a young woman finds her family needs her more than ever. Liverpool Gems is a dramatic and warm-hearted Liverpool saga from Anne Baker, which is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Lyn Andrews.It is 1935 and as Carrie Courtney watches her twin sister, Connie, marry the man of her dreams, Carrie longs to find a love of her own. Having lost their mother at an early age, the girls were brought up by their maiden aunts and, with Connie leaving home, Carrie is desperate to spread her wings.Using her skills as a bookkeeper, Carrie gets an exciting new job but her stunning beauty soon attracts the wrong kind of attention. And romance is the last thing on her mind when her beloved father finds himself caught up in an illegal jewellery business that threatens to destroy them all... What readers are saying about Liverpool Gems: 'Quite a page turner like most of Anne's books, she keeps the reader gripped from the first page, excellent writing''Anne Baker never fails to please her fans, loved this and highly recommend'

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton

Four of our most-loved saga authors invite you to join them on a journey through motherhood in this collection of heart-warming short stories.Daisy's Day by Anne BakerIt's 1920s Liverpool and Daisy must do everything she can to protect her children from poverty and disease. A mother's love is limitless...The First Strawberry by Pam EvansBombs are falling over London and times are hard for Rose and her family. That is until six-year-old Sydney and a little miracle restore all hope...The Birthday Surprise by Jennie FeltonSomerset, 1898. Can two daughters ease their mother's sorrows and bring her a birthday full of joy? How Memories Are Made by Lynda PageGinnie Owens is facing a devastating decision. But she's about to discover that just when all seems lost a mother's dreams can finally come true.

Headline

Wartime Girls

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Set in Liverpool during the Depression and the Blitz of the Second World War, Anne Baker's dramatic saga brings a close-knit community vividly to life.It is the day of the Grand National, 1933, when Susie Ingram's fiance, Danny, is killed in a tragic accident. In a cruel twist of Fate, Susie discovers she is carrying Danny's child and, shunned by his parents, she turns to her mother for support. Louise Ingram, widowed during the First World War, knows how hard it is to bring up a family alone, but with the help of her eldest daughter, Martha, who lives next door, they manage to survive. When little Rosie is born there is no doubt that she is Danny's daughter, but it is destined to take many more years of heartache before the two families are united again...

Headline

Love is Blind

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A family struggles to survive bereavement, bombing and bitter rivalry...Patsy Rushton's brother Barney doesn't know the meaning of hard work, so when their father tragically dies, Patsy has no choice but to save the family's business. Meanwhile, Barney has got his girlfriend pregnant and, feeling trapped, he abandons her and leaves Merseyside altogether. But trouble follows Barney wherever he goes and when he learns of his sister's growing success, he can't help feeling resentful. Why is their mother, Beatrice, so quick to forgive him? Surely, she can't be blind to his faults? As Patsy is to discover, there's something else about Barney that is frightening her mother so much she has never dared to speak of it before.

Headline

A Glimpse of the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Echoes Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Legacy of Sins

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Pocketful of Silver

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Some secrets cannot remain buried forever... Anne Baker's thrilling saga, A Pocketful of Silver, follows a young woman growing up amidst clouds of secrets and intrigue, and her journey to discovery. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.It's 1920, and Ellie Valentino is just like any other happy five-year-old growing up in Birkenhead. Although her father is dead, and her mother works hard, Ellie's grandmother, Bridie, is always there to provide a welcoming hug when the little girl returns from school. But, one tragic day, Ellie's secure world is suddenly torn apart with the mysterious death of her mother, and Ellie is forced to live with her uncle Mick, a man with a violent temper. As the years pass, Ellie's yearning to know the truth about her mother's death never fades - it even casts a shadow over her blossoming romance with childhood friend, Franco Baldini. For Franco knows more about that fateful day than he dares admit, especially to Ellie. Can their love survive when Ellie longs to uncover events that Franco is desperate to forget? And will Ellie ever find out what really happened to her mother? What readers are saying about A Pocketful of Silver: 'Definitely recommend, these books are very well written and they're hard to put down once you've started''Brilliant book and a great story - a very enjoyable read'

Headline

Liverpool Love Song

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Labour of Love

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Mansion by the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Mersey Duet

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Twins, separated at birth, are reunited... with dramatic consequences. Anne Baker writes a compelling saga in A Mersey Duet, in which two sisters learn that despite their differences, some bonds cannot be broken. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.When Elsa Gripper dies in childbirth on Christmas Eve, 1912, her grief-stricken husband is unable to cope with his two new-born babies, Lucy and Patsy, so the twins are separated. Lucy is taken home with Elsa's parents, who run a successful business, Mersey Antiques, and she grows up spoiled and pampered with no interest in the family firm. Patsy has a more down-to-earth upbringing, living with their father and other grandmother above the Railway Arms. And through further tragedy she learns to be responsible from an early age. Then Patsy is invited to work for her grandfather at Mersey Antiques, which she hopes will bring her closer to Lucy. But it is to take a series of dramatic events for the twins to be drawn together. What readers are saying about A Mersey Duet: 'This is a really good read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would certainly recommend this book and author to everyone''I have now read quite a few of [Anne Baker's] books and I've been lost in each one. They are a great read, I definitely recommend them!'

Headline

Carousel Of Secrets

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Goodbye Liverpool

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A touching portrayal of a mother and daughter bound by love and danger. Anne Baker's compelling Liverpool saga, Goodbye Liverpool, is an unforgettable tale of escapism, love and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.When Suzy Lunt's widowed mother Josie marries Luke Palmer, it's mainly to keep a roof over their heads. But soon Josie realises she's made a mistake, and she and Suzy flee Liverpool and a man they now fear. But will they be safe from the past in Birkenhead? What readers are saying about Goodbye Liverpool: 'Brilliant - five stars'

Headline

Keep The Home Fires Burning

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Let The Bells Ring

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

The devastation of war has dramatic consequences for a mother and daughter... Let the Bells Ring is an evocative wartime saga from much-loved author Anne Baker, as a family face battles in life and love. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Cathy Sharp.Hannah and her mother Esme are lucky to escape when their home is destroyed during a bombing raid. Forced to move in with Esme's difficult sister-in-law, they make the best of things, and soon Hannah falls for the boy next door, Eric Goodwin. But Esme's worried; she's always been afraid of Eric's father Arnold, and she suspects that Eric is a chip off the old block, full of charm but up to no good. Is innocent Hannah being drawn into an unpredictable and dangerous world of crime? What readers are saying about Let the Bells Ring: 'I have read 14 of Anne Baker's books and have enjoyed every one of them. The books are easy to read with fascinating storylines. I couldn't put Let the Bells Ring down and felt I was part of the plot. I found myself daydreaming about what I would do if I was a certain character in the book''This book kept me engrossed from the first to the last page'

Headline

Like Father Like Daughter

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

All That Glistens

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Liverpool Lullaby

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker