Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Code Name Hélène : Inspired by the absolutely gripping true story of World War II heroine Nancy Wake

Code Name Hélène : Inspired by the absolutely gripping true story of World War II heroine Nancy Wake

Woman. Wife. Smuggler. Spy…

Inspired by the astonishing real-life wartime story of Nancy Wake, the female spy known as the White Mouse, a thrilling and heart-wrenching novel by New York Times bestselling author Ariel Lawhon. Perfect for fans of MY NAME IS EVA Suzanne Goldring, THE ALICE NETWORK Kate Quinn and Imogen Kealey’s LIBERATION, soon to be a major blockbuster film about Nancy Wake.

‘I have gone by many names. Some of them are real . . . but most are . . . lies.’


In 1936 Nancy Wake is a foreign correspondent in Paris who witnesses first-hand the terror of Hitler’s rise in Europe. When Nancy falls in love with handsome French industrialist and playboy Henri Fiocca, no sooner has she agreed to marry him than the Germans invade France and Nancy takes on her first code name.

As Lucienne Carlier Nancy helps smuggle Allied soldiers across borders and earns a nickname from the Gestapo for her remarkable ability to evade capture: the White Mouse. Forced to leave France, Nancy is trained in espionage with an elite special forces group in London and gains a new codename, Hélène. Finally, airdropped back into France with a new mission, Nancy becomes the deadly Madame Andrée. But the closer Frances gets to liberation, the more exposed Nancy – and the people she loves – will become…

Inspired by true wartime events, Code Name Hélène is a gripping and heartbreakingly moving story of extraordinary courage, unfaltering resolve, remarkable sacrifice – and enduring love.

Just some of the 5-star reader reviews for Code Name Hélène:

‘This is the next book I won’t be able to stop talking aboutso, so good!5 stars

‘I finished this a few weeks ago and I’m still thinking about Helene . . . exceptional5 stars

‘A fascinating story about love and guts and fighting for what’s good and right when the odds are stacked against you’ 5 stars

Will have you turning off phones and TVs and staying up late to read it’ 5 stars

I loved this book and I would definitely recommend it!5 stars

‘An expertly crafted, fabulously written story’ 5 stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 31st March 2020

Price: £20

ISBN-13: 9781472275370