Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The perfect saga for winter nights

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The perfect saga for winter nights

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future…

A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

I couldn’t put it down‘ Amazon reader, 5 stars

Love this book…another brilliant novel from a brilliant author‘ Amazon reader, 5 stars

‘An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints‘ Amazon reader, 5 stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 26th July 2018

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472228772

Reviews

Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller'
Woman's Weekly
A compelling read
Woman's Own