Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Oceans Between Us: Gripping and emotional novel of separation after World War 2

The Oceans Between Us: Gripping and emotional novel of separation after World War 2

Inspired by heartrending true events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.

‘A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit’ Kathryn Hughes
‘A heartrending story’ Jane Corry
‘A mother’s loss and a son’s courage… A heart-rending story that spans the world’ Diney Costeloe

For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.

A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid. She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.

As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return. But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?

In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life?

This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Readers are loving The Oceans Between Us

‘A beautiful tale of a mother’s love. A wonderful book. Full of emotion, heart, joy and sorrow’ Emma’s Bookish Corner

‘Heart-wrenching debut novel. A story based on actual events which will have you glued to the pages’ Waggy Tales

‘It has opened my eyes to the injustice done to so many’ Shaz’s Book Blog

‘I flew through this emotional book. I raged at just what some had to endure. But I also felt their bravery in finding justice for all children who suffered. Highly recommended’ Between My Lines

‘A story that will touch every reader’s heart. An absolute must-read’ By The Letter Book Reviews
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 21st March 2019

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781472257949