We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

*Now a major Sky TV series*

Read the number one Sunday Times bestselling ALL SOULS TRILOGY before you watch A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES Season 2.

Available together for the first time in the UK, the complete trilogy is perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Stephenie Meyer and Victoria Aveyard.

‘This is a glorious, finely-wrought gem of a book: intelligent, thoughtful, intricate. . . Utterly enchanting on every level’ Manda Scott on A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES

‘Deborah Harkness writes as if she’s the hugely more talented love child of Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling’ thebookbag.co.uk on SHADOW OF NIGHT

‘Rich in arcane detail, fans will relish this exotic cauldron of romantic fantasy’ Sunday Mirror on THE BOOK OF LIFE

A world of witches, daemons and vampires.
A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future.
Diana and Matthew – the forbidden love at the heart of it.


A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. SHADOW OF NIGHT. THE BOOK OF LIFE.



Praise for Deborah Harkness and the ALL SOULS trilogy:

‘Deborah Harkness proves to be a novelist of considerable talent. My favourite series of recent years’ bookabookshop.co.uk

Intelligent and off-the-wall . . . irresistible to Twilight fans’ The Sunday Times

I fell in love with it from the very first page‘ Danielle Trussoni

‘A spellbinding saga . . . unputdownable’ Woman & Home

Harkness has a gift for storytellingpamreader.blogspot.co.uk

A Conversation with Deborah Harkness

How did you become interested in the intersection of alchemy, magic, and science? Historically, what do you see as the relationship between science and religion or mysticism?

In college, I had a wonderful professor who taught a class on these subjects. To kick off the class, he asked us, ‘How do you know what you think you know?’ I’ve spent the last quarter century trying to answer that question. Because the world is a mysterious place and our relationship to it is not always clear, people have often turned to science, faith, and magic for answers. They help people find responses to the questions of, who am I and why am I here?

Diana is an appealing heroine, determined, accomplished, and yet aware of her own weaknesses. In what ways, if any, does Diana reflect your own experience or personality?

There are some similarities – Diana is also a historian of science, also interested in the history of alchemy, and shares some of my passions (including television cooking programs, tea, and rowing). Really, all the characters have some element of me in them. I think that’s how authors create imaginary people who nevertheless feel real. The rest of Diana’s character comes from a combination of qualities I admire in others, wish fulfilment, and my completion of the following statement: ‘Wouldn’t it be great if a heroine in a book was . . .

Find out more about Deborah Harkness and read the full conversation in THE ALL SOULS COMPLETE TRILOGY.

Reviews

What a rich, thrilling and educational tale... A captivating and romantic ripping yarn
E. L. James, Guardian
Intelligent and off-the-wall...irresistible to Twilight fans
The Sunday Times
Spellbinding... Unputdownable
Woman & Home
This is a glorious, finely-wrought gem of a book: intelligent, thoughtful, intricate... I could lose myself in here and never want to come out: what better accolade can there be? ... Utterly enchanting on every level
Manda Scott
A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire...all the ingredients for an assured saga that blends romance with fantasy
Daily Mail
A vast, sexy, historical romp of a novel. There's no doubting Harkness's vivid imagination
Daily Mirror
An inventive addition to the supernatural craze...has exciting amounts of spells, kisses and battles, and is recounted with enchanting, page-turning panache
Marie Claire