Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Mars

Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home. Gollancz Senior […]

Read More
Related Categories: Acquisitions, Gollancz News

Masterworks Spotlight: The War of the Worlds

No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s and yet as mortal as his own; that as men busied themselves about their various concerns they were scrutinized and studied, perhaps almost as narrowly as a man […]

Read More
Related Categories: Masterworks, New Releases

The Martian: What to Read Next

So you’ve just read or seen The Martian and you’re now having Red Planet withrawal symptoms?  Can’t go another day without more Marsie goodness?  Fear not!  The Gateway doctor is in, and do we have a prescription for you! Whether your chosen medicine is a book set on a scientifically-accurate Mars, a romantic vision of […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Films, Whimsy

Happy Birthday, Carl Sagan

  Seventy-eight years ago, today, the great Carl Sagan was born.  Author of just the one SF novel, Contact, Sagan is nonetheless rightly revered by science fiction fans for his tireless evangelizing on behalf of science in general, but astronomy and the space sciences in particular.   Pulitzer Prize-winner, co-founder of the Planetary Society, prime […]

Read More

SF Gateway Friday Limerick

As it’s Friday, the weekend is beckoning and the sun is even shining (at least it is at Gollancz Towers), we thought it was time to have a little fun. And what’s more fun than a limerick? Therefore, in keeping with our focus on classic science fiction, SF Gateway offers up the following assessment of where […]

Read More
Related Categories: Commentary, Whimsy
Related Tags: , ,

Hailing Frequencies Open

This is a follow-up in some ways to the post I wrote on Mars and whether there’s room for inspiration in the cerebral spaces or whether we’ve become culturally dependent upon athletes as role models… Neil deGrasse Tyson may not be a name that’s familiar to you. If it’s not, though, IMHO it should be. […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz News, Other

Life on Mars?

Earlier today, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, better known by its famous acronym, NASA, landed its latest Mars rover, Curiosity, on the red planet. Its journey of some 350 million miles, took it the better part of 256 days and it’s mission is projected to last about two years – two Earth years, I […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz News
Related Tags: , ,

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.