Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

T J Bass

Something in the Water IV: the Bornying

As we’ve noted before, The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction‘s excellent On This Day function makes for fascinating reading and, occasionally throws up days with an infeasibly high level of cool people being born. And, at the risk of disagreeing with the heir of Elendil, it is, in fact, this day. For this day, 7th July, […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Commentary, SFE

SF Masterwork of the Week: The Godwhale

Born in Iowa in 1932, Thomas Joespeh Bassler was a doctor and, under the pen name T. J. Bass, an  SF writer, principally known for his ‘Hive’ stories; the first of these, published in Galaxy Science Fiction and If, were combined into the novel Half Past Human which was nominated for the Nebula Award in […]

Read More
Related Categories: Masterworks, New Releases

SF Masterwork of the Week: Half Past Human

  A novel of dystopian future in the tradition of Soylent Green and H.G. Wells’ The Time Machine. Tinker was a good citizen of the Hive – a model worker. But when he was allowed sexual activation he found Mu Ren who, like him, harboured forbidden genes. And so began the cataclysm. But in a […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Masterworks, New Releases

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.